Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming guest house, close to rail links.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh in this charming guest house. Jill was lovely and very knowledgeable of local area and places to visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint b n b

Posted Jul 31, 2016
We enjoyed our time there. Rooms needed vacuuming and my wife and I got a few flea bites but nothing serious. Overall we enjoyed our stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

place in the sticks

Posted Jul 25, 2016
You need to hire a car, you can get a takeaway but there are rules, not accommodating, inhospitable, unhygienic place to stay in a manse not a hotel. Due to experience on arrival I was offered a cup of tea, but it had no hot water in the teapot, plus I heard the owner hoovering the one room to get it ready upstairs,also the place smells very old. Basically what you see on the internet Isnt as expected. I decided to move location. I recommend the travelodge in Livingston as you have everything there. The travelodge is in walking distance to the Livingston outlet centre and there is plenty to do e.g five sisters zoo and easy access of transport to Edinburgh. The high field house is remote and the owners didn't give any advise on anything. If you have any allergies e.g dust mites, pollen etc... Do not stay at this manse as I suffered with my allergies. Thank you for reading my review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

Great atmosphere

Posted Jul 15, 2016
It was a rewarding experience to stay at such a historic place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Neuruppin

Ein Haus mit Seele.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Die Einrichtung.
Cons: Nein.
Location: 20 km bis Edinburg, ca. 50 bis Glasgow. Bus- und Bahnanbindung sind sehr gut.
Man fühlt sich wie in eine andere Zeit versetzt. (wäre da nicht der Fernseher) Es ist alles echt. Die Gemälde der Ahnen im Frühstücksraum, das Mobiliar, das Tafelsilber... Sicher, so ein altes Haus hat auch schon einige "Gebrauchsspuren". Aber die haben wir gern in Kauf genommen. Kirknewton liegt an der Bahnstrecke zwischen Edinburgh und Glasgow. Es sind knapp 200 m bis zum Bahnhof, aber den Zug hört man nicht. Er fährt stündlich und kostet 4,40 GBP, bis Edinburgh Waverly (Zentrum) Stand Juli 2016. Es gibt auch eine Buslinie (28). Der Bus fährt keine 100 m vom Highfield-Haus entfernt ab. 3,30 GBP, bis mitten ins Herz Edinburghs (Regent Road). Besser geht es nicht.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north carolina, usa

Unexpected delight

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Great, quiet setting made better because of proximity to Kirknewton train station. Inexpensive commute to Edinburgh was a bonus. Owner was cordial and provided delicious breakfast! Grounds were beautiful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coventry

Not too far from the airport...

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Not too far from the airport... but far enough so you don't get jet engines roaring in your ears. A lovely old mansion with a great feel to it. Lovely place and a really helpful landlady. Simple and really tasty breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best stay yet!!

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely thrilled with the decision to stay here. Jill was so friendly and helpful even before our trip. She assisted with planning transportation and even allowed us to check in early. Would love to stay here again and again
5 out of 5
by Tracey from valley

very comfortable

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Relaxing and comfortable lovely place and people
5 out of 5
by peter from London

Best B&B ever!

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great personal service, very helpful and friendly. Knew the local area really well. I travel a lot with my work, Highfield House by far was the best stay I have had away. Just what you want from a small Hotel/B&B. The food was Great good choice, Fresh hot cooked, cold cereal and yogurt. and the service was pleasure. Would love to go again soon.