Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newacstle UK

newly refurbished, central location

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Beautiful hotel with great finish and new carpet smell everywhere. Room spotlessly clean. I was given a room with disabled access bathroom which I did not need and so would have preferred a bath but for those who required such facilities I could only imagine they would be extremely happy as there had been no compromise in the luxurious styling in order to accomodate the necessary functionality. My only criticism : I would have liked a bathrobe. I didn't request a change of room or a bathrobe so it's entirely possible these requests would have been catered for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pakistan

Perfect location in the heart of Edinburgh

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Staff were the difference between a disappointing stay, and getting through.beas surprised to learn on arrival there was no fridge or bathrobes provided in the room. As a regular traveller a first for me, just assumed these come as a matter of course.????? Same day laundry service has taken six days. No cups in room to make tea, then no milk. Had to ask for a breakfast card each day to order breakfast as one was not provided in the room. Six days in a row, wow no lessons learnt here and obviously no quality control when it comes to room cleaning staff. Initially we were ignored at reception on arrival and finally looked after by the concierge. When we made it to the room, the in room safe was locked, but again the concierge came through. All these little things rankled and spoilt what could have been a great visit. Would recommend the hotel based on location. Perfect for tourists. Obviously everyone doesn't encounter the issues we did. Hope to see out laundry once it's delivered by courier at our next stopover. Breakfast and other meals were really impressive, so we'll done, I take my hat off to the kitchen staff. The concierge and all the staff were friendly and always smiling, and worked through issues most professionally. That didn't mean everything was resolved. Lovely hotel and outstanding staff, just a 'faulty towers' experience on this stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham

Very clean and comfortable

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Clean and smart, better quality and recently decorated which gives the edge to this hotel to others we have stayed in at Edinburgh.
Cons: Better information in the room books explaining the breakfast menu details.
Location: Christmas market, Street of Light, Princes St shopping, free museums, camera obscura, Edinburgh Dungeons.
We were able to check in much earlier having arrived by train. Asked if they would keep our luggage until 3 pm check in but was allowed the room at 11am. Booking through 3rd party was possibly a reason we were miles along the corridors but the room was lovely and clean with extra facilities such as lighting in the wardrobe, safe in the wardrobe, a fridge in the room (so we bought fresh milk for our tea and coffee). Nice view out across street. Easily accessible for all main city activities- the old town and a couple of minutes walk to Princes St in the new town. It takes the staff a while to get round with the housekeeping and we had to go and ask for extra towels- the hotel is huge with a lot of rooms and long corridors. Can change the room temperature too. Can't comment on meals or breakfast - did not use these facilities choosing to go elsewhere with the choice and Christmas market availability.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great but some faults

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Hotel and stay was amazing staff were so friendly and helpful, facilities were great, room was spotless and location was amazing. One or two things let it down, when we went to check in at 3 pm we were told our room wasn't ready were told it would be about 30 mins, the original plan for us was to go freshen up before we explored but because we were only there for one night I didn't want to waste time - so ended up checking in at half past 5 after a bit of adventuring. That was a bit disappointing and I would've expected more. We were also told that breakfast was served until 11am, the next morning we went down at 10.15 to be told breakfast stopped being served 15 minutes ago, again very disappointing. It was semi-rectified as we were given bacon rolls and croissants but £24 for a bacon roll, croissant and a muffin is outrageous. Overall was a good stay, just a shame incompetence of some staff let it down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Hotel near to station with spacious room

Posted Dec 20, 2016
This is the second time we checked into the hotel and were offered a room facing the front of the hotel. It offered a good view but was a little noisier than the previous room that faced the side. Nevertheless it is still alright as it is near to the waverley station. Room was spacious even with two double beds, ideal for families of four. The fitness center was spacious enough for my girl to do her dance and exercises. All the lifts and doors to stairs need to be a accessed via the room access card. This provided good security against unauthorized entries from outsiders
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

THE place to stay in Edinburgh

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Almost everything. It suits my needs just fine.
Cons: Can't think of anything this time!
Location: The location , for me , is the BIG plus. So near to the very heart of the city. And the views from my room of Arthur's Seat was just the capstone of a
As on every other occasion my stay att this hotel was an oasis of calm, care and attention to detail. From the staff at reception to the restaurant staff and all in between I honestly couldn't have asked for more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Meeting expectations of a Hilton hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016, couple on leisure trip. The hotel basically meets expectations of an international brand hotel. Room is not considered spacious, just nice for a couple with 2 luggages. Pillow was too soft to our liking and there wasn't a fridge. Slippers were not provided even upon request, something that we thought should be provided for. Amenities provided were decent. Shower area is not fully enclosed, hence causing the toilet floor to be rather wet after bathing. Breakfast quality meets restaurant standard. Location of the hotel is quite ideal as it is near both the old town and new town. We had to walk upslope for some distance even though the hotel is near Waverley train staion as the hotel is on higher grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016
A lovely clean, comfortable and welcoming hotel. Family room was very spacious. We will definately stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Lovely hotel close tot he city centre

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: the proximity to the city centre and the style/décor.
Location: The location is fairly central and the main shopping area and Princes Street is only a few minutes walk away.
we had a lovely room but the view wasn't great and also the bathroom wasn't right for us, the sink was too small. We mentioned this to reception who arranged to have us moved into another room for our 2nd night, when there would be more availability. They moved everything over for us as we went out for the day, and we were more than happy with the new room we were given. Thee service we received from the staff was great, they are all friendly, helpful and professional. Would stay again at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Nicely refurbished high quality, central hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Location, quality feel, size of room, newly refurbished.
Cons: The breakfast buffet was not as good as some I have experienced but thats not to say it was bad.
Location: Middle of Royal Mile. Everything possible is close. We walked up Arthurs Seat - thoroughly recommended - like being out in the middle of nowhere.
Had a great family stay. The man running the bar/coffee in the lounge (from Hungary I think) was one of the nicest most helpful people we have ever met in a hotel and served beautiful coffee made with a very high end machine. The hotel has all been refurbished in a modern but classy style but the building is a grand looking stone building. Location perfect in the middle of the Royal Mile. There was a mixup in our room request for two beds rather than one but I think that was Expedia's fault, not the hotel (the manager showed me what came through on her screen). What was outstanding though was the managers response - they sent us a lovely chilled bottle of wine to our room afterwards and gave us free breakfast vouchers. They even offered to pay for a taxi to the restaurant we were going to that evening. Highly recommended and we got a good price too!