Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Clean & Friendly

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The breakfast and the friendly staff
Location: The location was a 20 minute walk from Princess street with plenty of shops, the number 11 bus stop was right outside the from door which was ideal
Our stay at the Fraoch was brilliant, the room was very clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was excellent,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Lovely B&B in Leith district

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Friendly host, lovely rooms, great breakfast.
Cons: Nothing. Although the property's location is at least a 20 minute walk north of city center the #11 bus stops right outside.
Location: Located about halfway between the city centre Princes St./Royal Mile district and the Port of Leith/Ocean Terminal/Royal Yacht Britannia district.
Gareth is the perfect host at this clean, comfortable B&B located north of Edinburgh's city center. He is friendly, helpful and accommodating for holding luggage before and after check-in and out times. The property is in an older, historic building but rooms and bathrooms are renovated, clean, comfortable and well serviced. The best part is the amazing breakfasts that include fresh berries, croissants, homemade breads, porridge, etc. Gareth's large cooked Scottish breakfast plate with bacon, sausage and eggs is highly recommended and will pretty much keep you going until dinner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful B&B great position.

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Great position on bus route and central. Wonderful breakfast, both continental and cooked. You can have both, they are of a high quality. Clean and comfortable room and bathroom.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western MA

Loved it

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Comfortable, clean, characterful. The owner is terrific - very helpful and knowledgable about his city. Bus stop just outside the door.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Just lovely

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: The best part of this B&B was the host, Gareth, the owner, just a fantastic sense of humour.
The staff let us in early so we could drop our bags off until check in time, no hassle. The room was clean, provided everything we needed and the location was perfect with the bus almost right outside the door. While there was traffic during the day, by the time bedtime rolled around, it was peaceful enough to get a good nights sleep. And the breakfast, have to say it was the best breakfast we had compared to all the other places we stayed at, the variety was enough to please all our palettes. Will definitely be back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great experience!!

Posted May 27, 2016
Wonderful location close to city centre! Garett is fabulous and was a great help! His breakfast is nothing like you will receive anywhere else!! Would definitely recommend!! Thank you for a fantastic time!!
5 out of 5
by Qi En

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Beautiful, gracious, spacious accomodations

Posted May 17, 2016
My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Fraoch House. The room was quite spacious, bed was very comfortable with nice in-room amenities. Breakfast was bountiful with many options for all diets. House is very well located for walking to most attractions and many good local restaurants. Gareth, our host, was engaging and interested in making our stay comfortable, personal and memorable. We would highly recommend staying at the Fraoch House when visiting Edinburgh.
5 out of 5
by clare from Whitstable

A great B and B in Edinburgh

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the B and B as it was spotless, welcoming, had wonderful breakfasts etc. A lovely place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Sara from Luleå

Lovely B&B, well located & great service

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
I love staying at B&Bs when I'm in Scotland, and this is a great example. When we arrived at Fraoch House we were served tea/coffee and biscuits and were given lots of suggestions about places to visit and eat and things to do in the city. The owner, Gareth also offered to carry our bags up to our room which was very kind of him! There's a bus stop right outside where the number 11 bus goes, and a 4 minute walk will take you to Leith Walk where lots more buses go. The bus only takes about 10 minutes, so you could walk instead if you wanted to. Our room was lovely and had a bathroom with a great shower. The double bed had one duvet (very big though) we prefer to have seperate duvets and they got us that without problem when we asked. The breakfast was cooked to order and was very tasty (for example Scottish breakfast, potato waffles, porridge) with a continental buffet to choose from as well. We were very happy staying at the Fraoch House and would recommend them to anyone staying in Edinburgh.