Ratings based on 901 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lack of water pressure in bathroom and kitchen

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Hot and cold water pressure in the bathroom basins, bath and one of the toilets was so low that it took 15 minutes for the toilet cistern to refill after a flush and about the same time to run a bath The kitchen hot tap also had no pressure. When this was initially reported to the staff, they apologised and said this was not unusual since plumbing renovations had been carried out. As we were leaving, we complained again and a more senior member of staff told us that this was due to the failure of a pump and that she would arrange get it fixed; A pity the other members of staff were not aware of the pump. Apart from this, the hotel is ok and very central. We have used it before, and would use it again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location!

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: great location!
Location: 2 minute walk to the Royal Mile, at the end near the palace. Lots of shops/pubs/restaurants within a short walk. Hop on Hop off buses very convenient
Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of June, couldnt ask for a better location! Rooms clean, not very spacious but OK if you don't plan on spending a lot of time in them. Washer/Dryer machine convenient. Small grocery store near by to stock up on some basics if you want, coffee, etc. Make sure you reserve a parking spot ahead of time, we didn't and had to go 2 or 3 blocks away to park.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pleased and would definitely recommend

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Great location. Clean, comfortable and spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from shropshire

Excellent facilities in an excellent location

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Central location, very spacious appartment , extremely comfortable and well equipped
Cons: Our dishwasher wasn't working but other than that everything was perfect
Location: Location couldn't be better, everything in walking distance and yet quiet location. Even had Tesco express not hectored for those self catering.
If you are looking from a high quality apartment very very close to all the main attractions of historical Edinburgh and yet quiet, this is ideal. Situated just off the Royal Mile , close to Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament and Arthur's Seat. Extremely well equipped and car parking available if pre booked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from O

Great location but tired accommodation. Not 4*

Posted Jun 15, 2016
The location of this hotel is spot on. Minutes from lots of old town attractions and sites. It's perfect for families who don't all want to be in one room together when away. However, the accommodation is far from 4*. Our apartment was badly run down and in need of a bit of love. Holes in the wall, dirty, threadbare carpet, towel rail broken from wall in shower room, faulty window latches etc. The shower enclosure is also tiny, not enough room to lift elbows to wash hair (barely!). If it was rated as a 2-3* you would probably be happy enough with the standard but overall we left feeling a bit ripped off. There's another new aparthotel being built very close by so hopefully the increased competition might make the owners of this place to spend some money on bringing it back up to 4* standard. I thought that it was very telling that on checkout they didn't ask how our stay had been. Perhaps they're too used to people complaining at that stage! I should also mention the noise - we were awoken really early on the first morning by the refuse collection at around 6am. The Windows allow a lot of outside noise in, even when shut.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Excellent Apartment

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Only complaints: shower had a little mold in one of the corners and the hotel computer was locked up ( but the staff printed our docs for us). Otherwise, great facility, great staff, great location!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Unlucky Stay, but overall a good one

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: /
Cons: /
Location: abt 10 mins walk from the Centre
We got problems on the room, where on the first night there is a false alarm of the smoke detector, and we were informed that the hot water device was out of order when we returned to the hotel the second day, and has to switch the room. Overall the things in the room are great, and you got plenty of kitchen utensils in the kitchen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mechanicsville, VA, USA

Great location for touring Edinburgh

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: The location is fantastic. The kitchen is equipped with coffee, tea, sugar, fresh milk, & all needed soaps. There's a washer dryer combo in the unit.
Cons: The beds are hard and the pillows are a joke. Even using 2 pillows together won't raise your head much.
Location: Walk on the main street from your unit to several shops and restaurants available all the way up to the Edinburgh Castle. Do the free walking tour too
My family stayed here 3 nights as we toured around Edinburgh. I had no idea how convenient this apartment would be for my husband and two adult daughters. I wish we had booked longer for more time here. There is so much to see, do and experience in this town. We also did a tour of the West Highlands for a day. I did speak to the staff about the bedding configuration advertised at Holyrood Aparthotel. They call their beds queens, and they're really double beds. Just so you know if you book here what size beds you're getting. Otherwise, the accommodations are excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Hotel is centrally located

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: The efficiency of the staff and location.
Cons: The flooring in the living room squeaks whenever one walks around. Perhaps replace the flooring.
Location: The train station is 15 minutes walk away from the hotel and the bus stop less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Short distance to the Royal Mile.
We had a two bedroom suite fully equipment with kitchen facilities. The suite was very clean and quiet. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to the train station and other attractions. The staff were very efficient and helpful. Our rooms were cleaned daily. We highly recommend the Holyrood Aparthotel to anyone and will definitely stay at this place again whenever we are in Edinburgh.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great location

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Super location to the Royal Mile. Efficient check in, taking minutes. Our room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet. Our only complaints are that there was a peculiar strong smell in the hallway which might have been from new carpets. This smell came into our room a bit so the first minutes in the room were unpleasant. Also, there were no instructions on how to work the washing machine which was very frustrating as sometimes we washed our clothes twice or they were wet. We aren't familiar with the type of machine that is a combined washer/dryer. We asked at the front desk but we were not successful in getting an answer from the staff. Overall, a very good place to stay.