Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, Arizona

Nice place

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Great location, friendly staff, private, quiet and much larger than we expected. Great find for a reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Susann, Digital Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing about your experience and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion. Best wishes from the FCA Team
4 out of 5
by Karen

Clean and comfortable apartment

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Good experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us a review and letting us know that you found our apartments comfortable and well presented. We hope to welcome you back with us soon. Best wishes from the Fountain Court Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient clean appartment, good location

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Not the original hotel I picked however it was very good, not far from original hotel, great location, good size, clean, plenty of eating and shops nearby. Only issue was it was on the 3rd floor with no lift and had there been someone in the group with mobility issue this would have been a huge issue as it was never mentioned when booking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It is great that you decided to stay with us and enjoyed your visit overall. We don't have a lift at Morrison Apartments, but this is detailed on our Expedia page as well as on our website. Apologies if that was not clear to you. With best wishes, Susann, Digital Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irl

Nice apartment

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Ebookers
The apartment was nice and clean. The only trouble was no lift or smoking area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Money making poor apartment

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very unorganised, we had to try to find the building on our own. The apartment was very, very dirty. the places seems like a big business trying to make money. No love or attention to detail. Toiletries consisted of hand wash and shampoo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We regret to hear that our apartments did not meet your expectations. We do care about our guests and would like to apologise if it didn't seem this way. We state on the Hotels.com that the check-in for our apartments is off-site. Regarding cleanliness, I have forwarded your feedback on to the Housekeeping Manager. This is not our usual standard. With best wishes, Susann, Digital Marketing Manager
2 out of 5
by Carrie from Portland, Or

lovely staff, terrible nights' sleep

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed at Morrison St. Staff is absolutely lovely, but facilities lacking. Expecting budget accommodations, but problems went beyond decor to comfort. Really shoddy construction: misfitting, creaking floor boards and cupboards, huge gaps around door, could hear a whisper from the hallway. Cleaning did not extend under, behind, or next to furniture or appliances. Broken TV (even after battery change). Mis-hung curtains let in light. Noise was biggest issue. Building built on top of underground train. So loud that windows and dishes rattled every five minutes, day and night. Staff has unusual view of clients' sleep. 1st morning, woken at 830 by housekeeper vacuuming outside of our door frame. 2d morning, woken by maintenance knocking at 900 to check water level in boiler. 3d night, taped hand made DND sign on door, then smoke detectors started chirping . Staff promptly changed batteries, but, if they had been changed on time, chirping could have been avoided. Long story short, this is not a good hotel for sleeping in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Stephen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valuable feedback and calling our staff lovely. In regards to your complaints, we have contacted you direct. Best wishes
4 out of 5
by Ying Ling

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
The apartment is nice and comfortable, but it is very inconvenient for those who travel on their own. I had a bad experience of collecting keys from the reception on Grove Street, while carrying two suitcases with me on a rainy day. No staff members will help my luggage, then I needed to go back to Morrison street and carried heavy baggage upstairs because there is no lift in the old building. It was also annoying that no one came to do the daily cleaning services in the first few days, although a concern was expressed to the reception again and again. However, things were later improved and the comfortable bed gave me good sleep at night. The daily cleaning is basic, but the apartment can be more alerted of the dusty area in the kitchen and the sofa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Stephen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you found the apartments nice and comfortable. We state on online travel agents that our our Morrison Apartments' reception is off-site and that the building has no lift. Apologies, if that was not clear. Regarding cleaning standards, we would like to apologise that they were not up to what you expected. I've passed your feedback on to our Housekeeping Manager. Best wishes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Good place to feel at home for an extended stay

Posted Apr 24, 2016
The downsides were that the dryer function on the clothes washer-"dryer" never worked; and that the wifi was terribly unreliable the whole time. But the staff was usually responsive to these and other issues. And it felt a lot more like home to stay in this apartment than in some tiny hotel room. And even having only a washer part of the washer-dryer was a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by Susann, Digital Media Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your taking the time to leave us this valuable feedback. We are glad to hear that you felt at home with us! Your comments regarding WiFi and the dryer have been passed on to our Maintenance Team. and we look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes
5 out of 5
by Andrew from London

Spacious and comfortable

Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
A very spacious, clean and comfortable apartment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Stephen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-star review. It is great to hear that you found the apartments clean, spacious and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best wishes
2 out of 5
by Mark

Never Again!!!

Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Hotels
Booked this for my daughter and was a disaster from arrival! I paid for this in advance through Hotels.com, when my daughter and friends arrived they couldn't book in because it was paid for with my card despite me giving my card to my daughter just incase! When eventually persuaded that she was my daughter they took another £130 of her own card as a deposit and parking charge. None of which was mentioned on booking. I then had to shift money into my daughters account so she had enough money for the birthday party she was attending! Raging is not the word!! They were then put in a basement room with no wifi and damp coming through the walls!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016 by Stephen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. As you booked through hotels.com, the small print for our Morrison apartments states “The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation.”, "Credit card deposit required" and “Self parking costs GBP 10 per night”. Further, all our apartments benefit from WiFi. If your daughter encountered any problems, reception would have been more than happy to help with any connectivity and log-in issues. Also, please be assured we do not have any damp problems in our apartments. Best wishes