Ratings based on 761 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good location and that's all!

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything!
Location: Very close to George St where there were some nice cafes and shops. Very close to the Royal Mile and easy walking distance to most places.
The only redeeming feature of this hotel is its very central location. Other than that there is nothing good I can say about it. It is old and very dated. You arrive in at ground level to a very shabby looking area to then take a lift to 1st floor for check in. The non English speaking receptionist at check in struggled to understand me. It was interesting what name she decided to register me as on my invoice! There is no air con in the hotel so the room was uncomfortably. warm. I asked for a quiet room, knowing I'm a light sleeper. Seems that was not an option so I was given a room right on Princess St where there was traffic and street noise 24/7. Even with earplugs you could hear it. Unable to keep windows open due to the noise. The pillows were so awful and hard I just couldn't get comfortable so failed to sleep. I know a lot of places whack up their prices during the festival but £205 per night for a 3 star sub standard hotel is a total cheek. I stayed in a 5 star luxury hotel in Helsinki last month at £250 for two nights! Suffice to say I shall never stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from milano

Posizione strategica, vicino a stazione e centro.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Cortesia del personale e camera molto silenziosa.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Heerlen, Netherlands

aardig hotel dicht bij centrum (loopafstand)

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Erg vriendelijk personeel. Uitstekende ligging t.o.v. het centrum. Ruime kamer.
Location: Locatie is uitstekend voor een eerste trip naar Edinburgh. Alle bezienswaardigheden zijn op loopafstand. Mooi uitzicht op Princess Garden en gebouwen.
Leuk hotel dichtbij centrum van Edinburgh. Alle bezienswaardigheden zijn op loopafstand. Hotelpersoneel is erg vriendelijk en behulpzaam. Ontbijt zou iets uitgebreider mogen, bijvoorbeeld met wat meer variatie in brood en beleg. Het was tamelijk Engels georienteerd. Voor ons geen probleem, maar voor de kieskeurige ontbijter wel. De bezetting aan de bar zou wat beter kunnen. We hebben deze regelmatig onbeheerd aangetroffen en dus moeten wachten voordat we onze drankjes konden bestellen. Geen hotel om met kleine kinderen naar toe te gaan, want daar ontbreken de faciliteiten voor. Wij hebben er een fijne tijd gehad en zouden dit hotel zeker opnieuw boeken. Het was er rustig ondanks de ligging aan een drukke straat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Location X 3

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Ok so there was hair in the chipped bath, the computer where I had to print my boarding pass has a keyboard worthy of a museum and the Ferris wheel riders across the road had a perfect view into my room BUT the views f the castle and venue are perfect and the staff everso friendly and helpful. Overall yes I will be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to city center

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Rooms clean and comfortable. Close to sightseeing. Staff was helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 福岡

大道りに面したホテル

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: 立地
Cons: 特になし
Location: 町の中心に位置しているので、すべてのアクティビティに便利
新市街の大道りに面するホテルで、駅からも徒歩5分の距離。周辺にはデパートやスーパー、レストラン、パブなどがたくさんあり、何をするにも便利なホテル。但し、エジンバラ城が見える部屋は問題ないが、反対側は隣の建物しか見えないので、注意が必要かも。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff to actually view bar and make eye contact with staff for any additional needs. One lady constantly walked back and forth but never near the ta
Wonderful located hotel on Princes St, very close to Waverley Station. View of Sir Walter Scott Monument and park and some views of Edinburgh Castle. For the most part staff were great. Many had difficulties with English and often got the wrong order even after pointing out request from Menu. Overall staff were great. Nice Canadian girl at check out who not only checked us in, explain much about the hotel and its services including times etc. Breakfast staff and restaurant supervisor (girl) were exceptional. Most of delay service and or understanding seem to happen in the evening service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to railway station

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Good location with reasonable price. Nice service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Lovely hotel near to Waverley Train Station

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Booked a room with castle view. Unfortunately the assigned room was near to one end. I did have a view of the castle but it could be better
Location: Princes Street shopping, Edinburgh Castle, Old Town, Royal Mile, Scot Monument, Carlton Hill
Hotel was an easy 5 minute walk from Waverley train station and location was great as many of the attractions are within a short walking distance away. The staff were all very courteous and good humored.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Close to Old Town is a plus.

Posted Jun 19, 2016
The hotel room was extremely hot and dated. The plus side is that it was close to everything we wanted to see.