Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Malton

Great hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Lovely location on a quiet street a short walk from Princes Street. Lovely building and clean room. Helpful and friendly staff.
Cons: Maybe some of the decor could be updated but nothing major.
Location: Close to some lovely cafes and restaurants. Shopping on Princes Street is about a 10 min walk away.
Lovely period building with lots of original features. Friendly helpful staff. The room had all the facilities you would expect and was very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Good location, clean, good service, comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle ontario

nice hotel close to princess street, shopping

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: staff were great, help with directions to find restaurants etc and rooms was clean
Cons: I would only correct one thing The kettle in the room was not the normal kettle to operate this was not explained to me
Location: location was great fairly close to main attrations.
ths is a great hotel, it looks like you ae in scotland not USA, staff were polite helpful. we dropped off the luggage & when touring around edinburgh. when we returned our luggage was in our room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Good value central Edinburgh hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Helpful staff and small but functional rooms with small en-suite. Decent breakfast. Unfortunately, as it's rather an old building, the pipes clang noisily when other guests run water/flush their toilet. Overall, good value for the central location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on your stay with us. I am pleased to hear your overall stay with us was enjoyable, and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, definitely would stay again.

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel and this time was for a family emergency and we booked the day before and we were still able to get a room, even though this time we stayed in a smaller room, it was still very spacious and lovely. (But unfortunately the lighting wasn't great in the room due to one window) but it was still lovely! It's in a nice area and easy to get onto Princes Street. All of the staff are really lovely and helpful. Everything is clean and tidy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Scotland

weekend in Edinburgh October 2016

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Near Haymarket and a 10min walk to Princess Street.
We had a lovely stay made better by an upgrade to a lovely suite. Check in was very smooth and lovely reception staff. The only negative I would say is the cooked breakfast we were given, much more training needed in this department. Thanks for the full refund for this.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from turkey

It's ok

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Nice old buildings and quiet
A bit far out of town hotel nice and clean ,we were on the top floor a lot of steps to the room 75 up & 75 down Would not stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Ian at the front desk was extremely helpful Very nice view from my room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Coast NSW Australia

Looks nice until you get to the room

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Toilet didn't flush properly, shower blocked up so the next person had to wait half an hour to have a shower or the water overflowed onto the floor. Room was made up each day, didn't replace toilet paper, only left 1 towel for 2 guests. Paid over $1000 for a 4 night stay in a twin room and the second bed was a sofa bed that was like sleeping on cement. Asked for a taxi to be booked at 4.40am to go to the airport, the taxi didn't arrive so luckily my daughter was able to book Uber on the spot. Would not recommmend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review. Thank you for bringing to our attention on the 1st morning regarding your shower and toilet. I'm glad that this was sorted for the rest of your stay. I'm not too sure how you paid over $1000 for your stay, as I have since checked your reservation and the hotel only received $560 before tax. We did give yourself a complimentary upgrade prior to your arrival, to an executive twin, and the bed was checked and a brand new mattress topper was replaced, to make a comfortable sofa bed, extra comfortable. Rooms are checked each day, I can only apologise that a towel and a toilet roll was missed on a certain occasion. I believe this was sorted for you. As for your early taxi, this was booked, and I have personally checked with our online taxi system, and it tells me the job was completed, so I am very confused on how a job was completed with out you as passengers? I am saddened that you wouldn't recommend our hotel to other travellers for above reason's.
1 out of 5
by Alina from Miami, Florida

Disappointed.

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
It was disappointing. No elevator, No venting in the bathroom so it was soaked from condensation from a hot shower. They offer room service but when we called to order some food they said room service was not available. Family Room we booked was way too small for a family of 4 plus luggage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for review on your stay with us. I'm disappointed that you thought the bathroom had a lack of venting. We do recommend that guests use the 2 massive windows in the bathroom, should you find that the heat from the shower is causing the whole bathroom to be soaked in condensation. It would take a lot of heat from the shower for this to happen. I can only apologise for our room service. This is provided by an outside catering company and they were not available at this time. I do hope you were able to find the local restaurants within the area to be accommodating. We do provide wardrobe space in all rooms, for guest to unpack there belongings, should they wish to have more space around the room. I understand that it does vary in opinion how big a room is when the amount of luggage can be an issue. We do appreciate your comments, and your feedback is valued.