Ratings based on 940 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The room was very clean and equipped with everything we needed for our stay. Close to where we wanted to be and had a lovely dining room.
Location: Within walking distance to the Royal Mile and sights
Lovely hotel and wonderful staff...I would not want to stay anywhere else if I ever get to Edinburgh again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Wasnt worth £126 for the night rooms tatty the chairs all wethered witb the sun etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable & well maintained hotel near old town

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Very accommodating staff
Cons: n/a
Location: Within walking distance of the historic parts of town with tons of restaurants nearby
Room was comfortable/clean and staff very friendly. They accommodated all of our requests including loaning us a charger, providing slippers, providing a vegan breakfast, changing currency and early check-out with breakfast to go. Could not recommend highly enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Happy

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Friendly,good service,good food.
Cons: Nothing,all good.
Location: Its about a 15 minute walk from Waverley train station, never too far away from anything you want to do in Edinburgh.
Nice Hotel,lovely welcome. Clean room and breakfast was VERY good,I would say the best breakfast I have had from a hotel. Worth the money and my wife and I agreed we would stay there again, when we visit Edinburgh.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

On line the hotel looked perfect!

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Location was ok, many hotels are more centrally located however.
The room was comfortable but not at all like the ones shown on the website. The room itself was clean. The shower head however was appalling. Black build up of mould. I requested it was corrected and after a long day out we returned to no change. Further request to have it corrected led to a new shower head being fitted. Clearly the hotel does not follow legionella cleaning sceduleds adequately. For the price paid I have to say I was disappointed and wouldn't return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Great hotel with easy access to the city

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Staff couldn't do enough for us. Easy check in and out - nothing too much trouble. Thank you
Cons: Codes on the leisure facility lockers in the ladies area were not working.
Location: Great access to Edinburgh's shopping and restaurants.
We arrived early and were able to park and leave our luggage with the concierge so that we could start our Edinburgh break. The room was bright, spacious, comfortable and very clean. We took full advantage of the pool, steam and spa all of which were very clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short family break

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Good breakfast, clean rooms, good bar area, nice staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Banchory

Three nights in Edinburgh, business

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Calm, efficient, clean - no surprises - good for business stay.
Cons: It didn't eat at the hotel, because the menu wasn't that interesting. Standard fare, and doesn't compete with the many options on offer in Edinburgh.
Location: It's Edinburgh - everything within walking distance. Good to be that close to Holyrood Park as well.
Clean, tidy, efficient. Decent sized room on the first floor, good bathroom though the bath over shower arrangement is a bit squashed. Had to fix the hanging rail in the cupboard before hanging anything on it, but apart from that no worries. Bed was comfortable. Late night room service - hot chocolate and biscuits - was quick and efficient. Overall, nothing to write home about, nothing to complain about.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great experience! No complaints. Great location for city centre as it is a quick walk to everywhere even Waverly station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016
It was ok, a bit far to walk to the centre but things went well. Parking was expensive and bed want that comfortable