Ratings based on 429 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane

close to city,

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Everything
Great staff, breakfast and room. Close to the city, short bus ride or walk, but away from the hustle and bustle of the city tourist areas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too much road noise

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Poor location too much Street noise. Had to keep windows open no air conditioning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hellertown, Pa

A bit out of the way but well worth it

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: The service and staff was great.
Cons: Air conditioning in the rooms (i.e. window units in the hotter months).
Location: A bit out of the way but still a quick ride to everything and the bus stop is right around the corner.
Ceilidh-Donia is a great place to stay. The owners are so nice and friendly. The morning breakfast is very good. My wife and I stayed there for three nights. The room was comfortable although it does not have air conditioning which could be an issue during the hotter months. It is a bit out of the way but a quick uber ride to the main part of the city. It's even walkable (about 30 minutes) if you like a little exercise. All in all a great experience. I would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness

Near Queens hall & Commonwealth pool

Posted May 6, 2017
After a warm welcome we enjoyed a beautiful room with every convenience'breakfast was a very lovely experience with wide choice !! We are delighted to have found such a beautiful place. Thanks xx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saskatchewan, Canada

All the amenities you need plus full breakfast

Posted May 4, 2017
Awesome owners provide lots of info in advance about buses etc. The owners greet you on arrival and serve you breakfast. Very personable! Room had a great view of Arthur's seat. Close walking distance to take that hike. Bus connections to main attractions within a couple blocks. Would definitely recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy, pleasant, friendly hotel at great price

Posted May 3, 2017
I was staying for a two day course in Edinburgh University and needed a quiet place to stay in walking distance of the centre. With the cheap price of the room I was delighted at how nice the B&B was. It was pleasantly laid out both in the public areas and the little room I was staying in which was cozy, clean and neat. The bathroom was spotless with lovely toiletries. The bar area downstairs and the restaurant is pleasant and friendly, with lots of choice on the menu. The staff are welcoming and helpful and the environment is peaceful and relaxed. I would really recommend staying here instead of one of the chain hotels in the centre, as it has much more character and gives you a better experience of staying in Edinburgh. It also neighbours the beautiful Holyrood park which I walked through to get to the Uni each day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Friendly base

Posted May 2, 2017
The staff are very friendly and the room clean. The breakfast was amazing and set us up for the day. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Andreea-Cristina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Excellent

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Everything .
Cons: Nothing comes to mind .
Location: Location good nice walk into Edinburgh City Centre if you like walking .
Warm Welcome lovely room with view very clean excellent breakfast . would defo go back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendliest staff ever!!!!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
We've traveled the world, and the staff here was by far the friendliest we've ever encountered. They were helpful in helping us find places to eat, ordering delivery, parking our cars, and navigating Edinburgh. They were always happy, positive, and helpful. Our only complaint was that the AC wasn't on and it got warm and stuffy at night. We had to sleep with our windows open. Other than that, it was a perfect stay!