Ratings based on 886 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Briatol

Great location and staff

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Easy to use, friendly, helpful staff and good location.
Cons: A safe in the room, mainly for putting money/ jewellery into briefly when going to the pool/spa, or on day out. Room booking being right would help.
Location: Easy bus route to Edinburgh, and quick to get to portobello beach/cafe's.
The hotel and staff were lovely. Really enjoyed our two night stay and day trip into Edinburgh before heading south. The rooms were clean and tidy and the spa area was smart, clean and easy to use. Our continental breakfast was an excellent choice of a variety of food. Very tasty. It was a bit tricky having rooms in two different areas of the hotel, so I will ring ahead next time to check what has been arranged. I thought that as I had booked them in one booking they would be close. Also the booking I made was not what we got. Re- number of beds in room. Would have been a big problem if my husband had not had to suddenly leave us, before getting to Edinburgh, to go back south to look after his mum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Lovely, spacious, clean room. Friendly staff, great selection at breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy for bus transfer into Edinburgh

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly staff.
We had a nice stay at the hotel . The bus stop is just outside which was handy for getting to the centre of Edinburgh.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottinghamshire

Convenient location

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Very good all round, breakfast excellent, didn't get chance to use the leisure facilities. Perhaps next time?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: I particularly liked the size of the room and the large bed...very comfy
Cons: The wifi....i am not sure what the problem was.
Location: It is a good location near retail park and railway station
Pleasant overnight stay. My only problem was getting on the internet. Staff were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Fantastic hotel close to Edinburgh

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of the staff, leasure facilities, food, and location.
Cons: More milk and biscuits in room ?
Location: In between Edinburgh, 10 mins on bus) and prestonpans, port seaton, north Berwick in the other direction
Had two lovely days relaxing in the very peaceful atmosphere of this hotel. Love the walk to portobello via the seafront 2 mins from hotel. Bus stop for Edinburgh or Musselburgh etc just outside the door. Room was clean,comfortable with modern bathroom and huge bed which was so comfy. Leasure facilities have just been modernised to a high standard. We have been coming here for yrs and can't fault anything so far. You won't be disappointed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shotley Bridge County Durham

Overall very good hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Good location, easy to find, very good price, very good value for money. Friendly helpful staff, good food, clean comfort room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
excellent hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire, England

Great hotel with friendly, helpful staff.

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and welcoming. The hotel is lovely and within easy reach of Edinburgh by bus.
Cons: Ensure that green policy is carried out fully.
Location: 10 minute walk to Portabello beach. Within easy reach of Edinburgh City by bus. So much to see and do. A city that everyone should visit at least once
Stayed here over Christmas 2016, nothing was too much trouble for any staff member from reception to housekeeping. We were made to feel extremely welcome. I would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fontalnebleau (France)

Hotel for Quenns and Kings 'family!

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Everuthing!!!
Location: Idyllic location : quiet as in the fields!close from Edinburgh Center;close from the sea and wonderful Portobello beach,take a walk by South Morton s
Very nice hotel,absolutely excellent.Club room so pleasant,so quiet and so convenient!!!hIGH QUALITY FOR THE RATES Very nice Bar and very good restaurant :The Bistro.Site close from the sea,the Portobello "PROM"!Mrs.Solley and allher team full of courtesy,simplicity and smiles alaways.Good choice!so close from Edinburgh center by bus.Easy!