Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Lovely hotel a bit old and creeky but clean with pleasant staff. The breakfast is good and plenty of it. Great location for theatre, shops, bars and places to eat. This hotel is at the rndvof the tram line also handy for buses and taxis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ayrshire ,

Central shops theatre restaurants

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Ideal place to stay close to playhouse theatre shops and 5/10 minute walk to bus station plenty restaurants near by
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful.
The hotel had good transport links nearby - close to bus stops and tram stop. It was within walking distance of numerous restaurants and close to the city centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Banchory ABERDEENSHIRE

Nice hotel perfect for the playhouse

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: So near centre of Edinburgh
Stayed 1 night was very comfortable and had a good breakfast the next morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Kilbride

Great location for playhouse

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Room clean if a bit dated. Bed very comfy and staff helpful. Breakfast included was great. Lots of choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to theatre

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: the hotel is within walking distance for the main attractions and shops
Cons: did not see any problems
Location: location great for the theatre, and shopping ,bus station,and train station,walking distance for pubs,restaurants,and nightclubs
we were going to the playhouse theatre and it was so convenient just over the road the staff were so helpful and pleasantand the breakfast was really tasty could not complain about anything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good breakfast!

Posted Dec 30, 2016
This hotel was just what we needed. Easy to walk to food and sights, (small) parking lot, and breakfast that included plenty of gluten free options. We had 1 bed and a fold out couch for three people and the room was a tight fit when the couch was folded out, but otherwise great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gourock, Scotland

Excellent location for the Playhouse

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Managed to get a parking space in the hotel car park, £13.50 per night, tram stop just outside the hotel. Could not be any closer to the Playhouse. Friendly staff, clean,spacious and comfortable room. Breakfast was busy but we managed to get a table and we're happy with the various choices. Will return thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was close to the theatre, stations and shops.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: where it is situated and the friendliness of the staff
Cons: We had a room for three adults. We would have preferred three proper single beds.
Location: the location was great close to the theatre, bus and railway station and shops and pubs and eating places
It was enjoyable friendly and quiet. The breakfast was good and kept fill up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
The only thing I did not like about this hotel is the constant collection of smokers at the entrance and having no choice but to walk through smoke. My fourth stay as overall excellent but my fourth complaint about smoking.