Ratings based on 757 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Provo, Utah

Great hotel off the beaten path

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Off the beaten path, but accessible. Great neighborhood. Very quaint.
Cons: There was no electrical outlet in the bathroom. Not a huge deal, but. . .
Location: Dean's bridge neighborhood. There is a great little market close by on Sunday. Edinburgh is enchanting!
A truly charming little hotel that is off the beaten path but close enough to several bus lines that getting to and from central Edinburgh is no problem at all (5 to 10 minute bus ride depending upon your destination). Our room was small (but quite normal for a European hotel) but nicely furnished and very comfortable. The staff was professional and efficient, some were more friendly and helpful than others, but all were completely acceptable. The breakfasts were wonderful- I recommend the smoked kippers and full Scottish. It's close to Dean's Bridge which is a picturesque little neighborhood. We would totally stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Dismal experience

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Of all the hotels we stayed in over the 3 weeks in the UK this hotel was simply the worst. From the check in wherein they argued about the pre-payment, out of service lift, Wi-Fi not functioning. The whole place was tired and run down and had the aura of 'downhill slide'. I never got warm water from the bathroom tap, altho fortunately the shower had warm water. The bistro in the basement was most uninspiring. No parking other than on street which was pay and display during the day. Two positives, nice big bright bathroom and they provided a good breakfast. Too bad really as it was in a nice neighbourhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Comfortable room and facilities. Car parking was a bit tricky as we need to pay it from 8:30.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Great historic townhouse

Posted May 29, 2017
Like a genteel country home. Very comfortable and elegant!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zebulon NC

Nice hotel on quiet street

Posted May 15, 2017
Nice hotel, very quiet. A bit far from downtown w/ awkward parking (though I parked in front of hotel past 10 in the morning and didn't get a ticket. )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Three days in Edinburgh.

Posted May 8, 2017
Very comfortable room and lovely hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay very much.
5 out of 5
by Winifred

Great night in Edinburgh

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed over as we were attending a function in Edinburgh. The staff were friendly and helpful very welcoming and professional. We where upgraded at no extra cost. Room was clean bed very comfortable and bathroom well equipped with what we needed for our stay. View from our room was great. Would definitely recommend friends and family to stay there
4 out of 5
by Tracey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Eric L

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
It's a very nice hotel in a great location. Would stay again but a couple of cautions - WiFi is pretty spotty and definitely give the restaurant a miss!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, we are taken aback with your comments asking guests to give our restaurant a miss. We take great pride in our food, sourcing all our ingredients from local suppliers and we receive lots of praise from our guests about our restaurant. We are sorry that you felt that it didn't meet your standards. We hope you choose to stay with us again when you next visit Edinburgh.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for comfort and service, distant from city

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
The beds are comfy and staff are helpful and friendly. The shower water temperature is slightly inconsistent, sometimes it just turns too cold/hot, lighting in the room is limited, cleaning service needs improvement. Location is a bit far from the centre...but there is public transport else taxi service in Edinburgh is fast.