Ratings based on 872 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy and close.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
It's there when you leave the train station, what more do you need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, Devon

Very Convenient Location

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Casual attitude, very few restrictions, and attentive and reliable staff,
Cons: As previously observed and commented on 'Tired', hotel but with the amount of guests it has to service it is no wonder.
Location: It has to be experienced the location is second to none, everything, that Edinburgh has to offer within this Hotel's domain.
We have used the Mercure Edinburgh Princes Street, hotel, previous to our latest visit, and we were on this occasion, presented with a corner, 3 floor room,(359) front, facing, onto Princes Street, very peaceful location just far enough for the stairs and lift. ideal for our 4 night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view of Castle

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Right in the middle of the city. Great place to stay to visit Edinburgh.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right in city centre.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Nice hotel but very dated. Staff were very friendly. Rooms were clean but a little basic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bolton Le Sands near Lancaster

our valentines present to us.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We had a brilliant time here. Our room had a lovely view of the castle and the city. Big telly in room which was good as hubby watched a bit of the rugby while having our champagne and while I got ready for our evening out. The room was cosy and clean. We went to the Boozy Cow that was buzzing I had a cocktail. The Auld Hundred for more than one and a lovely meal. The people were very friendly it reminded me of being back home in Ireland. At night we went up to the castle it was all lit up. The breakfast is a buffet breakfast it was gorgeous everyting you could want from a fry up to a healthy option. We had the full English recommend after a night out. We would definitely come back and have room no. 561 again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire

Lovely room overlooking Princes Street.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Location, and value for money.
Cons: We were perfectly happy with all aspects of our stay in the Mercure.
Location: Right on bustling Princes Street. Lots of attractions, shops and eating places nearby.
Overall we were very happy with our stay. A warm comfortable, clean room. Excellent breakfasts and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Excellent location

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Edinburgh castle is a 15 minute walk. Lots of shops and bars nearby.
Good hotel, clean comfy beds, nice buffet breakfast with a good choice of hot and cold food.Plenty of staff who were polite and helpful. excellent location close to shops and only a ten minute walk to the royal mile. Would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so Mecure

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Very clean and staff friendly but walls are thin, traffic is very loud and hotel a bit dated!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Good location

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Location is brilliant and very clean and comfortable. Great views from dining room.
Cons: Decor a bit tired. It is such a great location that you'd think a bit more advertising could fill more rooms??
Location: Princes Street literally on doorstep. We walked to Scottish Parliament, Playhouse Theatre, The Dome, Royal Mile and took the tram to the airport.
Excellent location on Princes Street with great views over the castle and gardens. Decor a bit tired but very clean and comfortable. Disappointing view from our room but we were only there to sleep and managed to walk everywhere. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham

Excellent position onPrinces st.very central .

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Central position. Access from Waverley station very easy using escalator up toPrinces st. Short distance to theatre is very good too.
Cons: Seating area around bar quite shabby and in. Need of some up dating.
Location: Theatre .shops.museums.galleries. Edinburgh has the history and fabulous buildings. Old or young something for everyone.
Easy check in with pleasant staff. Found the breakfast menu too expensive so ate out nearby.