Ratings based on 743 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Near to castle and local shops Great service. Brilliant breakfasts. On a busy street but still quiet in the room.
Cons: Bathroom needed heating. Previous stay had underfloor heating. Luxury. Not this time thou!
Location: Not far from top of the Royal Mile. Just a short walk uphill to castle. Lots of local tourist shops and places to eat on royal mile.
Staff happy and willing to help. Room ready even though we arrived early. Fantastic. Perfect situated to explore Edinburgh. Easy access to the Castle and the shops on the Royal Mile. Breakfasts .. so much choice. Short taxi ride to the Zoo. Perfect day out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minneapolis

excellent location

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: good location, very quiet, nice staff, comfortable enough
Cons: crazy missoni decoration a bit dated now, and room lights poor. maintenance staff had difficulty providing additional lighting.
Location: great location
was busy travelling, using hotel as a base. served purpose well, central location made it possible to enjoy some local night life when returning at end of day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the G&V Hotel. I am very glad that you had a great time here in Edinburgh and that our staff and location played a part in this. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the décor in your room. We hope that you will stay here again, when you are next in Edinburgh. Best wishes, Craig Nichol
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Best location walked to every place

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Beautiful city great time weather in early November just like New Hampshire
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Rita Carlene, I am so glad you enjoyed your time here in Edinburgh and that the G&V Hotel played a part in this. Best wishes Craig Nichol
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Modern hotel in a great location

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Clean, modern hotel in a great location. Small but comfortable room. Awesome bathroom. Good breakfast & great drinks in the hotel bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review of the G&V Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed our brand new cocktail bar, Epicurean. Best wishes, Craig Nichol
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Osprey, United States of America

Great Location

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Modern hotel in the heart of old on the royal mile. Staff were friendly and very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Octavia, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Tony, It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Edinburgh. I hope you will return to us soon for another visit!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very central, but rather poor for 5 star

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Great location, however the decoration and amenities of the room are quite limited. Very helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Octavia, Guest Services, Hotel Management
I am so glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel, and were helped by our staff. My apologies for any disappointment otherwise - please do feel welcome to get in touch, I would be glad of the opportunity to discuss your experience in further detail, so that we can improve going forward.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Excellent.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Quiet rooms, very clean, good quality toiletries, good beds and pillows, really nice and would return. Fantastic location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Ann Enneguess-Connor, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Patsy, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Please feel welcome to get in touch should you need any help arranging a return visit, we would love to see you again at G&V Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay area

Amazing hotel in heart of the city.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Heart of the city
Love the hotel and its aamazing staff. Welcomed with a gin cocktail, wine in our room, and special treats left in the room. WILL BE BACK SOON!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Ann Enneguess-Connor, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kathleen, Thank you for such a lovely review! I'm so thrilled to hear you will return to us - please let me know should you require any assistance in arranging this. Best regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location, great staff

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Bar under refurbishment so can't comment on that but overall very happy with stay. Eat in restaurant and Food excellent however I have to say that price for breakfast is rediculously expensive regardless of how good it was. This was the only negative I have though and had a very enjoyable short stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Ann Enneguess-Connor, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, and for your feedback on breakfast, which I will make sure to discuss with the management team. I'm so pleased you otherwise enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you will return to us in the future. Best regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Really excellent location

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: The hotel is surrounded by history and there are pubs, restaurants, museums and shopping close by.
The hotel was previously owned by Missoni and their decorating style is still evident. The staff are helpful and charming and the restaurant is excellent. Topping all the great qualities of G&V is the fabulous location by the Royal Miles, at the foot of Edinburgh Castle. There is great shopping and lots of attractions close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Ann Enneguess-Connor, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lin, Thank you for your lovely review. The location really is perfect as we are nestled amongst not only fantastic historical sights, but also many amazing bars and shops, and I am so glad you found this useful during your stay. Please feel welcome to get in touch if you would ever wish assistance in arranging a return visit.