Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia, USA

One night stay in Edinburgh

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: quaint
Cons: parking availability
Excellent restaurant and hotel staff; however, overpriced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Location and service

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The quality of service was high.
Cons: Car parking - is limited and tight.
Location: Bruntsfield Links nearby. We were guests at the Edinburgh Royal Military Tattoo and the hotel was convenient to get there and back.
We enjoyed our overnight visit. Good location and very helpful staff. Wide choice at breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Pleasant Hotel.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The hotel reception is inefficient. Was charged twice for my stay and I am still waiting for the credit!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Beautiful room, great location

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The room was huge, we booked a family room for 3 adults. There was a queen sized bed, 2 single beds, a small sofa, 2 chairs and table, a dressing table and tv unit! Very clean and lovely layout. Bathroom was clean and a decent size too. We booked this hotel as we were going to see the Edinburgh Tattoo, it was a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh castle so was a convenient location. Close to shops and amenities. The hotel also has a restaurant downstairs. We only went for breakfast but food was lovely and staff were very friendly and helpful! The only downside to this hotel was the lack of parking. There's nowhere to park at the hotel or around without having to move within 4 hours or having a residents permit. We managed to find an NCP car park close to the castle which was £27.50 for 24 hours. Just meant that we lugged our suitcases on a 20 minute uphill walk back to the hotel so I would suggest dropping your bags off first! Overall, lovely hotel, friendly staff and would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
A bit to far away from the city centre. Very friendly and relaxing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Livingston, TX

Great location. Close to busy-ness but not in it

Posted Aug 9, 2016
We were there during the festival so it was a very busy time. The hotel staff was great very helpful. The hotel was clean and felt very warm. We loved the par 3 golf park across the street. Walked down the royal mile down to the palace. It was quite a walk but shopped along the way and ate great fish and chips at Vivo cafe. Lucas ice cream was great too. The Treehouse cafe is close to the hotel and was great for breakfast. The hotel has a nice restaurant and bar too. The only thing we missed was wash clothes and AC in the room. I guess wash clothes aren't the norm over in the UK. Weather was warmer than their normal so the room felt stuffy at night. The hotel did provide a fan so it wasn't too bad. Overall great hotel for our needs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ruhigere Lage mit guter Anbindung

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Schwankendes Hotel: Das Personal war stets bemüht, meist aber überfordert. Beim Frühstück, gab es meistens keine Teller mehr oder eben keine Gläser. Des Weiteren war die Qualität sowie die Auswahl eher dürftig. Bar/Restaurant: Einigermaßen in Ordnung (geht schlechter). Servicepersonal absolut überfordert. Qualität vom Essen war gut! Die Lage ist meistens ruhig (Wochenende häufig Hochzeiten im Basement) und gut zu erreichen!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne Australia

great location and car park.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Location,car park,and a lift.
Cons: Room was a bit on the warm side,with only a fan.also there was no fridge. But for a couple of days stay not musc of a problem.
Location: 15 walk into Edinburgh ,with all the major attractions and tours on your doorstep.
I got a great deal after shopping around,good location and a car park a bonus. Only a 15minute stroll into the city,it's not 5star but all up it was a good experience And I would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, Florida

Great Night

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: The restaurant and bar were perfect. Food was great and staff was friendly. My bed was heavenly. A floor fan was a great touch.
Cons: Not that I used it but parking sucks from what I could see. Cramped drop off area at front entrance.
Location: Never left the property. Didn't need to.
It took some searching for our cab driver to find the hotel but once there, it was awesome. We were greeted warmly and found everything we needed at the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Jul 27, 2016
The hotel is a little far from the Castle and the city centre otherwise it is in front of a park. The room was fairly small but clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.