Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Good price/quality option! Well located

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: The room and the location were nice, the breakfast it was better than I was expecting and the hitters were amazing! =)
Cons: Maybe the availability of the staff at the reception.
Location: Is 15 minutes walking to city center, close to Calton Hill and shops at the new town.
Overall it was good, breakfast, room, the bedroom was clean and tided up every day. Very welcoming place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, NY

Great B&B.

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Close to a lot of pubs. Close to stores and attractions of Edinburgh. Had a great time here, breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Great accommodations in a great location.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Location: The location was in easy walking distant to the Castle, Palace and Caldon Hill which was our favourite. There were many options for eating near by.
Our room was clean, comfortable with big windows onto a garden area. the Host was very friendly, and helpful to us. We would certainly stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Clean, spacious room. Excellent shower and bathroom facilities. Good for the price and terrifically located. Slightly disappointing breakfast options (continental only), but generally a fine option during fringe season.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario,Canada

Edinburgh Guest House

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The staff were very good and were attentive to our needs.
Cons: Door hardware and window improvements would be one thing especially with a street level or below street level room.
Location: Several restaurants and a pub around the corner. Quite walkable to city centre.
We were dropped off downtown from a tour and were able to walk with our luggage to the Guest House (about 20 min). Our room was one floor down from street level and we didn't feel totally secure with the windows. The room was spacious and the breakfast was adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place, great character

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Location: There are plenty of restaurants nearby, and it is not really far from the centre core. Shopping and buses are close enough to get to the cool stuff.
Staying here was great. It was in a great location, clean, and friendly. Only drawback was it was uphill and downhill for lots of walking distance to get to places. However, we'd stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely B&B, close to the centre, lovely owners

Posted May 7, 2015
Had a lovely weekend away at this B&B would recommend it!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kampala

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: It's location was great not far from city center and train station.
Cons: The Internet signal worked but was not that great. It kept jumping in and off.
Location: Very good location especially for foreign travellers. Within easy reach of train station, shopping areas and tourist attractions.
Great staff. Clean, comfortable and quite room. Very good for relaxation or reading.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from south Yorkshire

Charming guest house

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Stayed as a 3 for two nights. Firstly this hotel was chosen on location and price so not expecting a luxury stay! We were put in a family room but then moved to another room, but we didn't mind. Location superb and excellent value considering proximity to centre. The decor was deliberately (?) dated, which is to be either loved or hated. The rooms look something out of a some cult 70's horror film! Fortunately we loved the charm. Owners were very welcoming and extremely nice to us. Breakfasts were excellent. Also worth noting that the Power showers are superb! Only slight issue for me was the beds are quite hard, but that may have just been an unlucky one, as the other people in the party slept okay. Very enjoyable stay. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Albow from Sunsinine Coast AUS

wee bit of touch

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Lack of lift
Location: Within 15 minute walk of town centre
Management went out of their way to make the stay great,could not complain and will be returning