Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Character Hotel close to Edinburgh

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Warm and friendly welcome it was like visiting family!
Location: Edinburgh is about 12 miles away so a short drive but there is a station close by which is inexpensive and gets you into the city quite regularly.
We stayed for two nights during the Festival and Tattoo. Wonderful old house set in beautifully manicured gardens. The owner was very friendly and helpful and gave us a key to come and go as we pleased. We arrived home late on the first night to find the curtains drawn and light on for us in the bedroom. Breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent coffee! Our bedroom was very spacious and en-suite with the bathroom opposite the room. The bed and pillows were so comfy, we slept really well on both nights. We both agreed that this felt like a visit to a relative as we felt very welcome and at home. For those requiring dust free and sterile hotels, this wouldn't be for you but we loved the place and would certainly stay again and recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming guest house, close to rail links.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh in this charming guest house. Jill was lovely and very knowledgeable of local area and places to visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint b n b

Posted Jul 31, 2016
We enjoyed our time there. Rooms needed vacuuming and my wife and I got a few flea bites but nothing serious. Overall we enjoyed our stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

place in the sticks

Posted Jul 25, 2016
You need to hire a car, you can get a takeaway but there are rules, not accommodating, inhospitable, unhygienic place to stay in a manse not a hotel. Due to experience on arrival I was offered a cup of tea, but it had no hot water in the teapot, plus I heard the owner hoovering the one room to get it ready upstairs,also the place smells very old. Basically what you see on the internet Isnt as expected. I decided to move location. I recommend the travelodge in Livingston as you have everything there. The travelodge is in walking distance to the Livingston outlet centre and there is plenty to do e.g five sisters zoo and easy access of transport to Edinburgh. The high field house is remote and the owners didn't give any advise on anything. If you have any allergies e.g dust mites, pollen etc... Do not stay at this manse as I suffered with my allergies. Thank you for reading my review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Great atmosphere

Posted Jul 15, 2016
It was a rewarding experience to stay at such a historic place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina, usa

Unexpected delight

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Great, quiet setting made better because of proximity to Kirknewton train station. Inexpensive commute to Edinburgh was a bonus. Owner was cordial and provided delicious breakfast! Grounds were beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Coventry

Not too far from the airport...

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Not too far from the airport... but far enough so you don't get jet engines roaring in your ears. A lovely old mansion with a great feel to it. Lovely place and a really helpful landlady. Simple and really tasty breakfast.
5 out of 5
by David from Glendale, CA

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Very convenient to Edinburgh airport, and also a short walk to train station with direct access to Waverley station.
4 out of 5
by Donald from Highland

Great glimpse of bygone. Enjoy before it goes.

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
This place is a very interesting B & B, with great gardens. The owners are very accommodating for a B & B. If you like modern "same everywhere" accommodation like Premier Inns etc, don't stay here. But if you prefer the more interesting, different, slightly eccentric, but pleasant experience, and you are not too intolerant yourself, then this is an absolute gem. We would stay again.