Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bremen

Für den Preis etwas Besseres erwartet

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Pros: Das Frühstück war OK
Cons: Das Haus müßte dringend saniert werden.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich in einer normal belebten Straße. Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel in 2 Min. zu erreichen. Geschäfte und Lokale in der Nähe.
Der erste Eindruck war schon erschreckend. Mülltonnen im Eingangsbereich. Deckel auf, übler Geruch. Alles sehr schmutzig und unaufgeräumt. Die Rezeption war ebenso vermüllt, so dass man keinen guten ersten Eindruck bekam. Die kargen Zimmer waren nicht sehr sauber, Schmutz auf dem Teppich, Spinnenweben älteren Datums etc. Die Betten waren OK. Das separate Badezimmer auf dem Gang war ebenfalls sehr schmutzig. Badewanne war verstopft etc. Wir haben uns zu keiner Zeit wirklich wohl gefühlt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Frühstück war ok

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Das Zimmer war sehr klein, staubig und im Tee- u. Kaffeeteller befanden sich Haare. Das Badezimmer war schmutzig. Die Dusche war schimmelig, sowie war die Wand schimmelig. Auch hier waren Haare von den Vorbewohnern. Das Frühstück war ok, wobei die Gläser und Tassen ebenfalls schmuddelig waren. Der Wasserkocher im Zimmer war eine Katastrophe. Dieses B&B hat definitiv keine 3 Sterne verdient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bologna

Hotel che è èpoco più di un bed&breakfast

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Il prezzo, non più basso però del valore dell'hotel
Location: Il castello è raggiungibile a piedi in 20 minuti
Ho alloggiato per 4 giorni in una stanza molto piccola senza bagno in camera ma in corridoio da condividere con altre persone di altre stanze. La moquette non veniva pulita tutti i giorni, la coperta era corta per cui o coprivo i piedi o coprivo le spalle..... Colazione possibile solo dalle 8: avendo un'escursione lle 8,30 ho chiesto di poter fare colazione alle 7,30. Non è stato possibile anticiparla ed ho quindi dovuto far colazione fuori. Deludente
5 out of 5
for Couples
by Martina from Wels/Austria

Großartiger Aufenthalt im schottischen Stil

Posted Mar 15, 2015 on Hotels
Der Aufenthalt im Braveheart Guesthouse war sehr angenehm. Mir haben die schottisch karierten Teppichböden und die schweren langen roten Vorhänge sehr gut gefallen, sowie auch die Zimmer mit schottischen Caslte-namen versehen sind. Zum Frühstück gab es auch ein schottisches zur Auswahl mit Haggis, Bloodpudding, Ham, Eggs und frisch getoastetem Toast und es war sehr lecker - optimal zum Probieren für den ersten Aufenthalt in Schottland. Das Personal war sehr freundlich und zuvorkommend, persönlich, per email und telefonisch. Das Bad und WC waren sauber. Gute Anbindung ans öffentliche Verkehrsnetz. Ich würde im Braveheart Guesthouse auf alle Fälle wieder einchecken.
3 out of 5
for Personal Event
by Michael from LA

Good Value

Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Hotels
Little more than a block from a park where those with joint problems can jog on turf. Nice breakfast, clean room and bathroom.
3 out of 5
for Personal Event
by Anthony from Canada

Unexpensive room. Room and services are OK.

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels
The matress was not in a very good shape. The wifi signal was not strong enough and it was not possible to have internet in my room. I won't complain because you get what you pay for. The price is cheap and the room was OK.
5 out of 5
for Personal Event
by Brian from Northampton


Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels
Very good for a one night stop over.clean and tidy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Japan

Not as good as I expected

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: breakfast
Cons: They should clean rooms well.
Location: It takes 30 minuts on foot from the station. It was out of the sity centre.
The staff were kind and flexible, and breakfast was so delicious. However, my rooms was kind of dirty. There was a lot of dust on the floor and the desk lamp. Also, the light on the ceiling was broken. The owner noticed it because he led me to the room, but he didn't try to fix it. Fortunately, there were two other small lamps.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 28, 2014
Room nr 7 , big room but with orribile smell, tiny bathroom, bad wifi. Staff very kind and good position . Very good breakfast
2 out of 5
for Couples
by LUCIA from Denmark

Severely overrated

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
The Braveheart guest house was a total disappointment. The first thing was that the door to our room was stuck on the carpet so we had to push it. Entering the room you immediately spot a dead insect on the wall which the cleaning personnel didn’t bother removing and the general feeling that they just do the bed when they come to “clean”. The room was fairly tiny, something that would have been acceptable if it wasn’t because it felt so dirty everywhere which made it feel very claustrophobic. The shower’s door doesn’t close so the floor gets all wet, also the electronic shower made a tinnitus-esque sound whenever you put it on hot. Generally the most positive thing about the room was that you wanted to stay there for as little as possible, helps you get the most out of Edinburgh which is a great city. The location being 20 minutes on foot to Princess Street and a bit closer to the castle and Grassmarket was the most positive thing about our stay. As we sat down for breakfast at 8.50 (from 8-9) right after serving a mediocre Scottish breakfast the staff began switching off lights around, closing the door to the dinner hall and sat down to watch TV which made it clear that it was time to get out. Overall it didn’t feel like it was worth the money, usually there’s a trade-off between location and the general standard of the hotel when picking from the cheap hotels but at Braveheart guest house the standard was in our opinion horrific while the location wasn’t all that great.