Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Nice hotel. Great staff

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Very nice and pleasant hotel. Exellant staff and management. Good breakfast and concierge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Will certainly recommend

Posted Jan 16, 2017
We were really pleased to find this lovely hotel and will certainly be returning or recommending to friends and family. Lovely and central, a beautiful room, tasty breakfast and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Good value for money

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Location: Fairly central to Edinburgh city centre, the Castle, Museums, walks, pubs and restaurants although slightly away from the main crowds which we loved.
A lovely stay at this quiet and comfortable hotel. I loved reading about the history of the building, the dining room and especially the library were amazing. The staff were friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The rooms were clean and warm with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice and served promptly. My only negative comment would be that it is a shame that the rooms, although clean, well decorated and in good condition, have lost all their original character. The modern furniture and decor do not match the rest of the building which is a shame. Otherwise a very pleasant three nights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire

Great hotel but dont go if you want some sleep.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: The staff extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were good value. The sitting room was cosy with the bar and the location was great.
Cons: New bed mattresses!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Location: Near to the hotel was a selection of chic shops, bars and resturants.
Great location and very friendly staff. Excellent breakfasts. Room small on 4th Floor but stylish however bed mattress springs had gone and on each move the spring would twang loudly and create a sudden pain on recoil when hitting your body. On complaining about the mattress and saying it needed replacing the mattresswas turned but with little effect. Seven nights of sleepless hell. The room walls were also paper thin that late into the night sounds of sexual activity could be clearly heard in the room as though you were all together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and affordable hotel close to the centre

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Amazing staff, very comfortable and cozy room, good breakfast, very good location as it is close to both the new and old town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Beautiful hotel, lovely breakfast.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: The kettle in the room could be better situated, however this is a very small issue
Location: Close to shops and lots of restaurants . A great location.
The hotel is beautiful with lots of original features, and contemporary touches. The staff are friendly, informative and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close distance to christmas markets 15 min walk

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Great breakfast, staff very friendly amd helpfull Quiet location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing

Historical house belonged to newspaper tycoon.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
The location of the hotel is excellent, with in walking distance to everything in town yet in a quiet and elegant New Town neighbourhood with its back to the leafy and picturesque Dean Village. The common rooms in this hotel is excellent, mixing historic features and contemporary comfort. Our room is on the top floor with a view of the castle, but I am not sure perhaps due to top foor, it doesn't have the high ceiling of most New Town rooms and feels a bit like the attic. The photos on Expedia does not reflect that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Romford, Essex

Hotel within easy walk of the Castle

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: It was central for our needs, as we were attending the Edinburgh Tattoo.
Cons: The mirror in our bathroom was cracked right across its width, we reported it but they already were aware.
Location: We came to Edinburgh to see the Tattoo, which was well worth seeing. The Edinburgh Festival was also on, so we saw a few shows/street artists.
The staff are all very friendly, the room was clean and the inclusive breakfast was excellent. We especially appreciated the tea/coffee room being available throughout the day (even though we also had complimentary tea/coffee in our room). The paintwork in our bathroom needed attention, the water was hot, it was a pity the shower was not adjustable. The City had an abundance of restaurants and bars/pubs. We were very lucky with the weather August Bank Holiday weekend and really enjoyed relaxing in Princes Street Gardens.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Lovely, interesting building in quiet location

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: We loved the old character and ambiance of the building, the quiet location and the comfortable friendly atmosphere.
Cons: Evening meal option.Room 15 -kettle not near any plug, no drawers available, suggest hooks for coats near door, shower head kept dropping down.
Location: Quiet safe location, 5 mins to restaurants and tram stop. Quite a walk to Waverley Bridge to pick up sightseeing buses say 15-20mins.
Impressive old building built in 1860 with original wood panelling and high decorated ceilings. Library was a comfortable relaxing area as was the bar area. Building modernised but still retained the original feel. Our room was a good size on the top floor with modern furnishings, small sash windows which had limited opening. Good choice and delicious breakfasts. Staff were really helpful, welcoming and friendly.