Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Good choice for Edinburgh

Posted Apr 17, 2018
Nice accommodations, good food, very nice staff. Very convenient to bus stop, also. Quick ride to Royal Mile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Posted Apr 12, 2018
Excellent location for connections to buses downtown. The staff were very helpful and prompt to assist in any way. Our room was small but adequate with a very nice ensuite. Large cooked breakfasts were included and they would make local phone calls for you at no charge. It is close to a small but good grocery conveniene for getting supplies if needed. Restaurants, shops and movies are a 10 minute walk away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Two day visit

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Pros: The friendly staff and convenient location.
Cons: Breakfast and maintenance of the rooms.
Location: Easy access to the centre and on a bus route.
Quick stop to visit our daughter. Lovely friendly staff. Comfortable, but room felt small for four. No lock on toilet door and one bedside light not working. Towel rail didn't work either. Fine for sleeping over and not spending much time in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Mar 14, 2018
The proprieters were polite and eager to help, the room was a basement room which was comfortable and clean, our only concern was that there was a strong smell of soot as obviously in the past there had been a fireplace there which now has an ornamental fireplace in situ.
3 out of 5
by Jean

LOVELY WELCOME

Posted Jan 6, 2018 on Hotels
Was given a lovely welcome from the lady in charge,, she was there our whole stay and could not do enough for us,, the room was small as was the en suite,, the bed and pillow's hard, so did not get a good nights sleep on the two night we stayed there,,, the guest house was clean, the breakfast OK,, but had a decent choice,, the main problem with the guest house is parking, they only have 3 spaces,, we were quite lucky to have got one of these, as the chap who works the night duty takes a parking space for himself, leaving only two for guest;s, if you are not lucky enough to get a space you have to park away from the guest house, and pay at the meter, at £2.00 an hour,, there are no free parking spaces nearby,, so for that reason we would not visit the area again,,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice guest house

Posted Jan 2, 2018
We really enjoyed staying at this guest house. We received a warm welcome and were quickly checked into our room. Although there was some damage on the walls and a water stain on the ceiling, it was nothing too bad and we were asked on several occasions if everything was okay with our room. Our room was warm and beds were comfortable. Upon realising that we had no towels in our this was quickly resolved and a fresh set of towels were provided. Good selection available for breakfast ranging from continental to cooked to order. Location wise guest house is about a 15 min walk to Princes Street which we were happy with
4 out of 5
by Hayley

Lovely hotel great location

Posted Dec 31, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel and very friendly staff. Very good location, close to pubs and restaurants and bus stop right outside to travel into centre(only 10 mins on bus). Cooked breakfast was good, however pasteries and bread were a little dry and could have been fresher.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute little hotel, owner is fantastic

Posted Dec 29, 2017 on Hotels
Upon arriving, the owner (a lovely lady whose name I cannot remember), invited me in to sit down while she briefed me on the hotel and area and showed me our family’s room. The room was up one flight of stairs (no elevator in the building, and stairs up to the front door, FYI), and it was just right - 2 twin beds and a queen for our family of 2 teens and 2 adults. The owner cooks breakfast in the morning to order, and she’s just so helpful in every way. The only con to the hotel is the area. It’s not a terribly long walk to the main area of town, just 20-25 minutes, but at night it felt just a little shady. We just made sure we had our wits about us and walked a little faster.
4 out of 5
by Ronald

Good overall

Posted Dec 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable room. Very pleasant reception from Angarna. A few minor hiccups which were rectified and we were given a gift to make up for these. Breakfast was good and plentiful.
4 out of 5
by Mr D S

Visit to see Rocketjam live at Whistlebinkies

Posted Dec 16, 2017 on Hotels
Booked a night in Edinburgh at short notice to allow us to watch Rocketjam live at Whistlebinkies bar in South Bridge street. Fantastic night out with an excellent new band. And found this great friendly little guest house at a great price with free parking and breakfast cooked to order. Comfortable accommodation that will ensure we will be back.