Ratings based on 1,376 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, good breakfast

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Pollock Halls is situated in very convenient location if you need to get to old town - it only takes 10 minutes by bus. If you not feeling like going to central Edinburgh, there is a great place for walks and cycling - Holyrood Park.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Was great at all
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pollock Halls

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff,good food,safe environment,near to the city.Downside - carpet was smelling of sweaty male feet and the shower was a bit awkward to operate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Hotel about 30 minutes walk from city centre. Clean and safe hotel and friendly staff and with breakfast included. The rooms are student rooms, but perfectly fine.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful staff. Very good breakfast. Edinburgh is beautiful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

not happy

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Just needed a place to rest my head for the night. It was a mission to find the room. No a/c. No toiletries in bathroom. No fridge. I booked a single room and it turned out to be a twin. Had to pay more for it. No choice. I've stayed in much better hotels for a lot less.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is essentially a college dorm room

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Even thought the Pollock Halls says it is an Event hotel, it is really a college dorm in disguise. The beds are pretty small and not particularly comfortable. The room was musty smelling due to being ours being on ground floor and what annoyed me to no end was having to use a magnetic card to go anywhere. If I came in the obvious direction, it took 5 different card swipes to get into my room. I finally found a way that only required 2. On the plus side, the staff was friendly and good. The parking adequate but 100 yards away. The breakfast was good, but you do have several hundred kids chatting away next to you. And with the swipe card mania it is safe both in the dorms and on the campus. Walking around was safe too off campus and lots of food choices near by catering too college kids.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ellon

Excellent value in Edinburgh

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Superb value. Standard Uni accommodation so no tv etc but the value for money more than makes up for this.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paisley, Ontario, Canada

Great Value Accommodation

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
The reception staff are very friendly and will help you with anything. The room was clean and had a great view of Arthur's Seat. I extended my stay so I ended up switching rooms. The second one was at the front of the building and could be noisier at times. Other than that, I had no problems at all. The included buffet breakfast is great. Pollock Halls really offers great value.