Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to local sights

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Location and staff. Price was good value
Cons: No TV in rooms. There was a communal lounge. Wifi speed was slow
Location: Walking distance to station and royal mile.
Good hotel friendly staff and spacious room. Unsure re Breakfast as I missed it :). Wifi was slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Convenient Hotel close to the city centre

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: periodic features Breakfast close vicinity to the city centre good transport links to the station / tram&bus to the airport
Cons: not much
Location: 1minute walk to the Playhouse 5-6minute walk to the Waverley station 15-20minute walk to royal mile/castle 35-40minute tram ride to the airport
We were well looked after by staff. We arrived at 7.30am in Edinburgh and they kindly allowed us to check-in as soon as we arrived. Breakfast was added on day of check-in as an extra (a bit pricey £10 each) but it was filling and rich. several stairs to the room - no lift Ensuite room was clean and spacious no TV in rooms but lounge on first floor was a good alternative hotel is 1-2mins walk to the playhouse and 15-20mins walk to the castle. Pleasant neighbourhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Single Girls in Edinburghs Place of Choice

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Location: For a single woman travelling perfect to get to everywhere central at night when travelling alone. Five mins from Carlton Hill, Playhouse, Omni Centre
Fully modern decor. Bright and high ceilings. Room was spotless and perfect size for solo me. Breakfast delicious and staff froendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Location is really central ideal for seeing all the tourist spots
Cons: I would have like a tv in the room and a longer breakfast time
Location: Excellent location really central
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and v friendly ..but those stairs!

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Close to centre, lots of eating places close by. Within walking distance of bus tours, Princes St, Waverley station.
Room was nice, large and clean with good views above the treetops, however there are no lifts at this hotel and we were on the top floor which means climbing over 70 stairs! Not a major problem for us but could be an issue for other guests. Breakfast was lovely, good choice and plentiful. Owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating. Hotel within walking distance of the city centre - but note Edinburgh is very hilly, so the walk might feel longer than it is! Would use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Old but renovated hotel very clean great breakfast

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Good location and safe feeling
Location: Very close to downtown to tours, restaurants and Royal Mile
My first experience sharing a bath but luckily it worked out very well. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Very clean as well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caribbean

A lovely, comfortable stay.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Quaint, older B&B, but clean and comfortable. Full, tasty breakfast included. Staff very pleasant, and welcoming. Excellent location. Short walk to a myriad of restaurants and a 10 minute walk away from the Royal Mile and shopping. Overall great experience and would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The room was pretty spartan,kind of college-dorm style, but the dining room, lounge and public spaces were nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
•The location is good, easy to find it. •Close to Calton Hill, I woke early to look the sunup that was gorgeous and you can look around the view of Edinburgh, I walked around 10 mins to go to the top. •Homemade breakfast that was taste & the side of breakfast was big. •Bathroom is clear and shampoo is provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montana

More like a BnB.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Very nice staff. Fixed a breakfast tray for our early departure, arranged a taxi, panicked when it didn't arrive on time and got right on the phone and got them there! Could be Hot in the summer - no ac. Did find us a fan for the warm day in Sept. Pretty location and easily walkable unless you don't do uphill well ( to get up to Old town) but is close.