Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Comfortable hotel in good central location. Needs updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Excellent location, lovely and charming

Posted Jul 15, 2017
So nice and clean. Essence of Scotland. Lovely and Will recommend it highly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Great views

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Great views of the park, room up to American standards. Had a great breakfast buffet with food that everyone can eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel next to Edinburgh City Centre

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The hotel was comfortable and clean. It is situated on the west side of the Edinburgh City Centre, so it was easy to walk to all the sites and shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Great place to stay near Meadows

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Very comfortable hotel in excellent location near Meadows. Breakfasts (not included in our room cost but very reasonable) were super with good range of cold buffet & cooked food catering for all our needs including vegetarian options. Our room at back of hotel was spacious, quiet & clean with very good bathroom facilities. Rambling corridors added to the charm of the place. If there was one comment for improvement, it would be that check-in experience could have been more welcoming, with more of a sense of occasion. All other staff were cheerful and helpful. We stayed 4 days and would return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london UK

Walking distance to central edinburgh

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Good staff, nice breakfast
Cons: The decoration could be improved- paintwork and windows were a bit scruffy. Room was strangely warm in spite of no heating, but we used the floor fan.
Location: On a road but not too noisy, walkable into the old town, about 20 mins. Some nice restaurants about 10 mins down the road, I recommend Bia Bistro.
Great breakfast, good choice of fruit, nice pastries and good quality black pudding ! Older property, but everything very clean, staff very efficient and helpful. Good restaurants nearby, and on bus route into town if you don't want to walk the 20 mins or so into town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Graduation good times

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Great location, great good, great service! Loved it 👍🏻
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but a bit old

Posted Jun 28, 2017
The hotel was nice, my room was a bit small and the furnitures were a bit old, also the tiles in the bathroom looked old but it seemed clean and it was comfortable for two nights and worth the price. The hotel is in a quiet area close to a park and a good 20minutes walk from the centre. The breakfast was nice and I had a nice time there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rutland, East Midlands, England

Very handy for frequent buses to and from the city

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Situated looking out onto parkland. It appeared to be well looked after and very good staff. Quality
Location: Some good eating places to walk to plus a good variety of shops.
The hotel was all we had hoped for. Very friendly and helpful staff, good sized and fresh and clean bedroom. Bus stop was 1 minute walk away. We booked a lunch for a family gathering and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Yes, we would certainly go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Very welcoming and helpful staff in a well appointed and maintained hotel. Made to feel at home. Would certainly recommend to others