Ratings based on 867 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Jul 26, 2016
A 10 minute walk to most attractions in and around the Royal Mile. Full breakfast was included. Rooms were clean and comfortable, although the view was not great. A Tesco located about two blocks away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Localions and cleaness of the rooms
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Visit old town and walks in the parks.
The hotel is excellent located and the staff provides great information about the city. Breakfast is poor. No eggs in the buffet and a lot of calories..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Obviously geared for tourism not business

Posted Jul 23, 2016
lovely looking hotel but room facilities inadequate only power socket by desk no light at desk therefore unable to work or use electrical products Staff trying to clear by table whilst I was still eatng , had to ask to get my breakfast in the first place. When arriving late in the evening nothing was available. The only answer from staff was no we can't do that I have staid many times inMac Donald Birmingham and to be honest they really have got it right shame there is not a brand standard
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Home while visiting Edinburgh

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Very close to all Royal Mile sites
Cons: Signage outside could be more distinct from a distance
Location: Hollywood and all Roral Mile tourist sites are close by
Convenient, clean and central to the Royal Mile! Very pleasant staff!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Excellently located hotel, good quality

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Very attentive staff, excellently appointed rooms. The only quibble I had was that their "air conditioning" was very tepid.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Perfect Location

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Location, services, breakfast and cleanliness.
Location: Arthur's Seat is in walking distance. The Royal Mile is only one block from the hotel. There are multiple restaurants and a Tesco nearby.
I stayed for 3 nights. Very comfortable and safe. I was able to check in a bit early. The room was spotless and the breakfast was excellent. The concierge was very helpful when booking a day trip to Loch Ness and a taxi to the airport. It was very easy to find and walk to from Waverly Station.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Helensburgh

Close to Holyrood Castle and Scottish Parliament.

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Helpfulness of staff, the breakfasts and evening meals were excellent, room was large and a huge shower faciities.
Cons: As my husband is disabled a hand rail in the shower room would have been ideal, hotel provided us with a shower mat,a bath mat may have been more apt.
Location: One street behind the Royal Mile, Dynamic Earth, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament all nearby.
Close to places we wanted to visit. The food was absolutely excellent. Plenty of facilities if you wished to use them, eg spa and swimming pool. You could get a tour bus closer to Princes St hop on hop off at your convenience. We were attending the Queens Garden Party so an excellent location, Scottish Parliament 5 min walk, cross the road to Queens Gallery and shop and Holyrood behind it. We would want to go back to this hotel, they do have disabled rooms also, next time we book.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Quiet hotel, a bit dated.

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Although a clean hotel, it felt very dark and quite dated in parts. The room had only two usable plug sockets (one of which was behind the safe) not sure how a modern hotel can have such a lack of basic facilities in the room, made it very difficult to charge phones etc... The gym and pool were nice and clean. Location is ok, at the bottom of Holyrood Road, so expect lots of walking if you're visiting the Old or New Towns.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay.

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: The room was very nice. Helpful staff.
Location: Good location to get to the Royal Mile.
We came in with a tour group. Everything was handled smoothly. The hotel is beautiful, and most of the staff were responsive and helpful. The breakfasts were nicely done. Our only less than positive note was when our party of four came back after a dinner out to have dessert in the hotel restaurant on Saturday, about 8 pm. The restaurant manager said the restaurant was booked so he could not serve us, but at least at that moment, it appeared to be rather empty.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mc

Good location great birws

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Reception very friendly. Room big and comfortable. Pool great. Would recommend.