Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Louise

10/10 Amazing!

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Proximity to Zoo, and also Edinburgh airport, is amazing for anyone flying into the city specifically to see the pandas (as we did). The breakfast is without doubt one of the best I have ever had in a Guest House. The room was absolutely amazing, and the en suite was incredible! The House itself was immaculate and I would have no hesitation to recommend, as we are already thinking of any excuse to return to Edinburgh so we can stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by Iain and Dot, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. See you next time
5 out of 5
by Ronnie

Superb guest house well situated and very friendly

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely excellent stay. We were both made to feel very welcome and my only mystery is why we have not stayed at this little gem of guest house before. Exactly across the road from Edinburgh Zoo and perfect for bus stop for the airport bus to and from airport and easy access into the heart of the city. Very homely welcome feeling at Dalmore. Enjoyed chatting with co-owner Iain over the home cooked breakfast. HIGHLY recommended. Absolutely no negatives whatsoever in any way. Every aspect of stay was positive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Iain and Dot, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your excellent review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you being another return guest :) Iain and Dot
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Was a lovely room right across from the Edinburgh Zoo. Only complaint is that the road traffic is very loud until quite late.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Iain and Dot, Hotel Management
Many thanks for taking the time to review. Two of our rooms face to the front of the property and the other three to the rear which is quieter. We are "townies" ourselves so don't even notice the traffic but the windows are double-glazed so - if closed - shuts the sound out quite a bit. Next time, might be better booking a room to the back if they are free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2016
very nice B & B opposite Edinburgh Zoo. room great, breakfast delicious
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2016 by Iain and Dot, Hotel Management
Thank you for adding your review. Always good to hear you appreciated the room and enjoyed breakfast. Hope you will return. Iain and Dot
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midlands

Very close to zoo

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Noisy room and bin in bathroom not emptied from previous guest. Breakfast pretty good though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by Iain and Dot, Owners, Hotel Management
Hi there, apologies for the oversight in not emptying the bin. You should have let us know and we would have emptied straight away. Not sure which room you were in as you have not said so not sure why noisy but glad you enjoyed breakfast anyway :)
4 out of 5
by Ralph

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by Iain and Dot, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review. Appreciate you taking the time to do this for us. See you again at Dalmore Lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Easy location for Zoo and city centre. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Proprietors could not have been more helpful and professional.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Zoo and City centre
Great location across from the Zoo and about 15 mins to city centre by bus. Proprietors were wonderful very helpful, great hosts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for zoo

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Lovely breakfast setting you up for the day.
Cons: More refreshments in room, especially milk.
Location: Opposite the zoo, local bus routes.
Lovely breakfast, great for the zoo just opposite. Also great for visiting a local Chinese called Cool Jade, excellent menu. On local bus routes to get into Edinburgh.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to airport and Zoo.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Close to airport.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The the Zoo is across the street from B&B.
Only used for one night. There is traffic noise from front street but room and B&B were very clean. Breakfast was good and host was very helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2015 by Iain and Dot, Hotel Management
Hi there, many thanks for your review. Yes, we have two rooms that face the front of the property which will be noisier of the windows are open. There is double-glazing, so if closed tight, it is much quieter. If you are booking again, better to book one of the quieter rooms to the back of the property. Thanks again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay in a modern clean room

Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
Very quick trip arriving late and departing early, but all was very lovely and would not hesitate to book again or recommend to anyone visiting Edinburgh.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by Iain and Dot, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review and hope you are able to stay with us longer the next time you visit :) Iain and Dot