Ratings based on 771 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Midden in het centrum

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Vriendelijk personeel. Zeer behulpzaam. Door de ligging aan uitgaanskleding wel erg veel lawaai.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego ca

Cramped room and poor wifi

Posted Jun 27, 2016
The wifi in room did not work at all. Big bed but no room for bedside table on once side. Poor amenities for bag and clothes storage. Awful decor....Disappointing stay and not worth the money.
4 out of 5
by Tor from Norway

Perfectly ok hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is perfectly all right, and has a very nice and convenient location. It's an older building which was recently refurbished (I'm guessing in the last two years or so, as I seem to remember there was a backpacker's hostel in this location before then), and it seems clear that this wase done in a hurry. For example the grout between the tiles in the bathroom has started cracking and falling out. If properly done, a tiled bathroom should look nice for at least a decade or more. Otherwise, the bathroom was nice. The room was surprisingly quiet at night, so sound insulation seems decent, although I should add that I stayed there during the week.
5 out of 5
by Agnès from Yvonand

Voilà un hôtel comme je les adore!

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Original, chaleureux, généreux, très bien situé! Agréable aussi de ne pas avoir un petit-déjeuner forfaitaire lorsqu'on aime manger des toasts et un café seulement.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex

A cool, Cozy wee find

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: I liked the decor very much, especially the Dandy comic wallpaper, the fluffy white towels were very welcome and warmed, the tea/coffee a fab idea
Cons: a hair dryer in the room would be my only improvement.
Location: perfectly placed for a walk into the town centre, picture postcard perfect for views of the castle and a hop skip jump from the royal mile
The Grassmarket Hotel is tucked in the corner, so you'd hardly notice it; but it has Tardis like proportions. it's so central and such a fabulous setting, the Grassmarket is an ancient place overlooked by the fabulous castle and one of my most favourite places (Yes, I used to live in Edinburgh) I came back for the 30 yr celebrations at ECA so this was perfect for me. The room was cozy and very clean, i loved the complimentary Tunnocks tea cakes, a nice welcome home touch. Nice hair/shower washing freebies and fluffy white towels.
4 out of 5
by dena

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Genevieve from Singapore

In for a good nights rest!

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
I was on a 2 week solo trip and I wanted to ensure that I go back home well-rested! And that was what I got!:) Grass market hotel was no disappointment! I arrived early(12:15nn) and was instantly awed by the design of the lobby/common area with nice cushioned seats & multiple sockets around!(good for using your devices) As I arrived early and the room allocated wasn't ready, the staff advised me to go walk around the Neighbourhood first and leave my luggage at reception! :)And it turned out to be a great idea where I could familiarise myself around the area.. I came back at 2pm and then proceed to check in my room! Level 1 it was and I took the lift up.Got to my room and immediately fell in love! The interesting dandy comic wall, the huge single bed, huge tv, clean toilet fully stocked with rain shower...a safe to safekeep stuff & pretty lamps...it's definitely worth the value I paid for! Book this place in advance, then Ensure you know your way there and I guarantee you will be very well rested for the activities you planned for in Edinburgh! Cos that is what happened to me. Hope this helps.:)
5 out of 5
by Michael T.

Excellent place to stay and well located in Edinburgh.

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Orbitz
Very easy to get to the National Museum and the Castle. The adjoining pub had a great menu and friendly staff. Will stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Claudia from Schweiz

Super Lage

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
Schönes älteres Hotel mit witzigem Zimmer. Super Lage. Sofort wieder.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Its quirky style.
Clean, quirky, good value accommodation. Central location.