Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Warm guest house that need some maintenance

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Location: Location is fine
The bedroom looked a bit decay and bathroom size is not for everyone. However, to find warm bread and eggs in breakfast is a nice feeling in winter...and plenty of water for a shower.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very good stay. Comfy bed and great continental breakfast. Added free parking and just a 20 minute walk to city centre attractions. Would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent B&B

Posted May 28, 2016
We spend three nights in this hotel and were not expecting a lot since we booked a room with a shared bathroom. We had a lovely surprise: cleanliness, location and staff were more that we expected. Breakfast was good and the room -although amall- was very comfortable. City center is very near, we walked every day for 15 minutes. The train station is about 20 minutes walk and there is a bus to the airport at about 10 Minutes walk from the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Yu Kwan Terry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice stay, shame about the fire alarm

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Rooms very clean and spacious. Staff friendly.
Location: Nice location, very quiet. Close to town.
Staff member was very friendly and welcoming upon arrival. Our room was spacious, clean and had a small sink/mirror unit, wardrobe and dressing table which was more than we were expecting. Bed was comfortable and there were two extra blankets in the wardrobe which was a nice touch. There was a bathroom shared by the floor however it was very clean and small soaps were provided for each guest which was handy. I had an early start and didn't try the breakfast myself however my boyfriend found it a little disappointing (didn't taste very fresh) and would have liked a hot-food option. On our last night at Menzies a fire alarm went off at 4am on the bottom floor. Although the alarms on our floor/in our rooms were silent, we went downstairs and couldn't find any staff members nor did any staff go upstairs after the fire alarm (~15 minutes) to let people know the situation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Phillip from San Francisco

Great stay in edinburgh

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel met all of our expectations for an inexpensive guesthouse. The rooms are small but confortable. Our room was quite and we had no trouble falling asleep. Breakfast was creeps, cereals, nuts,yogurts, and cold cuts. It was more than enough for us. The service at this hotel is what really set it apart. It was amazing service. The owners helped us with every need, and greeted us at the stairs for breakfast every morning. If I ever return to Edinburgh I will stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Rooms were cramped and full of old, run down furniture that needed to be replaced 10 years ago. Our receipt said we would have a private bathroom but in fact we had a shared one. Did not stay long enough to have breakfast so can not comment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Just outside the business

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: Clean simple breakfast and always clean rooms
Cons: For us starting breakfast earlier would have allowed more time out and around the town. Breakfast starts at 8:30
Easy to walk to everything if your a walker, and very nice area. Park is very close and walking through it will bring you right into shopping areas and then leads to the royal mile. Or you can walk directly there on the streets. You can't always pick who is in the other rooms but staff always handled it nicely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Room dirty.Breakfast very basic with cheap food used.