Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Darlington

Nice hotel shame about the food and service

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Stunning grounds, good facilities inc pool, room was a good size with comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities
Cons: Service, food and queuing system.
Location: Location was great for our visit to the Scottish Flower show at Ingelston.
Nice historic hotel set in magnificent grounds, rooms good. Both days we had breakfast at the hotel and on both occasions we did not get what we had ordered as staff don't take a note of your order. The self service food area does not get resupplied very quickly and only appears to happen when you ask a member of staff. Evening meal in the bar was the worst curry I have ever had, very little meat and no source, my wife had fish and chips but most of the chips were inedible because the potatoes were bad, when member of staff asked if everything was okay and we said it was not he just said fine and walked away. The bar staff did not know how to prepare an Irish whisky. The queuing system for the main dining area was at the top of a flight of stairs and is a health and safety hazard as staff were also trying to get past with hot food and guests had the leave via this safe stairs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Outward appearance nice but needs

Posted May 30, 2017
Lunch receptionists friendly and helpful, late night were ghosts, no recognition on return just talked to themselves. Bed lovely. Shower temperamental as wouldn't adjust to warm only really hot or just cold. The inside of the cistern full of black mould so reckon it's time for an upgrade to that room. Sign says call room service for fresh milk for the kettle but nowhere does it say with compliments of the hotel, the room service menu mentions a £5 tray charge so who knows and as always with these teas and coffees there are always only 4 milk jiggers so not enough for more than a cup each unless you like your coffee with a drip of milk. Big room. Chose the hotel as it had windows that open and they do. So fed up with big tower blocks that don't have opening windows, is it just me?!
5 out of 5
by Vivienne

Very good conferencing facilities and spa/fitness

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
The conferencing facilities are very good - lots of natural light, large conferencing space, lots of WCs, free and strong wifi, good lunch and coffee breaks. The spa and fitness centre is very good, well-priced treatments at the spa - book early! Lovely swimming pool and good gym equipment. The bedrooms are spacious, comfy and clean. Coffee/tea in the bar or restaurant comes with some "tablet" which is the Scottish crumbly version of caramels / fudge. The menu is tasty and has a good mix of healthy and decadent meals. Warnings: The buildings are heritage-listed so there are no elevators (lifts). The restaurant has a tasty menu but the service is iffy - we escalated this issue to the management during our stay, it will hopefully be resolved by the time you visit. If someone says you can walk to the station, take it with a pinch of salt - it's a good 30 minute hike and there aren't always footpaths, I recommend taking a taxi for 5-6 GBP.
1 out of 5
by James

Make sure they have a room for you ....

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Having travelled for 4 hours to get there and arriving at 23.00 I was advised that there was no room available for me. I was then rebooked in to The Premier Inn and still charged the full price for my stay (despite the fact I could have booked my own room at The Premier Inn for some £30.00 cheaper). Whilst the girl on reception was friendly and helpful I am annoyed that the hotel refused to give me a refund of any description. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again and if I have any say in it my company will never use the venue for conferences in the future either.
4 out of 5
by Chris

Lovely staff, comfortable rooms and good food.

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Last minute getaway for the other half and I. Staff were really attentive, the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Perfect for what we were after. Breakfast was lovely with a great selection and the cooked element was made fresh. Only downside was the lack of hot water for the morning shower. Overall though, we really enjoyed our stay and great for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from airdrie

Handy for trains to edinburgh

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Very clean and friendly
Cons: Hot water?
Location: Ideal for Edinburgh and surrounding areas
Staff at reception, breakfast and room maid very friendly and efficient. Biggest and most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. Room very clean. Only slight drawback was water temperature for shaving and shower too low for comfort. This was reported to reception. Would definitely stay here again if in the area
5 out of 5
by Tracey

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Another lovely stay, Thank you
4 out of 5
by Gerard

Edinburgh Trip

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, great setting, very friendly and helpful staff. Only issue was no hot water for shower or bathing etc.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Time warp back to the 50s

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Rooms old and dated Food and drink ridiculously overpriced if you offered me the dinner again for free I wouldn't eat it
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Lovely location.fawlty towers service in bar

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Ordered veggie option in bar.none second choice none.offered rojan josh.beef.chef make something.soup.no roll till after soup finished.no knife for butter.forgot drinks.main course plus side dish.main course miniscule.side dish never came.sweet came.icy.ordered cheese plate as still hungry.poor.partners chips awful.frozen?breakfast good.forgot honey and nuts.never again.did take something off bill.manuel forgiven.que