Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Nice hotel, very tight parking spaces

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Loved our room, nicely decorated and clean
Cons: Elevators for luggage
Location: A little ways out of town, luckily we had a car
The hotel is beautiful, but if you have a car the parking spaces are tight and hard to get in or out of. No elevators, so be prepared to haul your luggage up the stairs. My friend and I are both 71, luckily strong girls since we were on the third floor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Ok, but not convenient

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Very quite, nice lounge. Nice DAY staff.
Cons: See top comment
Location: Location is not near anything, you need a $15 cab ride or a 25 min. bus ride to down town
Hotel is a long way from the Royal mile, approx. $15 cab ride. Room was 9' x 13' including the bathroom and a sloped ceiling that caused you to hit your head getting out of bed. Carpets are well worn and no water pressure as could not flush the toilet unless we waited 10-20 minutes between. We could not get WI-fi and were told by the night clerk (surly) that that was normal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida Keys

Nice for an out of city stay...

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Cons: Needs updating.
Location: Easy access to bus line, city, golf, etc. Very good location for out of the city staying.
Check in staff was good. Bartender Gareth a delightful young man. Property overall was ok, a tad dated, comfortable, except the bed which was quite uncomfortable. Very nice location, right on the bus line into City Center. If you want to be near town, this is not it. If you'd like out of town but convenient to get into the city, this is a very good option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Great experience

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Location & great family room
Cons: Value for money
Location: Location is very good for sight seeing & eating out.
Great stay at the Hotel but it was expensive for a family room. We will be back in on a regular basis but have to find somewhere cheaper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Quaint and traditional with a warm welcome

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Great hotel, great staff, great views, east access. Delightful afternoon tea. Initial check in and room was a bit disappointing but finally got transferred to another room where wifi was working although still hit and miss. Otherwise excellent. Far from 'neutral/standard'. Lots of history.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Family city break with toddler.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Arrived to the hotel after an early am flight with a toddler. Was met at reception, by a less than friendly receptionist, luckily our room was ready. The hotel had made note that we had a toddler with us and the room was suitably kitted out fridge, baby towels, baby wash. There was a sofa bed set up too as we knew our wee one wouldn't stay in travel cot. We were very impressed, the hotel is in a quiet part of the city near hermitage park lively for walks and easily accessible by public transport. Household staff were so friendly and helpful. If only front of house took a leaf out of their books. Breakfast was such a waste, my advice book room only have breakfasts elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Nice area, lovely clean hotel with great staff and service. Room was clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by William

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here before a couple of years ago, but found service had deteriorated somewhat this visit. Check in took ages - one person on the desk and someone ahead with confused booking dates. Queue of people waiting. Same again on check out in the morning - one person on desk. We just had to hand in the key but 12 people in the queue ahead of us paying their accounts and we were not allowed to just leave the key on the counter. Half hour wait to check out. During the stay tried to use the hotel phone in the room to make a local call (because of a broken mobile), but it did not work. Reported it downstairs, and they said they would look into it. They didn't. Room was good with a great bathroom. Unfortunately there is no lift in this hotel, and no suitcase ramp - not easy getting your suitcase to your room, and no porters around to help. Breakfast buffet was adequate but not enough variety. Very limited parking.
5 out of 5
by Karen

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
I would definitely stay at this location again. The views were breath taking and the hotel had some old world charm with a touch of modern chic - loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel

Posted May 29, 2017
Very nice hotel, felt like we were staying in a palace. Incredible views, room furnishings and very well decorated. Didn't eat at the hotel due to it being a little pricey. Good location, just a quick bus trip or long walk to city centre and Arthur's seat.