Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nevine from toronto, canada

Spotless comfort, Greta location!

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Cons: Restaurant facilities in the manor hotel adjacent were limited.
Location: Musselborough old links golf course, Edinburgh, gastro pub The Sun Inn in nearby Dalkeith
Checked in at the adjacent manor house, easy and fast. Lodges set in the beautiful grounds, large comfortable rooms with all the amenities, including free wifi heated towel racks,in room coffee etc. Very secluded and quiet but convenient to Musselborough and the oldest golf course in the world . Perfect!
2 out of 5
by ########## from Oxford

Small Rooms

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: nothing to say about this
Cons: bathroom to be completely overhauled and the bedroom can not be called a double but a single room
Location: Location out in the sticks took ages to find it lack of signage
We had booked a double room for one night arrived and found the double bed practically touched the wall both sides we were lucky to have 6 inches either side, a single (if you want to call it that) wardrobe, the room smelt of damp and the bathroom well the shower had mould in the one corner most of the grouting was missing in the shower. the extractor fan made such an awful noise it was impossible to talk to someone over it. the parking was the best part of the stay we had plenty of room to park the car, I will never stay here again and will not recommend this to anyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms but a little on the small side

Posted Sep 13, 2013
Nice rooms a little on the small side, food expensive but nice bar to sit and relax in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yvonne from Teesside

Wonderful country house setting

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: Spacious grounds, very peaceful and has a great deal of history attached to the main building.
Cons: Extra chair in the bedroom, rather than having to watch television sitting on the bed.
Location: We visited relatives in Musselburgh, but it is relatively easy to visit Edinburgh or the Ocean Terminal in Leith where Britannia is now berthed.
Stayed in one of the lodges which was close to the main hotel. Great 35 acres of land with spectacular views. The room we had was modern and clean, could maybe have had another chair. Staff very helpful and courteous at all times. Although the hotel looks as if it is in a secluded location it is within very easy access to the A1, Musselburgh and Edinburgh. Will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by k from Toronto

Great value and fun experience

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: The castle
Cons: Termperature control in room
The Edinburgh Lodges are on the grounds of the former home of QE II's aunt, sister of the Queen Mom, a small castle. Checkin is at the castle and the staff were friendly and gracious. After a glass of wine in the formal gardens, we had a simple dinner at the castle, ordered from a small bar menu, but could eat it in any public room - we chose the library next to the music room upstairs, had it all to ourselves, and followed it by a game of snooker in the games room. It was a beautiful place - we were not made to feel second class citizens because we were paying 60 Euros for our room rather than 300 in the main castle. The lodge itself was basic but clean and comfortable. It was stuffy and we couldn't find a thermostat so we just opened a window. There were no issues with noise as we'd read from other reviews, but maybe we just got lucky.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Manchester UK

OK but no frills

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: reasonable price for edinburgh
Cons: small rooms
Location: 25 mins from city
Clean but very small room, check in at the adjacent Tower hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Moore

Nice grounds, average room

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Location: The location is rather far outside Edinburgh and there is nothing within walking distance.
We had rooms both in the older and newer buildings. The newer is much superior in both the size of room and condition of the fixtures. The staff was very pleasant and we had no negative issues during our stay. The grounds are very beautiful for short walks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ronnie from Milton Keynes

Added bounus to find this fantastic hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Booked the lodges and upgraded to main Hotel,Great staff and service .loads of rooms to explore ,Breakfast a great experence ,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wayne from York, UK

Comfortably Spooky

Posted Jun 6, 2012
Very quiet location in the country just 5 mins from the A1. Bar is basic but is a comfortable place to stay. Grounds and the Hotel ( a beautiful old building with a tower on one corner ) are both are impressive. The lodge buildings are a bit hospital like and very clean. But here is the important bit. Do you like ghost stories? Well the barman (owner?) is a story teller for sure and being as this is an old hotel with probably many many years of history to the building then its worth a visit for the stories alone. Do you believe? Me well I'm not normally bothered but when I went out to the dark car park which was away from the main hotel and near some old woods then for sure the biggest coldest chill overcame me and by God I could not get inside the lodge fast enough. Spooky? Do I believe? Erm.. I reckon a Ghost hunters delight :-) Enjoy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SIAMO STATI FORTUNATI

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Non abbiamo alloggiato nel lodge, ma nel castello (cramberry tower) perchè il lodge era in ristrutturazione. Per il castello nulla da eccepire: eccezionale. Ma per il lodge non sapremmo dire. La location è comunque eccezionale in un immenso parco.