Ratings based on 672 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, great interior design.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
It's only 15 mins walk from princes street and I felt very comfortable when I walked into the hotel. Nice room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay in Edinburgh

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Wonderful old style hotel within 1-2 miles of the Castle, Arthur's Seat. Superb breakfast! Only issue was no parking--on the street and limited to 4 hours on Mon-Fri from 8:30-5:30. Staff was super. Good internet. Easy walking to some good restaurants as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice Hotel

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: Included above
Cons: Included above.
Location: Included in above.
Beautiful hotel but carpets a bit worn and difficulty with flushing the toilet. Most of the staff were very nice but the person during check-in was not very friendly. The breakfast that is included is exceptional. The views from my room were beautiful as is the decor. Nice large bathroom and fluffy towels. Shampoo and Body Wash but no Body Lotion. Bus stop is very convenient and the frequency is wonderful. Easy to get into the city and can walk to the city center if you enjoy walking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by david from Angus

Edinburgh stopover

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Used to live nearby; know the area well. Great value vs. 5 mins walk nearer noisier Princes St. Very quiet. Staff were very helpful. Only disappointment was the change to the basement bar - preferred the cosiness of previous incarnation
5 out of 5
by catherine from liverpool

sightseeing trip 2016

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
stayed here for two night mid week break,for a sight seeing trip, lovely hotel comfy room, breakfast lovely staff friendly and very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for exploring Edinburgh

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: Charming decor, great location
Cons: Water pressure a bit low
Location: Great food and drinks at West End, walkable. Elephant House for lunch, coffee, and JK Rowling fans.
Great accommodations within walking distance of Princes Street. Good food and very helpful staff. Short drive from airport. Street parking only, but we always found spots right in front of hotel. Ensuite bathroom had shower and separate luxury tub and bidet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lovely and comfortable stay

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Wotif
We really enjoyed our stay at Channings. Lovely staff and fabulous rooms. We felt it was really good value compared to other local hotels we stayed at recently in Edinburgh (including some big names such as Crowne). we would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great character hotel, can walk to the centre bus there are regular buses . The staff were really helpful and friendly
5 out of 5
by MARK from Stoke on Trent

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in a quite position but within walking distance to city clean comfortable with friendly helpful staff