Ratings based on 1,129 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Crescenta, CA

Decent Hotel in a Historic Building

Posted Jun 15, 2017
The hotel is housed in the converted Edinburgh Royal Maternity Hospital which opened in 1879. You really can't fault them for a bit of street noise coming through the windows as there is only so much one can do with a building this old. Our room was somewhat small but was quite comfortable and contained all the modern conveniences you would typically want. Breakfast in the on-site restaurant was quite good and quite substantial. Overall a good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Sunny verma, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Bruce Thanks for a reviewing your stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. I am pleased to read your review and of course delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us whilst exploring our beautiful city and historical aspect of the hotel. Unfortunately because our hotel is a listed building we are not in a position to make the structural changes necessary to add air conditioning to all our rooms. Due to Safety regulation in UK, windows can only be opened to small degree. It was pleasing to read that you also enjoyed a lovely breakfast in our Simpson restuarant. Hope to see you in near future Regards Sunny verma General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel close to Edinburgh Castle & Old City

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Close to the city center
Cons: No on-site parking
Location: Edinburgh Castle is a 15 minute walk, location close to Old City
Clean hotel close to Edinburgh Castle & Old City, had some trouble finding it, but it was a clean and fairly comfortable hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Sunny verma, Hotel Management
To Whom it May Concern Thank you for following your kind review stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. I am delighted to read that you were impressed with the hotel, finding the central location convenient. It is wonderful to hear you found our rooms to be of excellent standard and cleanliness, this is so important to our housekeeping department and they will be thrilled to hear this. Edinburgh is a very compact city and as such parking is limited (however, this is great for getting around the city as a tourist). We are able to direct guests to a fully secure car park nearby that costs £12 per day not £15.00 per day. The car park itself is just down the road and you get 20% off if staying at City hotel. Due to Health & Safety reason we do not allow the guest car parking in event of fire, the staff can remove the car immediately to allow the access for Fire brigade, but with that guest is not feasible as there are times guest are not present in the hotel Hope to see you in future Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami FL

Behind castle in a nice area

Posted Jun 2, 2017
5 minute walk to Castle. 10 minutes to Giles church. 20 min to Holyrood and Arthurs seat and maybe 25-30 min to New Town. Hotel is in a nice area with lots of restaurants and bars. Upgraded our room automatically.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Sunny Verma, Hotel Management
Dear Dan, Thank you for your recent stay at Edinburgh City Hotel and for taking the time to leave some feedback. I am delighted that you found our location ideal to explore the City and Sights. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta Canada

Very very nice hotel.

Posted May 29, 2017
Such a great hotel in a quiet location. We walked here to and from the rail station. 15 minute walk. Would definitely recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Sunny verma, Hotel Management
Dear Heather Thank you for following your kind review stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. I am delighted to read that you were impressed with the hotel, finding the central location convenient. We are in a great location to explore everything Edinburgh has to offer 10 minutes to Edinburgh Castle & Royal Mile from our hotel. I do hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel on our vacation

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The restaurant was excellent.
This was a great hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was up to date. The staff was friendly. This was the last place we stayed on our trip and it definitely was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Sunny verma, Hotel Management
To whom it may concern Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read how enjoyable you found the whole experience, but I was especially pleased to read your great comments on our friendly team, the breakfast you had in the morning and the dinner in Simpson Restaurant. Our housekeeping team work extremely hard every day to deliver exceptional rooms for our guests and it is fantastic to hear this does not go unnoticed! I will make sure your comments are passed on to our team so that they know their friendly and welcoming attitude does make a difference to each guest’s stay. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Sunny Verma
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney/Greenock

Great hotel with history

Posted May 8, 2017
I took my mother for the night in Edinburgh and was well impressed with the hotel and excellent staff. I would definetly recommend for a night in the city close to usher hall and city. The cleanliness and decor was very tasteful. The hotel has history as it used to be an old maternity hospital. A very comfortable stay and staff that were so pleasant willing to help . I look forward to my return
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Sunny verma, Hotel Management
Dear Lynne Thanks for a reviewing your stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. I am pleased to read your review and of course delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and historical aspect of the hotel. It is wonderful to hear you found our rooms to be of excellent standard and cleanliness, this is so important to our housekeeping department and they will be thrilled to hear this. Your feedback regarding the quality and attentive service you received from my team is much appreciated and I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with my colleagues throughout the hotel. It was pleasing that you found the location extremely convenient for you to visit the show at the Usher hall, hope you have nice trip to UK and safe Journey back to Australia. Hope to see you back soon Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Stay at Edinburgh City Hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: The hotel is exceptionally clean and the staff are the friendliest. They were there to help us at any time and we loved their encouraging, "no worries
Cons: We were there at a cool, temperate time, we did wonder how it would be in the summer - there is no cooling unit. That might be something to consider
Location: Fairly close to all the down town attractions. we walked to almost everything and buses are always everywhere
We had a wonderful time in Edinburgh. The City Hotel was recommended to us by a family member. They loved it and so did we! Old Charm and clean and comfortable. We walked all day everyday that we were there and the bed was so comfortable and even the night sounds were soothing. We went in April so the city was not too crowded (compared to tourist months!).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Sunny verma, Hotel Management
To whom It may concern: Thanks for a reviewing your stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. I am pleased to read your review and of course delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us whilst exploring our beautiful city and historical aspect of the hotel. am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the excellent customer service of our team and I will certainly pass your comments on to team. Unfortunately because our hotel is a listed building we are not in a position to make the structural changes necessary to add air conditioning to all our rooms. Due to Safety regulation in UK, windows can only be opened to small degree but we do provide table fans which are in the room cupboard. Many thanks for your recommendation and hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, General Manager Sunny Verma
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California

Great location for walking Edinburgh

Posted Apr 21, 2017
This hotel is old on the outside which belies the very comfortable remodelled modern room on the inside. We didn't use the restaurant or other services, but the staff we met couldn't have been nicer nor more accommodating. It's a great location for walking to the main sites of Edinburgh. We'd stay there again and recommend it for medium price, good location and well appointed room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Sunny verma, Hotel Management
Dear Hilary. Thanks for a reviewing your stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. I am pleased to read your review and of course delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us whilst exploring our beautiful city and historical aspect of the hotel. It's very nice to receive such a excellent feedback and definitely keeps us going. I surely pass your kind comments to all the staff members for the excellent service you received . It was pleasing to read that you found the hotel offered value for money for its location. Many thanks for glowing recommendation! Hope to see in near future. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado US

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Very friendly very helpful staff. Excellent location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Sunny verma, Hotel Management
To Whom it May concern Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Edinburgh. I am pleased to read that you found the central location of the property convenient, which enhanced your visit to the beautiful city of Edinburgh and all the tourist attraction you wanted to visit. It was very kind of you to highlight how helpful and friendly our team were during your time here and it will be my pleasure to let them know how much they were able to enhance your visit to Edinburgh by offering excellent customer service. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pescara, italy

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: It use to be a maternity hospital. So cool.
Cons: It would be nice if there was a shuttle from the airport to the hotel.
Location: The castle is only a ten minute walk. Royal mile and prince's street as well. A wonderful museum is close by. Also many restaurants to eat at.
Great location. It was centrally located to the castle, the royal mile and prince's street. The Scottish museum was awesome. We went there twice. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Made you feel like family. The food was wonderful as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Sunny Verma, Hotel Management
Dear debbie, Thank you following your kind review of your recent stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. I am happy to see that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel and found us central to explore the City and Sights and that you were impressed with the character of the building. It is lovely to read that the food in our Restaurant was wonderful and that all the staff were friendly and helpful. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager