Ratings based on 913 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel 10 minutes walk from the city centre

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Position and character
Cons: The Bar lacked character and warmth,
Location: Very close to all the bars and restaurants and a large park
Recently refurbished, nice hotel with character, the staff were very helpful and breakfast tasty. My room was a good size and bed very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Sunny Verma , Hotel Management
Thank you for following your kind review stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. I am delighted to read that you were impressed with the hotel, finding the central location convenient. I am sorry you felt that bar lacked character & warmth and not to your satisfaction. Your feedback regarding the quality and attentive service you received from my team is much appreciated and I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with my colleagues throughout the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Sehr gut gelegenes Hotel. 3 min zu Fuß zum Grassmarket und ca. 10 min bis zum Schloss. Sehr freundliches Personal, gutes Frühstück und gut ausgestattete und saubere Zimmer. Bus direkt zum Flughafen hält vor dem Hotel, was an und Abreise sehr günstig macht.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Sunny Verma, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave some feedback. I am glad that you found the hotel conveniently located to explore the city and that the rooms were clean and well equipped. It is very pleasing to read that all the staff you encountered were friendly and helpful. I do hope we can welcome you again in the future. Kind Regard Sunny Verma General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located, adequate

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The location and staff were great.
A reasonably nice place. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The room was fine, and given the street proximity surprisingly quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Sunny Verma, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your 5star review. I am pleased to read that you found the staff very helpful and pleasant and the location great. I am also glad that the room was quiet and met your expectations. Hopefully, we can welcome you again in the future. Kind Regard Sunny Verma General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A spasso per Edimburgo

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Tutto
Cons: Le camere sono un po' piccole
Location: Ottima posizione centrale
Un buon hotel in zona centrale. Stabile antico, ottimo rapporto qualità prezzo
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Sunny Verma, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave some feedback. I am glad that the hotel was conveniently located for you and that you have enjoyed your time with us. I hope we can welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Right on bus line from airport. Easy walk down to Grassmarket and Castle! About three blocks, so close but quiet. Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Sunny Verma, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave some feedback. I am glad to read that you found our location convenient and quiet and that all the staff were friendly. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing location!

Posted Jul 31, 2016
This hotel was amazing, modern, clean, comfortable and had amazing, friendly staff - the best part was the central location which was close to the main hub of Edinburgh!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2016 by Sunny Verma, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you found us conveniently located and the rooms modern, clean and comfortable. It is great that the staff were friendly and helpful - I will certainly pass your review on to all the team. Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Very nice hotel. Friendly staff within walking distance to main attractions. Quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Sunny Verma, Hotel Management
Dear j, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave some feedback. I am glad to read that you found the hotel conveniently located and quiet and it is lovely to hear that all the staff encountered were friendly. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcester UK

An excellent stay

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Good food, facilities, clean, friendly staff, well placed and modern.
Cons: Room sizes could be a problem for some if they do not know the sizes - not a problem for us at all but people might want more space for a long stay.
Location: Not slap bang in the center, but in a quiet street not far away - 10 minute walk from the Grassmarket and 15 from the Castle
When deciding what to write here, my girlfriend just said "I can't think of anything to improve, to be honest." And that really is the case. We chose Edinburgh as we had never been to Scotland before, and wanted a hotel that was reasonably priced but within walking distance to all the major sights. The Edinburgh City hotel was well placed, spotlessly clean, with friendly staff and excellent facilities - it is clearly an old building, but the rooms were fresh and modern (for those wanting a lot of space, be aware that the rooms were relatively small - perfect for what we required). The restaurant did generous portions of good food in the morning, and did a great job of setting us up for the day. All in all, we highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Sunny Verma , Hotel Management
Dear J Thank you for following your kind review stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. I am delighted to read that you were impressed with the hotel, finding the central location convenient. Your feedback regarding the quality and attentive service you received from my team is much appreciated and I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with my colleagues throughout the hotel. Thank you for following your kind review stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. I am delighted to read that you were impressed with the hotel, finding the central location convenient. Your feedback regarding the quality and attentive service you received from my team is much appreciated and I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with my colleagues throughout the hotel. As the hotel is an old maternity hospital, all of our rooms are shaped and laid out differently. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much that you are already looking forward to returning as that is as good a recommendation as there is! Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

History and Elegance wrapped in one

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: We spent two weeks in Scotland and Ireland and this was one of the cleanest and nicest hotels we stayed in. Exceptionally clean with a welcoming feel
Cons: There was limited free parking for our rental car.
Location: It was only a short walk from the train but was a little off the beaten path for a non walker. Maybe a 1/2 mile from the Royal Mile.
The hotel was very beautiful and historic. When we arrived we were informed that we had booked a room for 2 adults but actually needed a room for 3 due to family traveling along. The hotel was very informative about the problem and moved an extra bed into our room at no cost (other than extra fee for another breakfast). The attendant was not only able to help us with that, but he took a free map from the hotel and circled locations that had good drinking deals and live music. Which was exactly what we asked him for. Loved our stay there. It could have been a bit closer to the train station, but the walk allowed us to see more of Edinburgh on the way. Loved it. The building used to be hospital and there are several historical markers in the hotel that talk about the first usage of penicillin. Super Cool!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Sunny Verma , Hotel Management
Dear KD. Thanks for a reviewing your stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. I am pleased to read your review and of course delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us whilst exploring our beautiful city and historical aspect of the hotel. I am afraid that Edinburgh is a very compact city and as such parking is limited (however, this is great for getting around the city as a tourist). We are quite lucky to have 4 spaces in our courtyard that guests can use on a first come, first served basis. We also are able to direct guests to a fully secure car park nearby that costs £12 per day. The car park itself is just down the road and you get 20% off if staying at City hotel. Your feedback regarding the quality and attentive service you received from my team is much appreciated and I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with my colleagues throughout the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norge

Koselig hotell nær sentrum

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Hotellet ligger i et forholdsvis stille område ikke langt fra Grassmarket, men det er likevel kort avstand til Royal Mile. Litt lenger å gå til Princes Street for å shoppe, men absolutt overkommelig. Veldig rent og ryddig på hotelle, betjeningen var hjelpsom og frokosten er god.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Sunny Verma, Hotel Management
Dear Hans, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave some feedback. I am glad to read that you found our location convenient for exploring the town and that you enjoyed the breakfast within the hotel. It is also pleasing to see that all staff were friendly and you found the hotel clean and comfortable. I do hope we can welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager