Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy and warm B&B in Edinburgh

Posted Mar 20, 2018
Pros: The hosts. The breakfasts. The location.
Had a wonderful stay at the Bonnington House. The hosts were so nice and informative about the local area. The breakfasts were AMAZING. Transportaion was easy into the city main. We took cabs as well as the bus. Perfect stay! Thank you!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Highly recommended

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Pros: The property is well maintained and tastefully decorated.
Cons: n/a
Location: Bus stops into town centre nearby. Within easy walking distance to Leith sea front (Royal Yacht Britannia) and Newhaven (harbour).
My wife and I recently stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay with no issues. The property is very well maintained and tastefully decorated. Our room (no. 3) on the first floor overlooked Victoria Park and was compact but well equipped with complimentary toiletries, tea/ coffee etc. plus the additional bonus of a Tunnock’s Caramel bar and sherry. Small TV on wall. WIFI connection good. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The owner (Gill) and the lady helping at breakfast (sorry name not known) were very welcoming and friendly. The house is away from the busy city centre and is within easy walking distance to Leith sea front (Royal Yacht Britannia) and Newhaven (harbour and restaurants) and bus stops into the city centre are just down the road.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gregory

Good B and B

Posted Dec 8, 2017 on Hotels
Place was very nice, room was good and breakfast was amazing. Dissapointted I got no fridge for paying £80 a night and I didn't realise toilets were not connected to the room
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire, UK

Brilliant location . . . ;-)

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Lovely warm welcome by Ian, breakfast was yummy & plentiful, great location . . . ;-)
Cons: The heating in the bathroom/shower . . . ;-)
Location: Easy access into Edinburgh, very frequent buses, abundant thins to do in Edinburgh, although we just love roaming around to see what we find next . .
Great location, free parking, very warm welcome by Ian, room was big, the breakfast was plentiful, hot & very tasty,the only let down was the bathroom/shower was very cold. Getting to Edinburgh was easy the bus stop was only a couple of minutes away & the buses are plentiful, don’t for get you need the exact change for the bus, currently £1.60 per person each way . . . We would definitely stay here again & recommend to friends . . . ;-)
5 out of 5
by Sheena

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
It is very central and very well situated for public transport.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice Guesthouse in a convenient location

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and personal atmosphere, nice rooms, good breakfast, conveniently located.
We stay at the Bonnington Guest House whenever we go to Edinburgh for a weekend. It's a lovely old house with nice big rooms and very friendly proprietors. The breakfast is excellent as well. It is easily reached by car and has private off street parking. There is a bus stop just around the corner that runs every 10 minutes and takes you quickly into Princes Street. In that respect the location of the Bonnington is ideal since parking nearer to the centre can be very difficult.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Close to buses so commuting was easy.

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Easy to sight see from.
Lovely accommodation. Easy to sightsee. Centrally located. Delicious breakfasts.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Great B and B .

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
Can't fault it . Comfortable clean room . Good breakfast . Friendly staff . Close to amenities . Bus stop to city centre nearby regular buses . Recommended!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

NOT good value for money.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Hotel Staff and quiet nights.
Cons: Bed!
Location: Not the best, if You are in Edinburgh for Fringe.
Watch out for a room with "Large Double Private Bathroom" description meaning: You'd have to get out of the room and go through commonly used staircase to get to your separate (although private) bathroom. Also I was happy to be exactly six feet tall. One more inch, and my feet would have been sticking out of the bed - it's that short. Cleanliness was good (just a few woman's hair found in the bathtub), so was breakfast. Staff was excellent - helpful and kind. The overall rating would be higher, if the stay wasn't hugely overpriced - even considering Fringe Festival period. (We moved to Hilton Hotel after that stay for less than half of that price).