Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Very nice location with sea view

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Lovely hotel by the sea. Great staff at reception, bar, restaurant. Excellent food in restaurant, great walks. Only disappointment was that they did not/ have room upgrade, as promised by Expedia. Would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from north yorkshire

Fabulous view!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Loved the spa with its hydrotherapy (jacuzzi) steam rooms etc. Breakfast was also great with the most delicious smoked salmon served with the best scrambled eggs. Also the breakfast room has the most amazing view If you can get a window table.
Cons: The rooms could do with a facelift but we really didn't spend too much time in the room. The view from our room made up for it.
Location: Beautiful beach walks right from the door. We also loved North Berwick and some of the shops and restaurants, particularly Herringbone Bistro.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Great setting but outdated and expensive.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Views and staff. Bed very comfortable.
Cons: Furnishings in suite need updating and bathroom needs replacing
Location: . Good walks on beach. Golf course just at perimeter of hotel. Stunning view across Firth of Forth.
Lovely spacious suite but furniture needs updating and bath too small. Beautiful scenery across golf course to beach. Restaurant very pricey. Do not request a well done steak it was like eating charcoal. £34.00 for a bottle of Rioja which would retail in the supermarket for £9.00 was very excessive.. Staff were polite, friendly, and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Lovely hotel lots of character very peaceful

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Staff lovely . Service was a bit slow in the evening but not a lot of staff on to serve in bar .do food and serve drink in restaurant. . More staff on at breakfast . Lovely room but very warm at night . Comfy bed and downie
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Jul 19, 2016
A very unique beach and golf field side hotel. Vintage design and classic decor. Reasonable size room and very delicious breakfast. The only thing that was annoying is that the room was really hot while the weather outside was 12c. So we ordered a fan. The other thing is the swimming pool area was full of parents with their children and it's not big enough to share and enjoy it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

very relaxing

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Location: Golf course outside hotel - 10 minute stroll to the town centre along the beach
Very clean hotel - food excellent - only issue was that the lift was out of order and didn't look as though any repairs were imminent - fortunately we were on the first floor!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice location and room was good

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: Location. Room cleanlieness
Cons: Consistency of service
Location: Good surroundings and views of firth. Easy driving to Roslin Abbey and various high class Golf
Reception staff a bit aloof. Service in general pretty good. Couple of things that were well below standard for a hotel of this standard. 1 on first day bacon at breakfast was a disgrace and could not even be classed as poor streaky. 2. Restaurant had habit of running short eg cheese at dinner and certain mains early in service. 3. Checking bill was really guesswork and far too much work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Return visit to an old favourite!

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Its amazing situation & luxurious spa.
Cons: Quantities of some of the main courses served at dinner.
Location: Coastal walking. Cycling. Beaches. There is a station at North Berwick, opening up lots of opportunities. Flight museum & bird life centre close by.
30 years on this hotel still remains a firm favourite. Superbly situated beside the sea, giving access to miles of beautiful sandy beaches & coves, it is a wonderful base for coastal walking.Upon return, or in poor weather,the hotel spa is the best we have come across! There are so many varied experiences, the facility never appears crowded. The swimming pool is huge and we loved the indoor/outdoor hydro pool, equipped with an optional massage by hot waterfall.The staff are all friendly & helpful & the accommodation clean & comfortable. The food is delicious, but more thought needs to be given to the quantity of some of the main courses (my husband was given a helping of meat & four small carrots, insufficient for a hungry man, whereas I enjoyed venison steak, vegetable & mash). On our first night, the meal progressed smoothly, but on the Monday, (25th.Jan.) there were very long waits between courses. The waiters were hard-working & energetic, which left us wondering whether the kitchen was understaffed.But, all in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Easy to get to from Edinburgh, nice restaurants nearby, cosy atmosphere and love the outdoor jacuzzi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Lovely Hotel.

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: N/a
Cons: As above
Location: Lovely walks along the beach and good restaurants , at good prices, Zitto,s and the Grange highly recommend.
The sandwiches for one and two glasses of wine came too £28.20😢😢😢😢 for 4 halves of bread and ham , ridiculous. We have stayed here many times over the years with our employer Norbulk Shipping. Who had their annual dance their every year, but stopped going, a few years ago, now I understand why , the bar prices are extortionit.