Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for the price.

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Staff were friendly.
Cons: Breakfast (to go) was pretty average. Bathroom was cramped and had a horrible shower.
Location: Fairly central - 1 tram stop to city centre.
Room on top floor so 4-5 flights of stairs. Bathroom was very dated and cramped. Shower was poor. Location not too bad though - 1 stop on tram to city centre. Ok for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible plumbing

Posted Jul 31, 2015
The toilets backed up twice during our stay and we were told they had problems in our room (room 1). We were not offered a new room or discounted stay. The water pressure was almost nil and you got scalding or cool showers. Also no elevator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Past it's glory days.

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Close to the city.
Cons: Conditions of the bathrooms.
Location: Good access to Edinburgh castle
Ok for a 3 star. Bathrooms are very old and hotel is probably due a major refurb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Vriendelijk personeel en fijn hotel. Dicht bij het centrum.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by neil, Hotel Management
thank you for your recent feedback
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Not much. There was no air conditioning or an elevator (lift) and our room was on the top floor 3 or 4. I had a broken foot so that was another pain,
Cons: Clean up the rooms. The whole place needs a DEEP cleaning. Know what celiac is if you are going to say you can accommodate special diets. Don't leave
Location: The location was good if you needed to go to the airport or the train station.
We were expecting something nicer. We added the continental breakfast a couple of days before we arrived and made it clear that we had special needs. I have Celiac and we were told they could accommodate special diets. The owner went out and bought a gluten-free loaf of bread and that was it! Obviously they don't know about cross contamination because we were expected to use the same toaster as the wheat bread. Long story short we NEVER got a single breakfast but paid for six which was a huge waste. On check-in we arrived late from a train ride and needed dinner on a Friday night. There was NO PLACE that the staff could recommend. We ended up walking towards a busier part of town and found a lovely restaurant that was more than happy to prepare gluten-free take out. Thank goodness we are adventurous or we would have missed that meal too. Hungry in Edinburgh .......
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by Neil , Hotel Management
Dear Roxanne, With regards to your feedback, the first morning you came down we had a toaster in the kitchen which had was separate from the ones on the buffet to stop cross contamination. I had been and order bread, glutton and wheat free porridge. there was also a cooked breakfast option. I had giving you directions to the elephant house and also recommended a glutton free bakery for you. As for paying for the breakfast Expedia offer a free continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

A charm of a hotel!!

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Location: You can easily walk to the city centre in about 15 minutes or so.
If you are looking for a beautifully appointed hotel just a bit away from the hustle and bustle of Edinburgh but within walking distance then this is the hotel for you! The hotel is located in a quiet residential area. The staff here is very friendly and extremely helpful with any and all questions you may have.. The hotel is a bit older but with great charm. The rooms were spacious. We had a room with a king sized bed that was very comfortable. There was a small bathroom complete with shower and a few shelves for you toiletries. There is a small bar located on the main floor which is a great place to sit and chat with other guests while enjoying an end of the day cocktail. Breakfast is available also but due to our plans , we weren't able to partake. This hotel and staff is a charm!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Family run traditional hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Only that its old and has plenty of character but I think it's either undermanned or it's not being maintained properly .
Cons: The standard of the room (no. 29) for a 5 star hotel was pretty standard and very disappointing.The beds need replacing and the decor improving too.
Unfortunately it wasn't as good as it's made out to be.We were put in a room at the top of the hotel 4 stories in height and it didn't have a lift.Not too much of a problem for us although we are both in our late sixties, however the standard of the room for what it cost was very disappointing Ie, the toilet, following flushing took another 10 minutes to fill up again,not good by any standards.I reported it to the manager the next day and he said it would be fixed by the evening,it wasn't so we had to put up with it again the next day.The television remote control only operated the on/off switch,nothing else,.... frustrating ! One of the twin beds had a spring projecting upwards around the centre of the mattress causing me to have to lie in an uncomfortable way each time I turned over.Not good even at a much lower level of standard !! At breakfast no one served us coffeee although other guests were attended to,also only one knife was laid per person the one used for toast and marmalade was missing !! I have stayed in hotels of 3 and even 2 stars which have been suerior to this,needless to say I won't be stopping here again and also will not be recommending it to any friends or family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC CANADA

Reasonably priced Hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Nice hotel, lots of stairs no lift. Noise does travel up the central stairwell especially at pub closing time. We were on top floor and it was loud. Safe requires key obtained from front desk. Older building do not expect todays standards. Price was right short walk to Princess Street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Neil , Hotel Management
Dear Robert, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay, pleasing to read you found the hotel to be a nice hotel, and reasonably priced. Many thanks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sylvia from Elgood

A hotel with lots of personality

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
Very welcoming enviroment with staff ready to do all they can to make your visit go well. This is in a historic building with much of it's original beauty maintained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2015
Dear Sylvia, Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us, Great to read you found the hotel had a Very welcoming environment and our staff did all they could to make your stay go well. I am also grateful to hear that you appreciated the beauty of this historic building. we look forward to welcoming you back in the future Regards Neil & the team
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2015
Dear Sylvia, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay, pleasing to read you found the hotel to be a very welcoming environment and that the staff did all they could to make the visit go well. I am glad you enjoyed the beauty and charm that this building has to offer, We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Many thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontaro

Lovely Georgian Townhouse in the heart of Edinburg

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: This Georgian Townhouse was in excellent condition. Loved the fact they kept all the original features
Cons: easier way to get luggage downstairs!
Location: Just a wee bit out of the way for me - we had to take a taxi to th castle although we could have walked to Princess St and taken a tram.
The staff were very courteous and helpful. We were situated on the top floor - a long way up for a couple of tired ladies.... However the room was worth the climb. Very comfortable Twin beds!!! Well laid out and very clean. Enjoyed the continental breakfast The manager was quite interesting as he told us about the history of this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by neil , Hotel Management
Dear A & D, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay, it is pleasing to hear that the staff were very courteous & helpful. The hotel been a Georgian townhouse is a beautiful building and it may have been a bit of a climb to the top floor but I am glad that you found it worth while. All our rooms have had new sleep easy beds installed recently which I am glad to hear you found very comfortable. The history of the hotel is a remarkable one indeed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Many thanks