Ratings based on 867 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Awesome hotel Great location

Posted May 11, 2017
I loved staying at this cute and quirky hotel. Walking distance to pretty much all the attractions of Edinburgh. Room was spacious and clean. Staff were super friendly and happy to give advice. Would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great hotel in perfect location

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Loved this hotel and will stay again. The room was quite small but really nice. The bed was amazingly comfortable! Top tip though - DO NOT go for breakfast. It's in the pub next door and the service was really terrible and the food wasn't great. Save your money and go elsewhere. Hotel great though
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from om

Great location - good price

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Modern furnishings, updated bathroom. Great staff.
Cons: More bedside table space.
Location: 5 -10 minute walk to main tourist sights. The castle is very close, as is the total mile. I suggest the free walking tour. It was fun and informati
I stayed in a small double room. Tiny but very clean and modern and comfortable bed. Joining a pub where I had a very nice continental breakfast each morning and dinner one night. The staff was very helpful in suggesting how to get around to the various tourist sights. I travel solo and safety is a big concern. I felt very safe at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel with character in a nice location.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
The decor in the room was charming, the beds were comfortable and everything was clean. The staff was really helpful, offering suggestions for getting the most out of time in Edinburgh. If you enjoy the Harry Potter series, you will see the inspiration for Diagon Alley as you walk to the hotel. There's such a variety of shops in the area from high-end clothing to take-out food. The contrast is fantastic. This hotel is out of the heavy tourest traffic for the most part, but only a block or two from the Royal Mile. The only down side is the hotel is over a pub so there's noise until around 11 or so. Not the best for small children maybe, it is also down hill from the Royal Mile, so be prepared for an up hill walk every morning. Edinburgh Old Town is built on a ridge, so everywhere you go is up or down though some streets are steeper than others.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Tiny rooms with no Wifi in good location

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Its location. The goodwill of the only receptionist.
Cons: The wifi service, the furniture.
Location: There are lots of restaurants, a whisky specialized shop, several shops offering Scottish quilts and stuff, a curiosities' shop, rocks and fossils etc
I had to choose this hotel because it was Easter and there were no other rooms available in Edinburgh under US$ 200. They gave me a tiny room one floor above street level. From the elevator there were too many stairs up and down to reach the room. I am 5'11"; the roof was just above my head. It was very tiny indeed. A sign on the floor invited to place my luggage under the bed. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was OK. The room's furniture was too simple and minimum for the US$ 185 I paid. The hotel wifi signal was zero, the bar-next-door's signal was almost zero, so I had to go to the reception to do my emails. I requested an early morning wake up call that came 10 minutes late. I had the receptionist call a taxi, and it charged me an excessive rate "because it had to reimburse the hotel for calling it". In short, do reserve this hotel if there is no other choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Modern hotel in lively part of Edinburgh old town

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Clean contemporary and a little quirky design exactly our sort of thing. Staff were excellent cleaners didn't beat on your door at 7am and the breakfast is served till 12. Rooms are fairly well double glazed as the grassmarket can be very lively at night due to the number of bars and restaurants in the area. If we we're being picky the floor in our room creaked quiet loudly during the night when you got up and the advertised iPod docks are the old fittings so only fit iPhones prior to the 5. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone it manages to cater for all tastes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

a must stay!

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: location!
Cons: check in can get hectic at busy times. also a lower price on the breakfast would be nice. 10 pounds is too much
Location: famers market on saturday morning right outside the hotel!
This hotel is legit! from a bluetooth enabled sound system in your room to the ideal location this place is an easy 5 star review. I would even give it 6 stars if i could!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Hotel in lively location

Posted Apr 10, 2017
We booked this hotel because on the site it said free parking and as we were driving from Norfolk we needed this .When we checked in we were told there was no parking on site and the only free parking was on the side of the road between 6.30 pm and 8.00 am so we had to park in the NCP car park a five minute walk away and costing £28 a day. The hotel did give us a discount ticket which halved the cost but it was still wrongly advertised. The hotel itself was ok but it looked a bit scruffy.The staff were friendly and helpful .Our room was on the 3rd floor right at the back the lift only went up to the 1st floor so we had to carry our cases up 4 flights of stairs and thru a maze of corridors.It was the smallest room I hav ever stayed in , the bed was a good size but it took up nearly all the room there was no room to get round it only walls and a window it would be ok as as a single room but not as a double.The room was clean but outdated the "docking station had the very wide connection so it couldn't be used and the "free bottled water " was an old glass bottle filled up from the tap which I wouldn't fancy drinking out of.Breakfast was served in the pub next door , the door was nice and the staff were friendly but the tables were sticky and it wasn't the nicest place to eat your breakfast . Overall I wouldn't go back to this hotel compared to the novatel we stayed in before and cost around the same price it was not very good even though I couldn't fault the staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice boutique hotel in fantastic location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Within walking distance to the castle and most sights in Edinburgh! Friendly and helpful staff! The room we booked was a bit small but clean, and the bathroom sink was not draining water properly. But great room facilities with complimentary chocolates and marshmallows! Very tasty.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels