Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for Haymarket

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
Needs a bit of TLC bathroom ok. Please get rid of disgusting toilet brush & get cleaner to check toilet before new guest arrives. Breakfast just about ok.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but a little tired around the edges!

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Really convenient for west-end business. Clean, had everything I needed but looking a little tired around the edges. No lift and 76 stairs to room on third floor - phew!
2 out of 5
by Alan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mom and daughter trip.

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
Location was great and in a quiet neighborhood. The wifi was weak in our room and the room was very dusty when we arrived. The floor was also dirty along the walls. But the next day during room service, it was vaccumed. The breakfast and service was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgj

The Ballantrae appears to be a sinking ship

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Immediately upon our arrival, we were told that we would have to be relocated to the Baklantrae Albany for the remainder of our stay. Rhe Ballantrae Wet end was run down. It was a beautiful building that was left to decay. The Ballantrae Albany was a cross town and much larger. Much of the staff rotated between the hotels. During our stay, the most helpful staffer left. New staff were not at all helpful. The housekeeping staff were simply rude. This seemed out of character for Edinburgh. We had input from other local businesses that the Ballantrae management was simply poor. Based on our eight day stay, I would have to agree.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
Great value, but needs updating rooms.
4 out of 5
by Billy from Perth

Posted Jan 9, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly open staff
4 out of 5
by Garry from Eindhoven

Wonderful discovery

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
Great welcome. Comfortable room. I was given a free upgrade. Lovely breakfast! I would stay here again. Five minute walk to Haymarket Station.
3 out of 5
by Alexander from Bradford, UK

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
Room could do with a bit of TLC. Also, no parking is made available for patrons and on street pay parking is limited to 4 hours. Staff was pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
by pa

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
Service was good and all the staff friendly and helpful. I would go back again