Ratings based on 750 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Dismal experience

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Of all the hotels we stayed in over the 3 weeks in the UK this hotel was simply the worst. From the check in wherein they argued about the pre-payment, out of service lift, Wi-Fi not functioning. The whole place was tired and run down and had the aura of 'downhill slide'. I never got warm water from the bathroom tap, altho fortunately the shower had warm water. The bistro in the basement was most uninspiring. No parking other than on street which was pay and display during the day. Two positives, nice big bright bathroom and they provided a good breakfast. Too bad really as it was in a nice neighbourhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Comfortable room and facilities. Car parking was a bit tricky as we need to pay it from 8:30.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Great historic townhouse

Posted May 29, 2017
Like a genteel country home. Very comfortable and elegant!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zebulon NC

Nice hotel on quiet street

Posted May 15, 2017
Nice hotel, very quiet. A bit far from downtown w/ awkward parking (though I parked in front of hotel past 10 in the morning and didn't get a ticket. )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Three days in Edinburgh.

Posted May 8, 2017
Very comfortable room and lovely hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Charming old hotel near the city centre.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Its charm from a different era.
Cons: Loved it as it was.
Location: Very near the city centre. Great access to everything.
We were delighted upon our arrival at the Channings. It seemed we had been transported back to a more genteel time. The staff was gracious and most helpful. would highly recommend the hotel to everyone.
5 out of 5
by Mrs. L A

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, peaceful hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: The breakfast and location.
A lovely hotel in a peaceful area but only a ten minute stroll to Princes Street. We had the Discovery suite, which was beautiful. Very comfy bed, amazing bathroom with underfloor heating. Breakfast was exceptional.
5 out of 5
by Katie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

quiet location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: location
Location: visit stockbridge
Relaxing visit to a city full of culture. Why say more?