Ratings based on 1,226 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Good hotel in central Edinburgh

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location. Close to everything in Edinburgh. Museums, castle, Royal Mile, tour company, pubs. Almost everything in walking distance.
Cons: Nothing. Loved the hotel.
Location: EVERYTHING is close by
Fabulous hotel close to everything in Edinburgh. Across street from Waverly Train Station but still quiet. Original standard room required going up 1 flight of stairs. When I had trouble with that, they gave us a complimentary upgrade to a suite no stairs involved. Absolutely wonderful room. Staff was wonderful giving advice, directions, etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location in the middle of Princes Street

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location.
Cons: Paints are coming off in the corridors, need higher water pressure for shower.
Location: Right in the middle of city centre. There are shops and restaurants nearby. Train station is within 2 mins walk.
Overall, the stay was pleasant. Staffs were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and the bed was super comfy. The bad things included the weak water pressure from the shower and the ventilation in the bathroom can be a bit better. Also, the bathroom door made a squeeky sound and position of the spot lights inside the room seemed random. For example, there are two lights quite close together around one corner but no lights on the cupboard where the kettle is located, making it really hard to see where the black kettle is at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reading

Central location

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Quiet and central comfortable stay. Great breakfast and excellent service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for money, fantastic location

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
business stay , great staff extremely helpfull.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Charming literary theme throughout the hotel. Location was fantastic. Rooms are well furnished and love the Aveda products for the bathroom.
Cons: Fix room listings on hotel so they are accurate for bed types available.
My friend & I booked a two twin-bed room but on arrival we got a single european king bed room. When we asked at the front desk, we were told the hotel doesn't have any two-bed rooms. Confused, I checked the hotel listing on my phone and showed her the room type we booked that said one or two twin-bed room option. She was a bit baffled as they don't have any in the hotel so wasn't sure why they would list something they don't have. They didn't really have any other room option for us, so we were stuck with sharing a one bed room for our couple night stay. She arranged an extra duvet, comp'd us breakfast during our stay, and arranged a couple free drinks in the bar. Other than that, the room was lovely with lots of complimentary snacks with the tea/coffee in the room and the bed was comfy. We did have an issue with one of the bedside lights not turning off but managed to MacGyver it with a bit of paper so it wouldn't be on all night. We used the cups for tea & coffee our first morning but housekeeping didn't clean or replace them when they cleaned the room. Breakfast was pleasant with a variety of options. When we had our drinks in the bar, the bar staff were a bit too busy arranging their social lives to care about service.
4 out of 5
by Susan

Really good food, breakfast was excellent

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was a little noisy due to works on the new shopping centre, not sure why they were working so late? Our room was at the back of the hotel so was quite dark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife

Central hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: I liked the locality, decoration and helpful staff
Location: Princes Street shops, Edinburgh Castle, Museums and Scott's Monument all on your doorstep.
Great location next to plenty attractions. Medium size room nicely decorated with a huge comfortable king size bed. Bathroom was modern with a walk in shower and plenty products. Complimentary tea, coffee and snacks was a lovely touch.
4 out of 5
by Bruce

Centrally located with a good breakfast

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
I really like this hotel with its grand dining room and big staircase. As it has been recently refurbished all of the rooms are nicely finished, although the room I stayed in this time was the smallest but sufficient for one person.
3 out of 5
by Nerida

Good location, very noisy neighbourhood.

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
They had no record that I had prepaid my accommodation. Lucky I kept the evidence and the emails. The room was nice but there was a lot of noise from outside and garbage trucks came through just before 6:00am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Great hotel, nicely updated, centrally located, great restaurant and bar. Best to go to the restaurant - much better than room service.