Ratings based on 729 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Close hotel for the rugby

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The room was really comfortable.
Cons: It couldn't cope with the amount of people staying for the rugby.
Location: Rugby at Murrayfield and the zoo.
Really disappointed with the service. The hotel was busy because of the rugby but we waited for ages to check in with only one person at the desk. We then tried to eat at the cafe/bistro but couldn't because there wasn't a table so we went to the restaurant instead. The food on offer was a fixed price buffet meal which was very disappointing and overpriced. Breakfast was really poor too. We had to wait for ages to get a cooked meal and only had one buffet breakfast bar open which was not nearly enough given the amount of people staying. I would stay again, but eat elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and great location

Posted Mar 23, 2017
This hotel is very clean and comfortable and in a great location on multiple bus routes that take you into central Edinburgh in 10 min and to the airport in 15.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

the hotel is near the zoo

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: none
Cons: don't know
Location: manageable
I remained disappointing and my family as well. the service is not ok ,however as a 4 star hotel should be innovated and the room carpet is stain everywhere..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Exelent staff and food
Cons: Sofa could do with being replaced springs sticking through when made into bed.
Location: Zoo next door and a couple of places to eat but bus just outside the door to the city centre.
Great hotel for the money good location. Staff very good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel on a hill

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: improvements on the above
Location: On the plus side it is no the main bus route to airport and close to tourist locations etc
at lot of stairs up to reception no lift or ramp for anyone with walking difficulties, the room was very small with too much furniture in such a small place. breakfast quite expensive at £15.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gateshead Uk

Close to main Princes street £10 each way in taxi

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Reception bar etc lovely room cramped and dated needs revamped expensive to eat there
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017
staff were really helpful and attentive but room was poorly lit even with all lights on - we came to attend parties and found it hard to get ready with such poor lighting iron was not working and had to be replaced breakfast was good in that they had gluten free bread and cereal, but the hot breakfast did not cater for a vegetarian egg free diet - the beans were in the same hotpot as the eggs, and there was no cheese on the 2 days we were there, and the apples were not fresh...breakfast was disappointing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Good location but could do with a refresh!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Decided to stay at this Holiday Inn for its location (next to the zoo). On our first night, after driving 7hours, we ordered room service which arrived cold. Very disappointing but we were too tired and hungry to complain. Our second night we ordered away from the hotel. The room was clean but looked tired could do with a refresh, especially the bathroom. Had noisy neighbours too so I guess the walls aren't very thick!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry

nice hotel close to zoo

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: ticked all the boxes for our requirments
Cons: none
Location: ideal for transport and zoo
quiet room. excellent breakfast extensive choice excellent quality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Lake Tahoe

Great Hotel close to transportation

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Very nice hotel located on bus lines to city. About 10 minutes of bus travel to Princess Street and a few minutes more to rail station. U.S style rooms with lots of space but a very small bathroom. Restaurant/ bar on premises. We enjoyed breakfast but were out and about for other meals. Zoo is right next door.