Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Highly Recommend This Property

Posted Aug 19, 2015
We stayed at Nira Caledonia on August 11th to the 14th. We had room 10-10, which is on the ground floor fronting the street in an annex two doors down from the main hotel. The room was beautifully decorated with twenty foot high ceilings, a seating area a refrigerator stocked adequately but not abundantly. There was a Nespresso machine, which was wonderful and the first time we've ever seen this in a hotel. (We love Nespresso). Even though we were fronting the street, our room was quiet. (The street is fairly quiet too). The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small and the shower had a half glass barrier that was a bit hard to deal with but it's Europe and bathrooms seem always to be too small. It was still nice. The staff was relentlessly wonderful. We arrived very late on the 11th and the restaurant had just closed. They opened it for us and we had a wonderful dinner. Anything we needed was provided quickly and two times they refused to be tipped. Breakfast came with the room and was excellent. We look forward to going back to the beautiful city of Edinburgh and will definitely stay at Nira Caledonia, hopefully in the same room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey, usa

Great little hotel with wonderful staff

Posted Jul 1, 2015
The hotel is lovely and the staff was truly wonderful! And we had one of our best meals in Edinburgh at the hotel restaurant! A word of caution though-our room was on the top floor (no lift) and it was a hike to get up there. And you have to climb out of the tube/shower, which is pretty awkward. Our friends had a room on the ground floor facing the garden, which was gorgeous!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

A lovely boutique hotel in quiet area.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Charming, intimate, stunning interior design. Excellent restaurant Blackwoods Grill in the hotel. Breakfast was very good with many choices.
Cons: The twin mattresses on the King size base dipped slightly in the middle. Would recommend them being replaced.
Location: Two recommended restaurants within 10-15 mins walk were Cafe Marlayne and Fishers in The City, both situated in Thistle Street. Bookings recommended.
We warmly welcomed by the reception staff who kindly took our heavy luggage up 2 steep flights of stairs as there is no lift in the hotel. The Executive double room was very comfortable and spacious with a small sitting area and wonderful views which compensate for climbing the stairs. The hotel is not central to the main city area so entails a little more walking, some of it uphill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Little slice of luxury

Posted Jun 3, 2015
After staying in budget hotels, I splurged and spent a night here. Was not disappointed! The bed was comfy and spacious, the room was clean and the bathroom, though small, had the most amazing shower. The restaurant downstairs was great, staff was helpful and welcoming, really have no complaints. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Teresa from Beverley

Fantastic hotel

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in quiet area but within walking distance of restaurants,bars. Would definately return here. Friendly & excellant choice of hotel.u
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karin from pfyn

sehr gutes stadthotel, zentral u ruhig

Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
4-tage-aufenthalt im mai 2015, morgenessen super, zimmer gross u komfortabel, sehr aufmerksamer service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A great city break location

Posted May 21, 2015
Location: Royal Botanic Gardens, Stockbridge, Edinburgh city centre
Located in a quiet street a little bit set off from the main strip of Princes Street, this hotel gives you a great base for your holiday. The petit double rooms are a good size, not too small if you're only staying a few nights. The bathroom in these rooms is compact. As you're in Edinburgh and I hope not intending to stay in the room during your stay the size doesn't matter, if you wanted a giant room that is. Breakfast is of a great quality, don't expect a workman's size portion on the cooked breakfast, however you do get a good selection on the buffet, though some don't get put out until a little later. The staff all seemed extremely friendly, and happy to offer assistance, especially Rolands who was very friendly and helpful. We'd definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carol from Falkirk

Fab Hotel

Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
Was a fab hotel. Very comfy stay. Staff lovely. Will certainly go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Gary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels