Ratings based on 640 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is not 4 Star - we felt ripped off

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: A lot could be improved.
Location: Location not bad.
The staff were all very good and very nice and the reception areas ok but the hotel is extremely tired and needed redecorating at least 10 years ago. WIFI was very patchy and temperamental. We paid £200 a night for a very small dark cramped and dingy room. The paint was chipped and worn away and the woodwork in poor condition. The skirting was very grubby and the bathroom floor tiles in desperate need of a steam clean. I've stayed in many Edinburgh hotels and this was a let down. Facilities equated with a travel lodge type place. The breakfast was good though the scrambled eggs were a very strange taste. We wouldn't eat dinner here again as the food was too inconsistent - the chicken terrine was completely tasteless and the burger dry, tough and overcooked. The pasta dish and haggis starter were very good. I'd not go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for Edinburgh stay

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Delightful stay with very comfortable room. Well staffed and very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in lovely area

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Channings feels like a 5 star hotel. The comfortable rooms, level of service and beautiful decor all made it a memorable experience. It is in a beautiful part of the city, within walking distance. I would thoroughly recommend Channings to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northants

Convenient, central but quiet

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: We liked the cosy and homely atmosphere.
Cons: Lighting in the bedroom was too dim to be able to read comfortably. Car parking was a problem with all the different parking regulations.
Location: Ideally located for the many experiences that Edinburgh has to offer, within easy walking distance.
On arrival we sensed a great Christmas atmosphere, cosy log fire and lovely Christmas tree, a very homely atmosphere. We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. Our room was beautifully furnished and the bathroom luxurious. Breakfast was beautifully served and delicious and our evening meal of steak was beautifully cooked, and the dessert was delicious too. We experienced a restful few days at the hotel whilst exploring Edinburgh's Botanic Gardens and Christmas festivities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2015
I got upgraded to a junior suite and it was the most beautiful room you can imagine! The bathroom was amazing although the heated floor got a tad boiling sometimes! The hotel staff were fantastic and very welcoming allowing me to stay until I had to leave for the airport! Very beautiful place I would defiantly visit again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Lovely hotel - away from the fray of the city centre but close by and part of the charming Stockbridge neighbourhood. The hotel was the sometime residence of Shackleton - South Pole explorer and there are a few artefacts of interest. The only shortcoming - and that is quibbling - was the linens. Better duvet, better sheets, would make for a more comfortable sleep. Otherwise, everything was delightful. The bar area lacks atmosphere. Nothing more expensive or complicated that a decent lighting scheme would sort it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Workington

Edinburgh&Channings pretty much tick all the boxs

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: cosy, homely ambience.just far enough away from the city noise and traffic.
Cons: more on the full scotish breakfast, but i take some filling
Location: Near enough to city centre to walk with good eateries 5 to 10 mins away
Just stayed for a long weekend of terrible wet weather and snow, but the hotel staff were spot on, very helpfull with local knowledge and taxi calls. stayed fair for shopping visits,christmas and scotish markets and trip to zoo (cant blame the hotel for the weather) cant really fault the hotel.Had a meal and drinks at the shackletons which was reasonably priced and handy on the first night untill we found our way round.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2015
A very pleasant hotel which is good value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hitchin, UK

Half-term break

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: The staff made it a very pleasureable stay. It is in a great location, off the beaten track but close to all amenties and attractions
Cons: I think it is time for a refurbishment.
Location: This is Edinburgh! Just go and explore, preferably on foot, it is a great city to wonder around and be surprised!
I selected the hotel based upon a previous visit many years ago and reading the on-line reviews. The reviews were very accurate with great staff making it a very pleasureable stay. The hotel is a little faded in places, but that did not distract from our stay.