Ratings based on 1,150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Central location
Location: Shopping, Sightseeing, Hop on and Off Bus
Hotel accommodations were lovely. Hotel was central to all attractions for a tourist.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
We had a very good stay at Motel one. One of the rooms we booked did not have AC so it was very warm. The staff was fantastic, helping us book excursions and calling different vendors. They were readily available to answer questions and even provide the resources we needed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saskatoon

Location perfect

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Location close to everything. To city center/ tour buses/ airport bus/ major tourist sites
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Great location!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Excellent location across from the train station as well as buses to the airport. Noise was not a factor at all. Buffet breakfast was busy but well supplied. It is only a short walk to the Royal Mile (up a steep hill) and it gets you half way between the Castle and Holyrood Palace. Our room was quite dark as the opaque window looked onto an another wall a short distance away and the sky was about 4 stories up. Would stay there again though due to it's central location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Perfect location to everything. Nice clean hotel with wonderful helpful staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from central scotland

Great location for central Edinburgh

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Biscuits/snack in the room
Location: Castle and old town are on the hotel's doorstep and Princess St shopping is a very short walk away. Loads of good quality restaurants and pubs nearby
Staff were excellent, room was very clean. Location was central for a range of venues
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Süddeutschland

Modernes und serviceorientiertes Hotel im Zentrum

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: alles s.o.
Cons: evtl. Kleinigkeiten wie Taschentücher oder Wattestäbchen im Bad.
Location: Bahnhof Waverley, sehr zentral, Altstadt und Neustadt in fußläufiger Entfernung, alle Verkehrsmittel (auch Flughafenbus) direkt vor der Tür
Modernes und ansprechendes Design, Möbel und Ausstattung von hoher Qualität, Zimmer schön groß mit separatem Bad, Betten sehr bequem; Personal ausnahmslos sehr freundlich und um den Gast bemüht, noch dazu idR mehrsprachig; leckeres Frühstücksbuffet; trotz zentraler Lage sehr ruhig. Steckdosen für unterschiedliche Systeme (brit/europ.) vorhanden. Top, würde ich jederzeit wieder buchen und weiter empfehlen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Neuenkirchen

Hotel in Centraler Lage

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich direkt im Zentrum von Edinburgh. Binnen Minuten ist man in der Haupt-Shopping Meile oder bei den tourischtischen Attraktionen.
Nach der Anreise mit der Bahn , war das Hotel leicht zu finden. der Empfang freundlich und der Checkin schnell. Etwas ungewöhnlich war die "indoor Brücke" um das Zimmer zu erreichen, aber irgendwie musste man den Spalt zwischen den Gebäuden überbrücken. Auf dem Ziffer gab es einen Wasserkocher inkl. Tee und Instantkaffee und für Reisende, die den Adapter für die Steckdosen vergessen haben , einen Anschluss für die in Deutschland genutzten Stecker neben dem Bett.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

Edinburgh Waverley駅目の前、ロイヤルマイルすぐ近くの立地が最高

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: なにより立地。その次は清潔さ。
Cons: 隣の建物に行く途中の通路、階段しかない場所をスロープにするといいと思います。
Location: Waverly橋目の前、オールドタウン側の立地。ロイヤルマイルへはホテル前の坂を上がってもいいし階段を上がると近道です(ただし急で長いので息切れします)。ニュータウン側も橋渡ってすぐいけます。本当にこの立地最高です。
何より立地が最高です。列車でロンドンから来たのですが、Edinburgh Waverley駅出口から30秒くらいの場所でした。Edinburgh空港からのバスが止まるのもWaverley橋(=目の前)なので、どのルートで来るにせよアクセスがめちゃくちゃいいホテルだと思います。 加えて水色がアクセントカラーで統一されているホテルの内装もモダンで綺麗です。そして清潔です。ドイツ系のホテルらしく、ホテル内の物は皆ほとんどドイツ製でした。 ただ、このホテル建物が二つあり、レセプションが入っている建物でない方の客室になると、一旦5Fまで上がって渡り廊下を通じて隣の建物に行かなければいけないのでその点はちょっと不便かな、と思います。途中階段しかなかったりするのでスーツケースが重いとなおさら。まぁなんとかなりましたが。 朝食バイキングはパンが美味しかったです。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peachland, BC

Very central location

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Excellent location across the street from Waverly train station at the foot of the castle and Royal Mile hill.
Cons: Functioning air conditioning needs to be provided especially in the windowless rooms!
Location: Most of the highlights of Edinburgh are in very easy reach from the hotel.
The Motel One is a German hotel chain which provides modern but budget facilities. Our experience there was marred because we made an error with the booking date so our assigned room was not available. The staff found us a room but it was a windowless, airless, overheated, and cramped. We asked for a better room but apparently the hotel was sold out.