Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Although the room was clea. the decor was cheap and tired with a poor en suite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Convenient and Clean

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Clean, conveniently located for touring Edinburgh. Friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Historic Edinburgh, hiking on Arthur's Seat, restaurants
Clean, convenient and extremely friendly staff who welcomed us earlier than the standard check in time when we were tired from our transatlantic flight. Staff gave us clear, concise instructions on how to use the city bus system to travel all over the city and the facility was extremely close to Arthur's Seat for hiking purposes. Loved our stay there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Very comfortable little townhouse surrounded by some nice scenery. The hotel staff is very accommodating and kind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Nice hotel with a bus stop outside the front door.

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: The hotel was clean and tidy every day. The staff was very friendly, helpful and easy-going. The location was perfect to get around by bus.
Location: The location was perfect. We enjoyed the Royal Mile (Fringe Festival). We were within distance for a laundromat and a variety of food locations.
When we arrived in Edinburgh city center we were able to catch a 33 bus from the Waverly train station on Princes Street directly to the B&B. Once we arrived, it was an easy check-in and within minutes we were settling down in our room. The room was clean and tidy. We received a key to the main door and our room inside. We were happy that it had limited foot traffic within the building. The next morning we had a continental breakfast which satisfied our family. It consisted of ham, cheese, croissants, toast, yogurt, juices, milk, and fresh fruit. The possibility of a hot breakfast was there if we wanted. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we asked for help with getting around the city. The other guests were fairly quiet when we were there so no complaints. We had laundry to clean so we caught the 33 bus and took it to a laundromat on Clark Street only a few minutes away. It was very convenient for everything we needed to get done. Fast food restaurants were also within minutes away by bus. Other buses were available to get us around the city. At the end of our stay we took the 33 bus from the B&B to Princes Street where we got off at Waverly train station and walked a block from there to the tram station to get to the airport. No cabs or special transfers required to get home. We had a great vacation in Edinburgh.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Well kept hotel

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Good location. Well kept hotel. Very secure.
Cons: Mattress was very uncomfortable. Room was not cleaned everyday nor were fresh towels provided on a daily basis.
Location: It's located right off Dalkeith Road and a short walk to the city center. Lots of good restaurants and bus transportation close by.
Generally ok. Large room by European standards. Clean and well kept hotel. Good location. Basically bare bones accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and friendly hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2014
This is a very nice hotel. I was travelling with my husband and our 5-year-old daughter. The family room was large and very clean. The hotel manager is very welcoming and offerred precious advice. The free parking space was very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean and quiet hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2014
we stay there 2 night, it is a family run hotel , we are pleased to stay in this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Quite comfortable. Good breakfast provided. Not too far out from the city centre if you like a walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steven from Dayton, OH

Excellent location, on bus, for general Edinburgh

Posted May 22, 2013
Pros: Location, space, bathroom.
Cons: The bed
Location: Location on major road with four bus lines. 20-30 minutes to city center anytime. 15 minutes to University. Lots to do in Edinburgh, but it rains!
This is an attractive B&B in a good location. Staff is friendly, but not resident. You are basically in the house alone much of the time. Maybe this is different in peak travel season. Furnishings are modern and room is spacious. Bathroom is clean and modern. Plenty of hot water (which can be a problem elsewhere), and plenty of room heat. Plenty of sockets for computer, hair dryer, teapot, whatever. Photos are accurate. Major complaint: the bed was lumpy, thin, and not supportive. But this is typical of discount hotels in UK/Europe.
2 out of 5
by Yankee from New England

Tiny room, bigger price.

Posted Aug 28, 2012
Pros: Nice architecture.
Cons: No staff on duty, except at breakfast, which was only served for 45 min.
Location: Taxi ride outside Edinbourgh.
There was no one to let us in, and we had to use the phone at another B&B to contact the owner. We waited 30 min. in the rain, to be told that we should have had an appointment to get into our room. Nowhere was this disclosed. Our room was billed as a double, but had room only for the double bed. Trying to get the door open with suitcases in the room was difficult. The bathroom was four doors down the hall. This space should have been left as a common sitting room at the stairs.