Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Excellent value for money but room quite small.

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Location and helpfulness of owners.
Cons: Size of room.
Location: Leith very vibrant with lots of bars/restuarants.
Chose because price very competitive. Owners very friendly and helpful, breakfast very nicely cooked. Room clean and well equipped but quite cramped (bathroom also very small). Still worth the money but will pay a bit more for extra space in future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: All very good
Cons: No hot water in basin in room.
Everything was good. Lovely room. Nice staff. Great breakfast . Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from York

McKenzie guest house Leith.

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The McKenzie is clean, conveniently located, and the owners very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.
Cons: Some of the furnishings were a bit dated, but this is a minor criticism.
Location: The guest house is close to the waterfront of Leith which has some really nice pubs and restaurants, especially around the cobbled areas.
The McKenzie guest house in Leith is just a few miles from the city centre, and a short stroll from the bars and restaurants of Leith waterfront. There is plenty of street parking along Leith links, but with plenty of other guest house in the vicinity you might not be able to park right outside the McKenzie. The guest house is easy to find, and using a Satnav I had no issues arriving at the destination. Booking online was simple, and a very concise reservation was e-mailed to me, that included information and directions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely b&b

Posted Oct 21, 2016
The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. Only a ten minute bus ride from the city centre and lots of street parking available nearby. The hosts were very helpful and kind and produced a lovely breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Cons: All the important bits of the room and bathroom were perfectly clean, but there are some high up bits in the private bathroom that looked dusty.
Good host, helpful with directions etc. and would have a conversation but not intrusive. Decent cooked breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable. Within easy reach of centre

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness of hotel, friendly owners
Location: Location good. Easy to get into centre, Princes Street on local bus. Nice restaurants only a walk across the Links opposite guesthouse.
Danny and Jasmine guesthouse owners very friendly and helpful. Lovely clean room with bus stops right outside to Princes Street. Good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

EXCELLENT GUESTHOUSE

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Friendly, clean, quiet guesthouse in lovely location in Leith. Excellent breakfasts. Very helpful owners. Easy to get into central Edinburgh by bus. One of the best guesthouses I have ever stayed in. I shall be returning. I really enjoyed my stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Close to amenities

Posted Oct 17, 2015
We have been staying at a very good guest house. Very good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Hull, UK

Quiet B&B just outside the city centre

Posted May 18, 2013
Pros: Very clean guest house with owners who care about their guests
Location: Located 2 miles from Princes Street, but easy transport with 2 bus routes from Princes Street stopping right outside the guest house.
I stayed at the Mackenzie guest house during my short stay in Edinburgh for a short break. It is situated about 2 miles from Princes Street and close to Leith waterfront for the Britannia and several seafood restaurants. I stayed in room 2 with a double bed (even though I was staying alone) and had a private bathroom with shower gel etc across the landing (with a bathrobe in the wardrobe). The room had everything you could possibly require, flat screen tv, kettle and tea/coffee facilities, bottle of water, hairdryer and on request iron and ironing board. A bathrobe was also provided. Breakfast consisted of fruit juice, cereals, fry-up (where you could specify which items you did/did not want) and toast and jams with tea/coffee. The owners Danny and Jasmine are a young couple who care about their guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by K2 from France

A lovely little place to stay

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: Homely, quaint and fantastic value for money
Cons: Unsure about its suitability for a family, based purely on its size
Location: Opposite a very pleasant public park, in the immediate suburbs of the city. A quiet area, but on several direct bus links.
On making my booking - at somewhat short notice - I was a little concerned that I would be too far out of the city centre to make life easy. However, I need not have worried. The hotel is around 30 minutes walk from town, but is very easy to find, and is located in a fairly quiet area, opposite a very nice public park. It is also very easily accessible via public transport - connected by the #12 or #25 bus straight from Waverley Station (about 20 minutes, and £1.40). The owners - Danny and Jasmine - are very eager and attentive young couple, for whom nothing is too much trouble./ They went out of their way to ensure that everything was up-to-expectations; even arranging to leaving breakfast provisions out for me on my day of departure, since I had to leave before 7am. The room that I had was very warm and comfortable, and well-furnished with tea and coffee, as well as TV with satellite channels, and a sink. I also had sole use of the bathroom on that floor. The breakfast room is small, but breakfast was very nice - offering a full English breakfast (including vegetarian options), as well as cereals, fruit, yogurts and juice. All-in-all, a really nice, small hotel that deserves to be highly-rated!