Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Full breakfast is included; bus stop is very close to the guest house and cab fare is only 6 pounds.
Cons: Only one plug in worked in our room; windows wouldn't open; no AC.
It's an old victorian guesthouse, so don't expect all the conveniences of a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Easy walk to Edinburgh Castle and Old Town

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The location and the friendly staff.
Cons: If they updated the beds, I would definitely stay there again.
Location: Edinburgh Castle is a short distance from the guest house. In fact we could see it from our room. Old Town was great Lots of things to see and shop.
The Hotel was easy to find and had parking out front. The room, like most in the UK, was small. Not much space for 2 people to move around, and no lounge area available in the reception area. The bed had quality bedding, but the mattress has definitely seen better days and in dire need of replacement. I slept with the comforter underneath me to help cushion the coils. The bath had a roomy shower and a very nice towel warming rack that dried the towels and heated the bathroom. A nice plus. All the staff were wonderful. The cooked to order breakfast each morning was very tasty, although I cannot recommend the sausage. (texture was off-putting). Location was great! We parked the car and walked everywhere we wanted to go. Town was about a mile away, but 2 buses passed by the hotel regularly with reasonable fares. There is a small convenience store half block away that is extremely reasonably priced (cheapest we found) for sandwiches, chips, baked goods and drinks. A pizza place across from that had VERY GOOD pizza.
4 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Good value hotel with friendly staff

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Good location and great value.
Cons: Would have liked to have a list of nearby restaurants available.
Location: Good location.
I enjoyed interacting with Dee and the other staff members at the hotel. The room was clean and the breakfast was good. They took care of my family's needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on CheapTickets
Room is a little bit small, but quite cozy. And they offer very good breakfirst.
5 out of 5
by Victoria

Nice, clean and familiar hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
I booked a double room with ensuite but much to our surprise, we were placed in a triple room which had more space and even a dressing room with hangers,iron and an extra blanket! The room itself was clean,located on the lower ground floor,quiet. Breakfast was lovely with a choice of continental buffet plus cooked breakfast ( full English,vegetarian and other options upon request). Overall, very pleasant stay. Only tiny tiny downside was that there was shower instead or a bathtub but not a problem at all as it worked well. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Emergency Stopover

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Came to Scotland from London to buy a car. Had a slight hitch so I stayed at Edinburgh Regency Guest House. It was fabulous! should've stayed longer but had to take car home. I'll Be Back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Cleneness
Cons: Lots
Location: Great little cafe on the corner of the street down the road.
First day tv didn't work so had to move rooms next day, second room was slightly bigger so better, the beds were so uncomfortable so terrible nights sleep, on the last day wanted to shower before leaving but no hot water, did ask staff at breakfast about water situation and with a blank expression said I will check 5 mins later tells me there is a problem with boiler, which I guessed, the room was clean and had everything you needed and about 25 mins to city centre.
2 out of 5
by Matthew

PARKING!!

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
PARKING!! This accommodation offers ''Free Parking'' but omits to mention there are only two spaces available for 8 rooms, fine if you have no car but there is no easy alternative, especially if you arrive late so avoid this if you drive, its not worth the extra hassle. I felt sorry for the apologetic 'person in charge' as its really down to lack of clarity on the website. In addition the printer was not working so I could not get a printed receipt, also down to the owners.