Ratings based on 1,944 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

My 60th Birthday trip with friends

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Position in central Edinburgh
Cons: Staff training so that Reception staff fully understand their own system and do not give out incorrect statements about deposits and payments.
Location: Too much to list here but get the guide info in the room (that is good)
Hotel is central and close to historic and cultural centres of interest. Breakfast was expensive for what it was and level of service was similar to cheaper Premier Inn (e.g. food was set out but if you wanted eggs other than scrambled they were freshly prepared) but at least one can dine and if lucky enough to get a seat by a window then also ponder The Scott Monument). My room was very small and was "tired"; whilst generally clean the washroom had stained grout (particularly behind the door). On arrival the dresser mirror needed wiping as it had water marks (or something similar) on it. My weekend was completely spoilt by the Hotel and Expedia's deposit policy. Three weeks before my stay I phoned the hotel and asked to make payment which they said they could not accept over the phone. Upon arrival I made my payment and spotted a card transaction receipt (not openly given to me) that the deposit had already been taken. The hotel denied it had been taken but that this was a holding amount that was still in my account and that it would be re-credited to my account in 3 working days. It is not in my account and I have conformed that it is not returned for 8 days. This was particularly embarrassing when I came to pay for a meal for all my friends on Saturday night. Neither Expedia or Old Waverley had made it clear to me, on 3 separate occasions and despite being asked, the full implications of the deposit process that has been deployed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent !

Posted May 20, 2017
Just 5 min walk from Waverly Train Station, opposite to Scott Monument. It is very convenient to visit tourist attractions in Edinburgh by walk. There are many shopping stores and restaurant nearby (Prince Street). The only problem is Hotel Lobby in on 2nd Floor, so it may not good for heavy luggage, but the staffs are very kind to help us carry luggages.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Convenience

Posted May 14, 2017
Was close to the railway station for easy access. The Hop On, Hop Off started right across the street so easy to get to. The mall and many restaurants, grocery stores were close by. The view from the lounge was breathtaking. The food and service was excellent. Internet was intermittent which became inconvenient.Only one small elevator which was used by staff during the day also, so could be slow. The staircase was a beautiful alternative if you can climb stairs. Did not have appliance converters available which was never a problem every where else we traveled so had to buy one for the first time. Otherwise, an overall good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ST ALBANS

GOOD HOTEL IDEAL LOCATION FOR EVERYTHING

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Close to bus station so no big deal if you are carrying your luggage. Great to sit in bar overlooking the city .
Location: EXCELLENT LOCATION FOR EVERYTHING
Had a really nice weekend in Edinburgh staying at the Old Waverley. 2 minute walk to jump on tour bus and off you go!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bognor Regis

Central hotel in great location

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: It's location, the staff and its facilities, all we needed to explore the city.
Location: Brilliant location to explore the entire city, on foot or to use the great bus and tram network.
Fantasia location to explore a great city, great facilities in the hotel, staff welcoming and rooms clean and tidy. All in all a perfect location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Great location

Posted May 9, 2017
It's an old building but the location is everything! Very convenient to walk to the Old Town and staff were very helpful. Housekeeping was regular and facilities in working condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montgomery tx

Lovely hotel close to train station & local sites

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Hop on hop off buses, Scott monument, train station.
Wonderful hotel across from Scott monument and a 5 minute walk to/from the train station. The room was clean,quiet, and comfortable. We arrived early and they happily held our bags for us so we could start our tour of the town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Convenient for station
Cons: If you have room at rear very noisy due to early morning deliveries etc due to lack of double glazing
Hotel convenient for station and walking around Edinburgh but not ideal being woken early every morning by noise
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2017
Stayed one night - only used my room and reception didn't have breakfast so can't comment .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Central Edinburgh

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Central location, away from Royal Mile.
Location: Close to airport tram, and main railway
Ideal if you do not have a car, easy to get to from Edinburgh Airport via the tram, the St Andrews Square stop is easiest to get to the hotel. Assistance may be required if you have lots of luggage. The views of the castle and Scott's Monument are unbeatable. Top class shops and service, I broke my glasses and a nearby optician fixed them from spare parts while I waited at no charge. Café Royal and Guildford Arms are just around the corner