Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton, Ohio

Felt like staying with friends.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Sam Burns, the proprietor, gave us the warmest welcome we had anywhere in the UK. He treated us like friends. The whole staff was wonderful and did anything they could to make us comfortable. The house was charming and the sitting room brought strangers together to chat as friends. I loved it there and would gladly return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bett und Breakfirst

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: das Frühstück
Cons: Richtige Armaturen an Waschtisch und Badewanne, damit das Wasser warm ist und nicht nur kalt oder heiß
Location: Lage zur Stadt günstig mit dem Bus
Leider unser Zimmer nicht so schön aus, wie in der Ansicht, obwohl wir ein Zimmer in der oberen Preiskategorie gebucht hatten
4 out of 5
by Janet from oslo

Koselig overnatting m/frokost

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Kjempehyggelig sted for overnatting m/frokost i Edinburgh. Rent og god plass på rommet. Grei gåavstand til sentrum. Dårlig på å svare på e-posthenvendelser i forkant av oppholdet, men det ordnet seg helt supert (trengte å få vite hvor vi fant nøkkel og at det var barneseng på rommet - sen ankomst)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simply amazing!

Posted Apr 20, 2016
This was better than we expected! Such a pretty B&B and GREAT location! Thank you for making our vacation so great!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottinghamshire

Easily Accessible from The City Centre

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Pros: beautiful, clean and welcoming. Friendly staff and owner, breakfast is amazing
Cons: Somewhere to hang wet towels in the bathroom would be good, and maybe some leafelts of places to eat in the area too
Location: It is directly situated on a bus route, with stops only a few metres away and buses running every 10 minutes.Jambos is a lovely place to eat.
This guesthouse is a little gem. It is directly situated on a bus route, with stops only a few metres away and buses running every 10 minutes. The guesthouse itself is beautiful, clean and welcoming. Denise is friendly and polite and nothing is too much trouble for her. Veronica is also very helpful when asking questions about facilites etc and works very hard to ensure guests get their breakfast's in a timely manner. The breakfast is to die for. As much toast and cereal as you like (with juice and tea/coffee too), but if you complete a menu the previous evening, you can have a freshly cooked Scottish Breakfast, or salmon and scrambled eggs, vegetarian or healthy option breakfast too. The room we stayed in was on the basement level next to the working kitchen, so if you are a night owl and late riser, this would not be suitable for you, but we had no issues with this, and loved the fact we were away from the rest of the house. It was clean and tidy, with decor pleasing to the eye. I would recommend you try Jambo's African Steak and Grillhouse which is a 2 minute walk down the road. The food there is amazing, service a little slow, but this is because everything is made fresh and to order. Overall, I would definitely recommend anybody visiting Edinburgh to stay here, you will not be disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall is good but needs improved communication

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: - nice place and comfortable
Cons: - reservation system (through agencies or expedia) should be improved. - welcome from staff for check-in and check-out - no animals in breakfast
The place is really nice, including lovely breakfast. However, the reservation system (through Expedia) should be improved, especially in taking payments. Contact with staff here is quite informal and not responded in due course. No staff are there for check-in and/or check-out. Although breakfast is really nice, animals or pets should not be presented during eating time. By the way, the overall service is okay and acceptable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chambre d'hôte paisible et bien située

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Week-end en famille pour assister à un match de rugby du tournoi des 6 nations et découverte de la ville, du parc .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown, cozy place

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on CheapTickets
Location: Castle is close by, pubs and restaurants nearby. There's a great place for fish and chips next to montpelliers pub, which is also a great place.
We stayed in the cottage and it was cozy. The shower door was unhinged which was annoying but no big deal. There were pubs and restaurants close to the location, with a taxi stand just 30 meters down the road. It's a 15 to 20 minute walk to the castle but it's a very easy walk. It's about 6 pounds to rose street. Overall, great stay, very cozy with excellent staff and a wonderful breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RAF Lakenheath

Very nice, quiet place

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Booked the cottage for my family which was great. Very quiet and comfortable. Staff was awesome, especially Valerie and breakfast was very good as well. Un beatable price and within walking distance to the centre of Edinburgh.
2 out of 5
by Not Provided

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2015 on Hotels