Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not Perfect but Not Much to Complain About

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Overall, we enjoyed staying there. Good warm room, wi-fi, cooking facilities, location (5 minutes walk to a Tesco Express), and staff. Minor problems: Hot water goes off periodically, shower space is limited, washing machine is a little difficult to work with, and bed is not perfectly comfortable. But it's quiet and nice, and we will stay there again. We were there for one week.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Susann, Digital Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate hearing about your experience and are glad that you liked your stay with us overall. We hope to welcome you back, so we can make your stay perfect this time. Our Reception Team is on hand 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and would be delighted to help out with any requests/complaints/ or other wishes. Best wishes from the Fountain Court Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Very spacious apartment close to the castle

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Great kitchen, free parking. Only downside was the bed, they need to replace the mattress
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Susann, Digital Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked our apartments and took advantage of our parking facilities which are available at an extra charge. I will pass on your feedback regarding the bed. We hope to welcome you back soon despite this. Best wishes from the Team at Fountain Court
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England UK

Amazing stay

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: how you have your own personal keys to come and go as you please without having to go to reception all the time
Cons: later checkouts i.e like midday instead of 10.30
Location: location was excellent only a 15 min walk into town centre and also has a Tesco express a 5 min walk from the hotel
this hotel was amazing to stay at, the room was very comfortable and very well equipped and cleanliness was top notch. Also the staff here was very helpful Esp Stef who couldn't do enough for you i would personally recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay here
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Susann, Digital Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for this great review. Providing an enjoyable guest experience is at the heart of what we do and we love to hear about when we get it just right. We hope to welcome you back with us soon and do have late checkouts available at a little extra cost. Best wishes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester England

Superb accommodation

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Stayed here for Edinburgh Fringe Festival. Good location able to walk to all the shows. Superb accommodation not cheap but high quality throughout. Secure parking which cost £10 a day but compared to the rest of the city was good value. Staff very polite and attentive
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Susann, Digital Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed some of the Fringe. We hope to welcome you back with us some other time! Best wishes
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Hotel not up to the photos

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Spacious room with separate bedroom. Well outfitted kitchen with laundry - soap provided. Quiet location except for banging of doors.
Cons: Maintenance-shower curtain missing hooks so not good coverage. Bath tub is raised so quite high to step in and out for a shorter person.
Location: On a side street away from traffic noise. Fair distance to main tourist area. Some shops and restaurants close by.
Hotel room is spacious but getting run down. Maintenance is an issue. Things did get fixed when they were pointed out. Location is quite far from main tourist sights but this also makes it fairly quiet. Nice to have a fully outfitted kitchen with laundry and a drying rack as the "drying" function in the one piece washer/dryer does not really dry clothes. No air conditioning which was not a problem because it was cool while we were there.There is a Tesco nearby to get groceries and having an elevator makes it easy to move luggage to rooms. Doors banging can be an issue when the place is busy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by Susann, Digital Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Brenda, Thank you for your feedback! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the apartments overall. However, we regret to hear that they were not fully up to your expectations. Your feedback has been passed on to our Maintenance Team. Thanks again. Best wishes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Easy to find, Easy walking distance into town.

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: Staff were very helpful, benefited from late check out time, had on site parking.
Cons: Frying pan needed in apartment.
Location: Easy walking distance to town, Usher hall, grass market.
apartment in good order, very comfortable, and well equipt,
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2015 by Susann - Fountain Court Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us such a nice review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our central and comfortable apartments and look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay with us in Edinburgh. Best wishes,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Close to conference centre

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Chose these apartments because of their proximity to the international conference centre. Very close to the venue. Not a lot of great restaurants nearby unfortunately. My apartment was on the ground floor which was quite noisy with people entering and exiting the building. Staff were pleasant and easily booked taxis. Taxis always came immediately. Would recommend if you are looking for a basic place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2015 by Susann, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed the apartment’s location and would love to recommend you a range of nearby restaurants near Fountain Court Apartments if you decide to stay with us again. Best wishes, Susann Kruger, Fountain Court Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Home away from home

Posted May 10, 2015
This was our first time renting an apartment instead of a hotel room, and we loved it! Fountain Court made us feel right at home with clean, beautiful rooms and amenities. We were located in downtown Edinburgh off the canal -- quiet, but within walking distance to tons of restaurants, stores, and even Edinburgh Castle!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by Colin, Hotel Management
It is great to see that you have rated your stay as 5 star. Especially as it was your first time booking an apartment over a hotel room. We shall certainly look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best Regards, Colin Mackay, Fountain Court Team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from North East England

Perfect accommodation for families in Edinburgh

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness modernity, price.
Cons: Corridor and room doors could be quieter closing (see comments above)
Location: Short walk to city centre and castle
Apartments are very clean, very well equipped and a 15-20 minute walk to Princes Street. Very close to Haymarket Station. Only minor criticisms would be that the apt was too hot (better then draughty and cold) and the door in the corridor slammed shut every time someone used it - we were on a half-term break and not necessarily ready for an early morning wake up ! These were small matters and we'd definitely recommend the apartments and would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2015 by Colin, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review you have given to our Grove Executive Apartments. it is great to see that you had such a positive experience during your stay and we certainly look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best Regards, Colin Mackay, Fountain Court team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, UK

Lovely apartment - perfect for a weekend getaway

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Cons: The only thing I can think of is that the water in the shower could have been a bit hotter! But not a huge problem.
I stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights (Friday-Sunday) - the apartment was lovely with everything we needed for a relaxing weekend pottering around Edinburgh. The place is close enough to walk to the centre, but not so close that a cheap taxi ride isn't justified if you're feeling lazy! We ate out for most of our meals but we did cook in the apartment on the first night and everything worked fine - when we came in from a day out the next day we even noticed that our dishes had been put in the dishwasher for us, which was a nice touch. The open plan living/dining room/kitchen was a nice size and felt modern. Generally a really nice place and no complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2015 by Colin, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review you have given to our Grove Executive Apartments. It is great to see that you had such a positive experience during your stay with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best regards, Colin Mackay, Fountain Court team