Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
we decided on a day in Edinburgh although we only stay an hour away we had a day out child free. We visited The Dungeons then to the pub to watch the rugby and a few drinks this b&b is great as its only a 10 minute walk from George st so no need to worry about getting taxis
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick, but good.

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Orbitz
It was great, shower room was a bit cramped, but it works
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Greg , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice reviews. Hope you will come back at stay with us in the near future. Kind regards, Greg Fernandez
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly and Clean B&B short stay

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
I was staying due to business and the location and accessibility of the B&B was exactly what I was looking for! I would definitely stay again and would recommend to a friend or colleague.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind reviews. We hope to see you again and stay with us. Kind regards, Greg
4 out of 5
by Kwong Chi from Hong Kong

Great

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel owner is very helpful and nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kwong Chi, Thank you for your nice review about the Lyncliff B&B. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind regards, Greg Fernandez Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The owner cares

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walking distance to Princes St and across the road from Calton hill.
This is not a fancy place but it is meticulous and the owner cares a lot about maintaining his hotel. Beds were comfortable. A sink in the room. Excellent and very generous breakfast. Great and safe location beside Calton Hill.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Greg Fernandez / Manager / Host, Hotel Management
Yes this is not a fancy place. But a place with a heart and cares about the service. Although it shared facilities but we are keen about the cleanliness of the Lyncliff Hotel B&B. Very good location, cooked breakfast, free wifi, walking distance to almost Edinburgh City has to offer. Experienced host. Friendly service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcatle

Overnight stay rugby international weekend

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Ensuites Decent bar
Location: Decent range of bars and restaurants nearby
Facilities poor Good central location Greg very helpful Price doubled for the rugby weekend made it very poor value for money Breakfast ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Greg Fernandez / Manager / Host, Hotel Management
Thank you for the message. Yes Rugby Season is a big business in the City. Almost every Hotel, B&B , Transport, accommodation put up their prices according to the demand. Although we are proud about the cleanliness, friendly and experienced host, very good breakfast and central location which is a walking distance to almost Edinburgh has to offer.
3 out of 5
by Martin from Glasgow

Lyncliff.

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly owner. Very close to Playhouse and walking distance to City Centre. Ideal for an overnight stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Martin, Thank you for your nice review. Hope you will stay with us again here at the Lyncliff B&B. Kind regards, Greg Fernandez Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissappointing standard

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
The city was great. The hotel very average. Everything is cramped. Floor under carpet on room creaks when walking. Shower room tiny. Could hear people in room next door, when sink tap or shower turned on at night it woke me up. Wifi wouldnt work in room. Tv was flicking. Staff tried their best but the hotel (more so a b&b) is not up to scrath. I definitely would not go back to it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
This was an old review. Sorry for not replying on time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly owner and nice stay

Posted Aug 12, 2014
I have stayed in this hotel during Tattoo period. Location is nice (about 10 minutes walk from the central). The owner of this hotel was very friendly and we had a very nice stay here. Toilets and shower are separated from the room, however both clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by Hel

clean but over priced with loud plumbing!

Posted Jan 2, 2014
If you get put in room 6 ask to change! The room is clean and bed comfy BUT every time next door use their sink or someone has a shower the sink makes a very loud gurgling noise which gets very annoying very fast! You can hear EVERYTHING in the room next door as well. Breakfast is very good though and it is a good location, 10 mins to city centre. For the price I think it's waaaaay overpriced considering there's no ensuites and we had to frequently wait to get into the toilet.