Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
It was comfortable and the room was clean
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location.

Posted Sep 4, 2015
The hotel was beautiful but it was apparent that there was a lack of staff to maintain the hotel to keep it clean and man reception.
2 out of 5
by Charlie Brown from penicuik

not bad

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
lovely building, however not very well kept inside. thought the price was a bit steep for the facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updating, but friendly nevertheless.

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
It was a stay for business and due to central Edinburgh pricing, (what with the Fringe being on), staying slightly out was necessary? Service levels were very friendly, although more staff were required, as it appeared that at any one time, one person was tending to the bar, reception and the restaurant! This said and despite the decor, fixtures and fittings, clearly showing their age, staff were friendly and the supper and breakfast were extremely good and freshly cooked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Very nice.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
The owners were very nice and our room was huge. The only issues were that there was very limited parking and our bathroom was not attached to our room, but we really enjoyed our stay here. Had a beautiful view of the river out our bedroom window.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Charming House

Posted Aug 11, 2015
The Craigiebield was a wonderful off the beaten path choice. We wanted to see some city and some country and this was a perfect spot. We did not have a car and the staff are very helpful letting us know about bus routes and taxi costs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Awesome experience!

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Minor upgrades would be an enhancement.
Location: Great for quiet city walks or bus rides into Edinburgh or nearby locations.
Great hotel in quiet location but close to a quick bus ride into down town Edinburgh. Excellent staff from in all positions gave great service and advice on travel arrangements. We would stay there again with Denise and Laura and all the staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Suitable for visit to Edinburgh

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Convenient for visit to Edinburgh
Cons: No mattress cover on bed! Reported but no one seemed to have serviced the room or replaced coffee/biscuits between our two nights stay.
Location: (above continued) Unlined curtains in room 8 let in very bright security lights from nearby development. Very close to Roslyn chapel and Edinburgh.
Excellent meals and service although breakfast a bit slow due to shortage of staff on first morning
4 out of 5
by Diane from Guisborough

would stay again

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
average rooms butstaff helpful and i would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Das Hotel an sich ist schön gelegen. Allerdings fehlen im Zimmer Informationen zum Wifi. Der Fernseher Funktion vierte nicht und in der Badewanne fehlte der Stöpsel. Eines der Fenster lies sich nicht komplett schließen.