Ratings based on 455 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Co.Londonderry

Nice hotel close to city centre

Posted Mar 20, 2017
I would stay here again. Great breakfast, friendly helpful staff and clean comfortable room - what more could you want..........
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upscale hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Spacious and clean rooms, modern/updated facilities in a great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness

Nice hotel close to theatres

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Warmer duvets, warmer breakfast buffet - hot food needs to be kept covered as in other hotels or it goes cold very quickly
Location: Location close to Usher hall and Edinburgh castle. Lots of pubs and restaurants nearby
First impressions very good but the duvet was so thin I couldn't sleep properly due to the cold. No extra blankets in the room. Breakfast buffet ok but again the food was cold and the scrambled egg terrible. Nice pastries though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in great location

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Hotel in great location. Bar and restaurant facilities excellent. Staff all attentive. Only quibble was the subdued lighting in the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great location

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Comfy beds nice and dark room great breakfast great Central location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, dissapointingly small room

Posted Feb 19, 2017
A very well situated hotel within walking distance of attractions, eating places and social events. Having stayed with double tree before it was disappointing to have such a small room where it was only just possible to squeeze between the bed and the wall if you were sleeping on the right hand side. If you were to consider taking the proverbial cat to swing in the bathroom you may want to consider a hamster instead. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast good value. Parking is not a difficulty with a pre-arranged car park only a short walk away and at only £7 per 24 hrs. Overall a good stay marred by the room size.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinborough

Nice hotel,a shame it's not in a smarter area

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Very good staff.some could speak better English though.all very helpful.very good food.very clean hotel .beds very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Very nice hotel in a good location. Good looking rooms and nice breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

double tree cheat me

Posted Feb 9, 2017
I hv been loyal to double tree before, but now........ the brilliant view of Edinburgh is spoiled by that hotel room. Fairly say, the hotel breakfast is acceptable and ok. The room is so tiny and the door is directly facing the bed, even I have put on the lock, you always worry the cleaner would suddenly open the door and see you are wearing underwear Just felt like staying in jail. Anybody knows how to claim refund, pls tell me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

A comfortable hotel near interesting places.

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: We had a comfortable, quiet room. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The breakfasts were very good, with plentiful choice and efficient service.
Cons: The bath was very short, although good to have. The room was a little gloomy unless all the lights were on.
Location: It is close to The Royal Mile and near enough to Princes Street.
Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay. Our room was spacious and we particularly liked the breakfasts. The hotel is some distance from the railway stations and we walked miles on sometimes icy (but salted) pavements. There was a water supply problem (caused outside the hotel, initially) for most of one day and we, like others, felt that there could have been some communication from the management, as well as the automatic provision of bottles of water. We asked several times about what was going on as there were no notices. However, staff offered to make an appropriate goodwill gesture afterwards, which we happily accepted.