Ratings based on 1,026 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

General satisfaction

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Comfort and cleanliness
Cons: Service at Bar
Location: Convenient for Murrayfield though further out from city than I thought.
Generally all good - barman on Saturday evening could have been more enthusiastic! Seemed to be a chore for him to serve customers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, easy to get to our venue

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Overall stay was good, only negative was breakfast, food was plentiful but alas only lukewarm and by the time I was halfway through the rest was cold. A polite word with the restaurant manager got only a quick apology . It was disappointing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with easy access to city centre

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Wonderful stay, staff very helpful. Nice big room, nicely decorated and furnished. Bus outside door to Murrayfield and city centre. Can't wait to go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Even with a wedding on the Saturday there was no disturbance or much noise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Royston, Herts

Nice hotel, with good leisure facilities.

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are fine and leisure facilities good.
Cons: The breakfasts.
Location: Location is ok and good bus service into town.
The hotel offers good value, rooms are fine and although the location is away from the centre of Edinburgh, there is a good bus service into town. We particularly enjoyed the leisure facilities, including use of the pool. My only criticism was on the breakfasts, the cooked breakfast is not very good and there is a limited choice available for continental breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Highland Lakes, NJ

Older hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2017
It was adequate at best. Thankfully we only stayed one night. The place was very dated. The shower head was awful as was the hairdryer- the thing was an antique. There is no elevator to the 3rd floor where we were. Climbed about 11 stairs to get there. They were upgrading the computer system (on the weekend) when we checked in which made it a slow arduous process. Then because of it, they no longer had any information on the type of room we had booked. The situation was resolved by the maid, who was very sweet and helpful. I probably wouldn’t stay here again even though it was a quick ride to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Nice hotel in quiet location

Posted Oct 27, 2017
First time in Edinburgh so needed somewhere fairly close to attractions but also quiet and friendly due to having a 3 year old. The Edinburgh Capital Hotel was absolutely perfect for this. Quiet location which was easy to access by main transport routes. Staff were incredible and couldn't do enough to help. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a classy touch. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Internet not working. Kids were running and screaming everywhere at check in. Bed was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas, USA

Last night of UK trip with Dad

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Staff!
Cons: Fix the access to the breakfast buffet for people that cannot climb stairs.
Location: So handy for getting to the airport. I would definitely use this hotel next time we come as our stay for Edinburgh activities.
We booked this hotel because it was close to Edinburgh Airport for our last day in the UK. We were there with my husband's 90 year old dad that grew up and went to school in Edinburgh. The staff was excellent and provided him with a ground floor room so he would not have to negotiate the stairs to the rooms on the 2nd (3rd in US terms) floor. My only complaint was that the breakfast buffet was up a half flight of stairs. Again, difficult for my father-in-law to negotiate. If they could somehow change this to allow people that have difficulty with stairs, that would be perfect. The manager was amazing. The staff excellent. I would recommend this to any traveler that is looking for a more modern stay without being in one of the hotel giants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson Arizona USA

DIsappointed

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Chose it because it was close to the airport.....sort of....still hit morning traffic jams on way to airport
Cons: Adios the multiple room service trays left in the hallway for two days
NExt time I'd stay at the Dakota to be near the northwest end of Edinborough....and , I got bitten in multiple spots by bed bugs. WHen I notified management they were keen to mitigate the problem room, and by email assured me they were checking all rooms for the comfort of future guests.