Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great place for the price

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Location, staff.
Cons: Lighting in our room was poor. Bathroom would be improved by an exhaust fan.
Location: Convenient to Cameron Toll shopping and buslines.
This is a bargain hotel and if you keep that in mind, you'll be happy. The staff is really friendly and accommodating. The room and beds are comfortable. It's not deluxe, but you're not paying for that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West of Scotland

Satisfactory

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Comfortable with good location.
Cons: Noisy at front with traffic. Good double glazing would be beneficial.
Nice enough hotel, next to Cameron Toll, 2 min drive to Commonwealth Pool and car parking behind hotel. Pleasant enough staff with good nightly rates. Good location for weekend in Edinburgh but not great for swimmers due to noise from functions on a Saturday night. Would only recommend if guaranteed room at the back away from function room and traffic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KL

No frill stay

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Bus stop in front of the hotel that takes you to town center.
Basic amenities are there. Generous coffee bar in room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Never been to a hotel so bad

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The exterior of the building But it is a waste The owner is extremly rude
Cons: Doors btwn rooms are so cheap that you hear everthing from your neighbours If you need help from staff and try to ring the hotel number, no one answer. Entrance door could be wide open in the mid night. Manager or owner is extremly rude. Never say thank, no sorry when we tell her a problem. Never smile, Never welcome customers. Do not stay in this so called HOTEL. IT IS ONLY A.CHEAP HOSTEL.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

OK for a night's stay near City Centre

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Location was good, breakfast was OK, staff were helpful in terms of finding nearby amenities. Price was reasonable for three people.
Cons: Room was very basic, a lot of dust, radiator didn't come on. No hooks in bathroom to hang towels, nothing to put cosmetics/toothbrushes on or in.
Location: Good for central Edinburgh as buses run outside the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
kind staff..and command a good view,, quiet and fresh
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not meet expectations

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The room was fine, but the bath is outdated. Seems like they turn off the water heating during nighttime and only switch it back on at 6:00. So when I take a bath at 5:30 because we leave early, water from the tap still cold. I have requested for an iron/ironing board when I booked AND hours before check-in I phoned the hotel again just to make sure that my request is granted. When we reach the hotel, still no iron/ironing board in the room. We arrived at 20:30 at the hotel to check-in and nobody's answering the door. If only not for other customers who are just coming back, we would have waited long outside. And then in the reception area, nobody on the desk while it says on a sign on the wall reception time is 8am-10pm. No bell on the desk to ring, but there was a bell on one of the doors to the reception. We rang several times no answer but we hear activity going on behind the walls of the reception. We we're waiting a good 15minutes when I decided to ring their phone. Quick answer but nobody came out. I only checked-in through the phone. On our last day, we want to have cooked breakfast, but they said it should have been ordered the night before. The problem is nobody told us this probably because we did not have a proper check-in. I was very disappointed, considering for the price I have to pay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from east coast

loud location not kept up AT ALL

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: someone that seemed like they cared about the place
Location: close to bus
we left early, it was filthy seemed haunter (not in an interesting way) thick layer of dust on the furniture
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Edinburgh stay

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Good base for overnight stay. Room fair decor but didn't have top sheet under quilt. Shower was not inviting to use, nice towels. Ample parking charge for Internet cost for one night £134 - convenient bus route into Edinburgh - allowed to leave car parked on day of leaving while we spent another day in Edinburgh. Didn't have breakfast so cannot comment this was an additional charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Affordable option for August in Edinburgh

Posted Aug 22, 2016
I had read a lot of not-so-good reviews and was a bit worried about this booking. We chose it because it was a relatively reasonable price. Looking for hotels on an August weekend for the Edinburgh Tattoo, there weren't a lot of bargains. All the worrying was for naught. Yes, the place is old. Yes, the furnishings are dated. Yes, it's small. It is NOT a big chain hotel/motel in America! All the staff with whom we interacted were very nice and very helpful. They made the hotel worth a return trip in the future. The location is not close to the city center, but multiple bus routes have stops within a 1-2 minutes-walk from the front door. The full British breakfast for £7.50 was very good. There was also a continental option for £4.