Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Affordable option for August in Edinburgh

Posted Aug 22, 2016
I had read a lot of not-so-good reviews and was a bit worried about this booking. We chose it because it was a relatively reasonable price. Looking for hotels on an August weekend for the Edinburgh Tattoo, there weren't a lot of bargains. All the worrying was for naught. Yes, the place is old. Yes, the furnishings are dated. Yes, it's small. It is NOT a big chain hotel/motel in America! All the staff with whom we interacted were very nice and very helpful. They made the hotel worth a return trip in the future. The location is not close to the city center, but multiple bus routes have stops within a 1-2 minutes-walk from the front door. The full British breakfast for £7.50 was very good. There was also a continental option for £4.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ostädat och dyrt men fungerande.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Hotellet var det dyraste på vår resa genom Storbritannien men de hade sämst standard, totalt bodde vi på sex hotell. Det var ostädat , väldigt lite vatten i duschen och omodernt. Luktade mögel på toaletten. Frukosten var ok och borden hade rena fina dukar i kontrast mot fönsterbrädorna som var dammiga och smutsiga. Personalen var vänlig men få i antal. Det var det enda hotell som tog ut avgifter för korthantering och wi-fi på rummet. För övrigt rekommenderar vi Edinburgh som stad, charmig, historisk med fantastisk miljö och god öl och whiskey!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay location

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Beds, pillow was 2 flat pillows in one pillow case.
Location: Bus to downtown was quite easy
Bus straight to downtown was easy. Bed was old, springs were felt . Sheets were worn thin. Had to pay for room wifi which is not something we did in any other facility on our 2 wk trip. Poor DIY construction. Has nice balcony off some rooms but unfurnished an not able to enjoy. Staf were friendly enough.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Bad Choice of Hotels

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: location to center of city
Cons: refurbish the hotel
Location: Edinburgh in August is full of many attractions including the Tattoo.
Worst hotel in many years. Room so small there was no chair or desk. Walls paper thin. TV did not work no phone, alarm clock not working, When the room was made up they did not remove used towels or dirty tea cups. No soap or shampoo. No place to put my soap in shower had to put on floor. Not clean. Window was open so many bugs were in the room. Other than that enjoyed Edinburgh
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

Nice hotel with great staff

Posted Aug 9, 2016
This hotel was a bit away from the hub of things, but the room was large for Europe, the staff was friendly and attentive and the breakfast was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Dated room and bath. On several bus lines (direct to Rosslyn Chapel or city center).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
La posizione dell'hotel rispetto al centro è ottima e ben servita dai mezzi pubblici. Il personale è molto accogliente e gradevole ma la pulizia della camera lasciava un po' a desiderare.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Convenient for town centre, breakfast was lovely
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pris og komfort hænger sammen. Morgenmaden skrabet

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Lidt slidt hotel. Værelset for lille til 3 senge. Morgenmaden (Continental) er meget spartansk. Sengene meget hårde og slidte med tape over fjedrene. Personalet var venligt og hjælpsomt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Cheap and easy to get into centre of town as there are lots of buses which pass by the hotel.
Cons: Air con in the rooms or fans although I suspect they might not need them that often however we stayed there on the hottest day so far of 2016.
Location: Some reviews mentioned no shops but there is a supermarket and a small shopping mall around the corner so very handy.
Staff were friendly and breakfast nice. I saw a lot of bad reviews but I think people forget you get what you pay for :)