Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sorry spot

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: The bathroom was new and the shower terriffic.
Dark, tired room with a fantastic modern bathroom. While polite the staff's English was poor and it was hard to get what was needed. The heat is turned off at night and the room was so cold - I did manage to get a second quilt which helped. The noise from other rooms on my last night was horrible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, UK

Not recommended

Posted Nov 18, 2016
We tried to arrive to the hotel before 10pm so we dont have to pay extra for the late check-in. The reception is awful and the place is really old. The room we had was clean and refurbished but extreemly cold. We couldnt speak to anyone as the reception close at 10pm. In the morning when we tried talking to the reception they said its on a timer and they cant change anything. I wouldnt recommend this for a couple or picky people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from EL DORADO TUNAPUNA, Trinidad und Tobago

Overview

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Decent enough to stay ,close to city center in safe neighborhood
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016
quite happy with the room ive got upstairs although there was a change in plan so didnt stay overnight as booked
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
This place was interesting and a little odd, but I went with it and I had a nice stay. - My room was in the basement, so I had a small window. No AC so I had to keep it open before the weather cooled down... which meant a few bugs. The bathroom was around the corner from the bedroom, which was a bit awkward - I had to keep my keys and lock and unlock doors every time I went. Pro: It's still a private bathroom - no sharing. The mattress was really harsh, so I hope you enjoy springs "massaging" your body all night. - The room itself was spacious and I was able to settle in quite comfortably. The staff was pleasant and pretty helpful. Location was away from the center, about 30 min walk (10 by car) but there were shops all along the way and it felt safe. I was there during the Fringe Festival (highly recommend), so rooms throughout the city were limited and I was grateful to find this place - it did have its own little charm. If you're an easygoing traveler overall, you'll be fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fernie, BC

Value for money, close to city centre

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: It was close to city centre and cheap :-)
Cons: Bigger window in basement level room, better mattress?
Location: Its Edinburgh, the best city in the world with too many things to do to describe on here :-)
Its states free parking, this was my main concern in Edinburgh, however when we got there, yes it was free but it was street parking, meaning free if you can find a space. We got one eventually but free parking to me means a carpark. Perhaps this should be described a bit more in detail on the website?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Not a good place to stay

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Expedia should at least check the facility before offering to customers. Absolutely disappointed with this.
Location: Not a great location either. Takes about 15 min to city center by Bus
Though the room had heater, it was not working even after I asked the front desk. Portion of the room was wet and the front desk told me that there was a leakage in that section of hotel. But they still allotted that wet room to me. They even charged me 16GBP for breakfast though I booked a bed & breakfast room through Expedia. Internet did not work after 9PM. Expedia should at least check the facility before offering to customers. Absolutely disappointed with this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The hotel looked shabby from the outside. Inside was similar. Our room, especially the bathroom, was not very clean. It was loud as well. The reception staff was nice. But other guests were not happy either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Handy to town

Posted Jul 30, 2016
We could walk to town centre and to the wharf. So didn't need to use the car
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Location is quite good, with walking access to city center. The hotel itself is quite old and not very well maintained. Good value for the money if you plan to stay one-two nights and spend most of the time outside, coming back literary only to have a sleep. Though might be quite noisy in the morning