Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Never judge a book by its cover

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Expedia
Cons: Air con....if warm
Location: Common wealth pool, Edinburgh all attractions 20 mins walk away
This is an excellent place to stay! Had a twin delux room, fantastic. Comfy beds, clean, all additions like nice tea and coffees, lovely bathroom! The only down side was the view! No worries we were there to explore Edinburgh and to swim! Some noise early AM and guess rooms might be warm in summer and would not like windows open.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Great value for money

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Warm welcome. Excellent value for money and lovely breakfast. Recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good practical hotel for university and city centr

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Very clean and comfortable room. Eggcellent breakfast!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hall of Residence

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pretty basic accommodation. Massive queue for breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Exactly what we wanted

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Great secure parking and handy location. Breakfast was great if a little bit limited but good vegetarian options. Bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. It was basic but that is what we expected and the room still had all the necessary elements e.g TV and shower supplies. The area/complex(?) the hotel is in is surrounded by student accommodation but the hotel is set back so not greatly effected by noise etc. We suspect that the hotel was student accommodation at some point but now been converted - this was not a negative just an observation. We went during what we think was freshers week and didn't realise about the students but there were no issues. Overall great place to stay and would stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value

Posted Sep 16, 2016
I had a deluxe double room. It was clean, spacious snd comfortable. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Excellent value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ormskirk

Very convenient for staying in Edinburgh.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Ample parking and very suitable for shopping in Edinburgh
Cons: See above re electrical socket shaving point.
Within the grounds of Edinburgh University residential halls. Very handy for staying after dropping your daughter off at Edinburgh University. Only 20minutes walk from the Royal Mile or 25minutes from Waverly Station. My only complaint was that the electrical shaving point in the shower room did not work but reception supplied an adaptor for my shaver lead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.A

Last minute booking and what a treat.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
There are two different room rates here. We had a lovely room on the side facing Arthurs Seat. Really comfortable room, bed and good quality products. Breakfast was really good and staff attentive and really pleasant. We'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salisbury UK

GREAT HOTEL 15-20 MINUTES WALK TO THE CENTRE

Posted Aug 12, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at Masson House, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful especially those on reception. We were allocated a newly refurbished room (307) and can honestly say that it was one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in. The breakfast was exceptional with everything you could want from full cooked to continental. a bonus was the fact that buses stop within yards of the Hotel (No 2,14,33,X33) One of the nicest, cleanest and friendly hotels we have ever stayed in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Booking Accommodation

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: The comfort of the rooms The location and the transport lincs to the city centre
Cons: Speed of service in the dining room we had an evening meal in the dining room at a pre booked table and found the service very very slow
Location: See above
I booked two standard double rooms with one of the rooms to include a Rollaway bed. On arrival at Masson House we were informed by a member of staff at reception that a rollaway bed was not available as they had never provided this facility. This was an important part of our stay as the room was shared by our daughter and our grandson who is in his mid twenties so as you can imagine this arrangement was most unsuitable I further recommend that for future bookings offered by your company that all aspects and facilities offered by the Hotels etc are looked into very carefully before any offers are made by your company I would also request that the above experience be brought to the attention of the upper management of your company in order that action will be take to avoid further disappointments in the future Regards R Rae...