Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Everything was lovely, apart from the bedroom

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: It's a castle!! Location is great, the view was beautiful. Breakfast was good and the cellar had a nice atmosphere.
Cons: The bedroom was really outdated, looked like it came from the 80's.. in a bad way! The bed was the worst I've ever slept on, really hard. Spend the day after (my birthday!) extremely tired. There was water marks on the wall and on the carpet
Location: The pathway to the castle and surrounding area are beautiful. It was really easy to find it with the gps. 25min drive to the city
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning location!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
It was lovely to stay in a real castle. I'm an artist and spent my late afternoon painting from the grounds. It was a delightful experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S., Oslo

Eventyr opplevelse

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Vi hadde en kort eventyr reise til Edinburg. Melville Castle made our trip! Helt fantastisk hotell, gammel og spennende bygining, kjempe koselige administrasjons ansatter. Rent og pent. Bra mat, god service. Deilig på rommet, savnet vi ingenting. Hotell ligger i et rolig og stille område. Jeg og min familie bare koset oss alle de dagene!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Surroundings
Location: Nice landscape
Good bed, good food and nice personal Old and special, a little creepy But very nice experience
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Took my breath away

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Staff got room early and the wait staff in dining area was superb
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Away from the noise

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Nice experience and the grounds are fabulous if you are looking to get away from the city craziness.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Nice hotel just outside Edinburgh

Posted Sep 8, 2016
This was a nice place to stay for a night or two. The only downside was that it was clear that this was an older place - it was starting to look a bit worn in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Secluded location with beautiful views. Excellent hotel breakfast.
Cons: Room cleanliness on arrival
Location: Many historic places around Edinburgh like castles and fortresses really appealed to us. A rental car is a great way to see the countryside.
A nice quiet, secluded location which is what we were looking for. The room was fairly clean with a couple of cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling. The bed was a little noisy but comfortable to sleep in. Hotel staff was very knowledgeable and helpful for our travel needs in and around Edinburgh. The hotel breakfast was excellent compared with other hotels we've stayed in in Europe (hot vs. continental). I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Melville Castle was a treat!

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Melville Castle had a friendly and helpful staff with a beautiful lobby and very nice rooms in a quiet and pretty setting. The evening meal was delicious.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pulaski, VA

Nice Castle Stay

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The staff was excellent and the location was good if you didn't want to be in the middle of things. The taxi ride was not too expensive.
Cons: The entire hotel could use a bit of "fixing up".O
Location: Only a 20 to 30 minute taxi ride into Edinburgh.
The staff was very helpful with everything we needed. The breakfast was fine and the dinner was okay - not great. It was not a bad taxi ride into the city. I would definitely stay here again.