Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was very great stay in the hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Our stay in the hotel is fabulous. Staff are very accomodating and nice. The room is clean and cozy, toilet room is sparkling clean with enough towels. And the bed, it is most comfortable bed ive ever experienced. Breakfast is so delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakeside, AZ

Great close to Waverly

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Close walk to other restaurants And old town, near Waverly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Jordan Inglis - Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valerie, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad you have had such a pleasant stay with us and that you could take advantage of our ideal city centre location. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Jordan Inglis Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend Break

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Fix flooring
Location: Edinburgh Castle, Grass Market area and Princes Street shopping..
All staff encountered were very friendly, from the cleaners to waiting staff! The room was clean as was the hotel in general. My only complaint was the flooring in our room, this squeaked no matter where you walked....? Nonetheless I would go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Jordan Inglis - Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We strive to provide first class service and memorable experiences so I am glad to see we have looked after you on this occasion. I hope we will have the same pleasure in the future. Warm regards, Jordan Inglis Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, terrible room

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Beautiful hotel with amazing stuff and in a great location. But unfortunately the room was not what we expected for the price we payed! The room was on the smaller side with a view out the window of a not very present roof top.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Jordan Inglis - Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear ry&ki, Thank you for your review. I am happy to see that you were satisfied with the hotel overall and our ideal city centre location but also disheartened to see you were not fully happy with your room allocation. Due to the age of our building we do have varying shapes and sizes of guest rooms so I can only presume due to availability you were allocated one of the rooms on the smaller side (though still comparable for Edinburgh hotels). We would be delighted to see you back and would try out best to allocate a more spacious room for you. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GOOD HOTEL , NEAR STATION ,

Posted Mar 13, 2017
ONLY STAYED ONE NIGHT , EXCELLENT ROOM , COMFY BED .
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Jordan Inglis - Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We strive to provide first class service and memorable experiences so I am glad to see we have looked after you on this occasion. I hope we will have the same pleasure in the future. Warm regards, Jordan Inglis Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Stayed twice in 10 days Would return without hesitation
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Jordan Inglis - Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us and for your on-going loyalty. We strive to provide first class service and memorable experiences so I am glad to see we have looked after you on both occasions. I hope we will have the same pleasure in the future. Warm regards, Jordan Inglis Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Great location

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Location, staff friendly, I was able to leave my case whilst I went shopping.
Cons: Room temperature as it was a bit chilly. If I was staying more than one night I probably would have reported it.
Location: It is very close to shops the Royal Mile, restaurants, bars and Waverley train station.
I had stayed in the hotel before when it was the Carlton. It has been nicely updated to a more modern feel. The hotel was very clean, staff very friendly.The downside was the room was a bit chilly the heating didn't seem to be working in our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Jordan Inglis - Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mandy, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We strive to provide first class service and memorable experiences so I am glad to see we have looked after you on this occasion. Our rooms are now fully air-conditioned and I am sure the team would have been only too happy to assist you if they knew your room was too cold. I hope we will have the same pleasure in the future. Warm regards, Jordan Inglis Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!!!

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Wonderful stay!! Clean, quite and comfortable!! Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Jordan Inglis - Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We strive to provide first class service and memorable experiences so I am glad to see we have looked after you on this occasion. I hope we will have the same pleasure in the future. Warm regards, Jordan Inglis Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Centrally located in old city

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location and lounge
Cons: Staff's willingness to address complaint
Location: Located in the old city, so easy access to castle, museums and restaurants/bars. Close to main railway station
The room has a wearing sound like from a engine/generator. Was offered alternative room, which was a downgrade in terms of lay-out, so chose to stay. Staff showed little interest in following up further / offering alternative. Lounge was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a nice hotel, the shower was a bit annoying

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: How close it was to everything
Location: Right beside the Royal Mile, everything is in walking distance
It would have been better if the shower was not for disabled people as it drained slow and got the whole washroom floor wet. Overall a good hotel to stay in, extremely close to everything.