Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

comfortable guest house in the centre of Edinburgh

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable room in a converted Edinburgh townhouse, situated right in the town centre. The service was very good, the staff friendly and I didn't have too far to walk to my function venue. Understandably in a Listed Building, there was no lift, so the 89 stairs from the front door to my room was a bit of a challenge at the end of the night. There was a good choice at breakfast and the food was freshly prepared and the tea hot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jarrow

Lovely hotel with Friendly staff

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Friendly and spacious room
Cons: No good if disabled as lots of stairs
Location: Location spot on and central for shops, bars, resturants and Xmas markets
Arrived early but staff took our bags in. Room very specious and clean. Staff very helpful. Breakfast lovely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming converted older house

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
This is a converted older house ( of the author of The Wind in the Willows), with charm and character and lots of stairs. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful. This was my second stay here. I hope not my last!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely, clean, comfy, lovely, delish!

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic breakfast with haggis and black pudding! Great coffee. Very clean property. Kettle in room for coffee all night long. Great TV channels. Tons of food, drinks, buses, supermarkets nearby. Can walk to everything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view, great value. Amazing breakfast.

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing price and value, great location and amazing service. All around a top lodging.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
The night manager was strong, he carried our bag up about a dozen flights of stairs, but rude. When he ask for my passport number I told him I didn't give it out. He kept insisting that I had to. To the point that I finally told him he'd have to live without it. The place has more stairs than you can imagine. I think we were on the fourth or fifth floor; and at night I found it a little creepy, but there is a nice little pub right next door called Badger and Co., I think.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel - Edinburgh at its Best

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very accessible to/from the airport by the Airlink 100 bus and every tourist attraction was within a 10 minute walk. Room was quiet and clean, but beds weren't the best. However, the hotel managers were so accommodating and friendly, the free hot cooked breakfast so good, and the location so perfect, that this is our go-to when we return. Ask for a room with a view of the castle if possible. They even packed us an early 5am breakfast to go for our early flight. Outstanding service. Need to be able to climb stairs though, but they aren't that bad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great if you don't mind stairs!

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Nice people, good location, and there really is a view of the castle, from one window in the dining room. It's an historical/listed building so there's no elevator, reception is on the 3rd floor, and our rooms were on the 5th floor - a long way up. Fortunately we were given assistance getting our luggage up and down. The room was well-appointed, with an effective reading light over the bed, and decent wi-fi in the room. Breakfast was good, and the location in New Town is great for seeing much of the city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from npt

Nice b&b but no lift!!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Nice b&b right in the centre of Edinburgh. Tidy room a bit on the small side for three adults but comfortable. Unfortunately we don't travel light and were a bit shocked to find no lift available. Staff were helpful and served a great Scottish breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels